We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel I've Stayed In” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fregate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Fregate Hotel to your Saves list
La Fregate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Cotils, St Peter Port GY1 1UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel I've Stayed In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Sadly we were only in Guernsey for one night, but we sure made the right choice to stay in a Deluxe Room at La Fregate Hotel! A large, comfortable, room with a fantastic, HUGE, balcony overlooking St Peter Port and the harbour.

The staff have been friendly and generally superb, allowing for a very relaxed stay to be possible and ensuring that little things such as allowing us to take our brekkie on our balcony were possible without charge.

We literally did not leave our room for 24 hours, as we wanted to make the most of a "feet-up" weekend. The hotel restaurant is superb and well priced, helping us not have need to step foot outside ;)

If I had to nitpick, I'd say that for a deluxe room the TV was a touch on the small side (19inch screen in such a big room?!) and that the bathroom was lacking a proper shower (a bath/shower combo).

We are definitely coming back here in the summer and will be recommending to all our friends and family. The La Fregate is a real gem! if you come here make sure to get a Deluxe Room with balcony (Room 110 is recommended!),

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    37
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
73
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

I chose this hotel as I had heard great things about it, its location was great but we were very disappointed by the room. The room we were allocated was not what you would expect from this hotel, it was very run down. The bathroom was awful, the shower cubicle tiny with barely enough room to turn around. The décor needs updating. Would only recommend this hotel if you can guarantee your stay is in one of the renovated rooms.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Friendly and exellent staff. fantastic hotel with the best views and best restaurant in the island. rooms very comfortable with a modern interior design. Without the best hotel in Guernsey

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Great rooms. Great restaurant. Great location!! Unique rooms. Bob the dog runs the place magnificently and his assistant Chris does everything he can.
For anyone visiting Guernsey on business or pleasure, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Excellent restaurant, perhaps the best on the island.

Rooms quite expensive at £150 for double, but £90 for a single better value.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

I booked this hotel for its location and excellent weekend offers, we got a taxi from the airport, I don't think we would of found it otherwise! The roads in Guernsey are very small and my opnion of hiring a car over there is do it at your own peril. When we arrived at the hotel the lady at reception was very professional and informed they had upgraded for the same price. The room was first-rate with great views and a balcony.
St Peters Port is 5 minutes away with lots of restaurants and bars, we spent the Saturday exploring and my wife did a little shopping, we were told that all the shops were closed on the Sunday, to my pleasure!
That evening we ate in the hotel, once again the views were great and the seafood superb, we could really taste the freshness.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and Guernsey for people wanting a break from bussle of the city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

Good position above harbour with lovely views over from room and restaurant. Room plain, a newer,but not thet new, add-on to side of hotel, but comfortable separate seating area with tucked in balcony. Steep access via path or steps from town centre. The food was the outstanding feature. with very attentive service in the restaurant.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fregate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fregate Hotel

Address: Les Cotils, St Peter Port GY1 1UT
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fregate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fregate Hotel, Guernsey's latest four star hotel, combines the charm and character of an 18th-century manor house with the amenities of a modern business and leisure hotel. Whatever your reasons for visiting Guernsey, a weekend break, short stay, business meeting, we offer the highest 2 rosette standards of cuisine and four star hotel service on the island of Guernsey. A 2.5m refurbishment in 2006 has meant that the hotel has grown in size to 22 bedrooms together with the addition of the Orangery catering for parties up to 24 people and a new terrace. These enhancements have been designed to enhance the reputation of the hotel and to build on a thirty year reputation of one of the islands favourite hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Fregate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fregate
La Fregate Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fregate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.