We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star review of a 3 star hotel. Plus some mobility/accessibilty comments.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Normandie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Duke of Normandie Hotel to your Saves list
Duke of Normandie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE £25 meal voucher
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Four star review of a 3 star hotel. Plus some mobility/accessibilty comments.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here in early June, having booked a package through the "Channel Islands Direct" division of Premier Holidays. We flew from Bristol airport on a twin-prop ATR-72 run by Aurigny Air Services.

Premier Holidays were very professional. An elderly member of our party has difficulty walking, and Premier/CID very very good liaising with Aurgny to select the best seat, to arrange a lift to the aircraft and arrange a wheelchair. Though these precautions turned out to be unnecessary on the day, the excitement of a trip on a plane giving extra strength to the old legs. Premier/CID also had a friendly rep waiting for us at the airport to direct us to our waiting minibus.

Aurigny were also very good. The hostess allowed some young Guernsey schoolboys returning from a cricket trip to blow off a little bit of steam, then skillfully got them settled. Our outward plane had some problems and was an hour late. For the return, the same(?) plane couldn't even get to Guernsey, so our return turned from a 50 minute hop to a long journey via Gatwick on a more modern version of the ATR-72. So, if your Aurigny plane has 4 bladed propellors, keep your fingers crossed! If it has the later, more powerful engines with 6 bladed props, you're probably okay.

All the staff in the hotel were polite, friendly and helpful. We like proper milk with our tea, and they were happy to provide us with a jug of fresh Guersey milk to replace the little pots of white fluid. The rooms were stylishly modern, though not everyone liked the brown decor. I thought it was fine myself. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was spacious and clean with a deep bath and a good shower. I think the breakfast team were struggling a little to cope with the hotel being full: Each day, at least one breakfast item was cold/lukewarm. We felt a little pressured to finish and leave our table. The last day, when we had a taxi booked in an hour and a half, they were slow to take our order and breakfast took 41 minutes to arrive after ordering. Our elderly part member consequently got stressed and worried about missing the taxi and plane. She did however manage each day the short but fairly steep incline up to the hotel from the high street. Though it was long enough and steep enough to put her off popping out for a stroll or similar.

The best thing we did in Guernsey was take the 20-minute ferry to Herm (£11) and (except mother) walk around its coast - absolutely lovely. The harbour steps at both ends took a bit of negotiating. I also hired a bike - £10 - and cycled clockwise round most of the island (not the south). Also lovely, though the first bit, heading west out of St PP through lovely rolling green countryside, was a bit hilly. The rest, following the coast past many beautiful deserted white-sand beaches, was flat, mostly on a purpose-built cycle path. There's a hire place next to the tourism office, but they had sold out so I walked 10 minutes to Millards on victoria road. Some cycle-hire companies will deliver and collect.

Would we go to the Duke Of Normandie again? Yes. Would we book through Premier/CID again? Definitely. And that has nothing to do with the surprise welcome-home complimentary Hotel Chocolat mini-box that was waiting for us beneath our letter-box... Lovely touch.



(not needed in the end)

Room Tip: Most first-floor rooms are accessed via an outside spiral staircse from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    98
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
24
155
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A nice hotel , well located just off the high street.The hotel calls itself " boutique" not sure what that actually means , but our room was rather dark, due to lack of light and dark furnishings/carpet etc.Bed was very comfortable and we selp well.
Good breakfast, attentive staff

Room Tip: We were upstairs in the courtyard, maybe the rooms in the hotel building itself may not be so dark?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel in early May.
This is a pleasant but unpretentious hotel very well situated in the centre of St. Peter Port.

For those who do not know Guernsey you are only 75 yards from the High Street and close to the harbour and business centre. This does not mean that the hotel is noisy. Lefebvre Street is a very quiet street.
The hotel is built round a courtyard with an open air sitting area which is a delight in fine weather. The breakfasts are very good and the kitchen produces very good simple food, which is efficiently served in a small but attractive resaurant.

Our bedroom was on the first floor with access up a spiral staircase to a covered verandah. (Those who would struggle with the staircase should ask for a ground floor room.)

