We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aquarium - but not too exciting!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guernsey Aquarium

Guernsey Aquarium
La Vallette, St Peter Port GY1 1AX
44 (0)1481 723301
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 14 Attractions in St Peter Port
Attraction details
Jacksonville
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Aquarium - but not too exciting!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Sorry - but if you want to go to an aquarium - you expect more than this!!Been there several times and unfortunately, never saw any improvement in either the exhibits nor the actual place - it really needs some money spent on the place in order to upgrade it and provide - the very few interesting exhibits - with a more appropriate tank to be stored in!!
Not really worth the entrance fee!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    22
    27
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Half Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Nice atmosphere in the tunnels, would have liked to have seen more fish and reptiles.

Nearest toilets at the Victorian Bathing Pools.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Went here at the beginning of March. It's basically a shop with a tired old aquarium in the back of it.

I left feeling sorry for the reptiles and large fish they have stored in it. All of which I think would be better off in larger tanks. Place seems in dire need of upgrade.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Floating fish.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We paid nearly a tenner (2 of us) to get in, had 2 minutes walking around looking at dead fish in dirty tanks.

We told the staff about the floating fish, named the species, and they couldn't find them, sums it up really.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit on a rainy day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I think some of the reviews here are a bit unfair. This is a privately run attraction, clearly run on a shoestring as the owner's passion for marine life. Yes, it is combined with a shop, but that must help to subsidise it as I cannot imagine the reasonable entry fee provides sufficient income to keep it running. We took two small children who were fascinated for well over an hour, especially when the fish were being fed.
There is a good selection of mainly local species of fish - obviously not the spectacular large ones - as well as reptiles. Clearly care had been taken some time in the past to provide informative labels, but these have largely deteriorated and need replacing.
You could certainly do worse on a rainy day.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guernsey Aquarium also viewed

 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Guernsey Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guernsey Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.