Our bedroom was fine with a clean and modern ensuite bathroom. If we had any criticism it was that because of the outside verandah other guests pass outside your bedroom window, which is fitted with smart wooden blinds. The verandah and the dark furnishings make the rooms rather dark and the lights are, as per the modern style, rather dim.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I made a booking at this hotel by telephone for our 4 night break. It should have been obvious they were speaking to an older person, we were pleased when told of its location to the quay, but that changed when we arrived. We were shown to an attic room having to negotiate 39 steps as there were no lifts. The room was very cramped with 2 small windows approximately 18 inches wide, even the radiator was four feet tall and a foot wide as basically there was not a piece of wall for it to go the other way. Everything in there was dark brown, even the venetian blinds. After emptying the suitcase the only place I could find to put it was the bathroom window. There was a chair which had to be moved if you wanted to go into the room or get to the chest of drawers. The walls were very thin and the one next door was a single room. Each night the guest returned in the small hours, banging each door he came through, his first thing was too put the TV on and then promptly make a phone call, shouting above the tv. Each time we went out of the hotel it was down a very steep slope to get to the quay but the hotel description does not say this. The only place to sit and have a drink after a busy day was a medieval type cellar bar which served food to non residents and had a very large tv in the centre of the room. Not at all relaxing. Will not be returning

Room Tip: courtyard rooms looked reasonable, small but only 2 storey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is very good, It's a 3 star hotel with 4 star service, food was of a very good quality the hotel itself is placed near the middle of town and it's a two minute walk to the high street and Harbour, Parking is limited within the hotel but was not a problem as if you double park in the hotel and leave your keys at reception they will move your car and park it when a space becomes available. Friendly staff nothing is too much trouble for them and if you have a problem it's soon dealt with. Lots of restaurants within walking distance but the hotel’s restaurant has good quality food and reasonably priced. Room’s very comfee and beds were great. If you want to tour the island you do need a car as the bus service is not great when we went in may this year 2013 they tried to change the timetable which put the whole island in chaos places worth a visit Candie Gardens a five minute walk, Fermain Bay, and all the other little bays around the island most have little cafe/kiosks located there which do cream teas fabulous crab sandwiches

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have just stayed a week here again after enjoying it so much last August. We booked half board and the food was excellent and the waiters were all out standing with effient service and friendly. We liked the fresh flowers on the table. The bar is good for an evening which also serves food.
The rooms are really nice -everything is 'thought of' comfortable bed, nice decor, fridge,(like the biscuits with our cuppa), large bathroom and flat screen tv, the girls who clean the rooms keep them perfect. We would highly recommend this Hotel and cannot fault it. It is so convenient to the town. We made full use of the bus service just a few minutes stroll away. It was nice just to walk along the harbour front in the evening. We had a wonderful time enjoying 'The Liberation Celebrations' and hope to be back soon. Thanks to all the reception staff for being so helpful and always happy. We certainly have found a little gem staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of St Peter Port and a fifteen minute walk from the ferry terminal. The room we had (number 17) looked into the courtyard. It was extremely spacious with everything you needed for a comfortable stay - the comfort of the bed deserves a particular mention. Despite its location it was very quiet and we slept soundly on the nights we stayed there. Be aware that there is no lift and there are a number of narrow stairs to get to the upper rooms. As a number of other reviews have mentioned, the breakfast was very good although we felt a bit rushed - we assumed because the hotel was full and they needed to 'push you through' to ensure everyone was fed. There is a pub attached to the hotel which offers great, friendly service and some good, reasonably priced food mixed with some odd combinations - a veggie burger came with hot English mustard which (thankfully) we had never encountered before. On the whole this is a great hotel and enhanced our stay on Guernsey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Normandie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Normandie Hotel

Address: Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#8 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke of Normandie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Normandie is a small hotel in Guernsey offering a warm welcome and modern facilities. We are conveniently situated in the heart of St Peter Port in a quiet location just 75 metres from the High Street. Our 17 executive rooms and 20 en-suite standard rooms offer a choice of accommodation to appeal to business travellers or to those taking a break in Guernsey, and uniquely amongst hotels in Guernsey we offer the convenience of a private town centre car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Duke of Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duke Of Normandie
Duke Of Normandie Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Normandie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.