We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and professional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Friendly and professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just returned from a three night weekend at the Hotel de Havelet in St Peters Port. The hotel is set back at the southern edge of the town up a hill, with lovely sea views.

Rooms in the main building were excellent, we were upgraded to superior rooms, spacious, well equipped, and very comfortable. There is a spacious spa area, with an indoor pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi, which was well cared for.

Breakfast consisted of an extensive buffet which was regularly replenished, and hot food cooked to order.

All the staff, from reception, to the restaurant and bar, and housekeeping were extremely professional and did all that they could to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, and hope to stay again some time. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, rooms are quieter and have more character. Recommend booking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Another fabulous review, thank you very much! We appreciate you taking the time to post this lovely review about your recent weekend break. It sounds like you and your friends had a very comfortable visit and the features and amenities of the hotel met your expectations. I am pleased to know that the team created a pleasant atmosphere during your visit and it would be my pleasure to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet for another relaxing stay!

Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    79
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
257
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day break at De Havelet and, once again, have nothing but praise for the very high standard this hotel achieves-5* on a 3* rating! ALL the staff are unfailingly courteous and professional and this was particularly noticeable in the restaurant where waiting staff had changed since our last visit but certainly not the service quality. We ate in the restaurant every night and the chef and his team are to be congratulated on producing high quality, tasty and imaginative menus. The breakfast buffet is magnificent and there is an excellent choice of cooked items. The hotel is spotless throughout and we have formed the view that the management team and all the staff take a real pride in looking after guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
It is always a pleasure to read brilliant reviews like yours! Thank you very much for your time to share your thoughts with other site readers following your second visit to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. It is very rewarding to see that our efforts to create a unique experience are so well received and I will gladly share your comments with the entire team. I am delighted that the whole dining experience, including the selection of the breakfast and the varieties of the menus along with the presentation and the service was up to your liking. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of the hotel premises too, my housekeeping team will be pleased to know it.
I would like to thank you once again for your kind compliments on behalf of the whole team and remain at your service should there be anything I can assist with when planning your next visit. We look forward to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lost count of the number of years/times we - husband and cousins - have visited Guernsey over the last 10 years, staying at 3,4 and 5 star hotels at different times of the year, so we consider us well qualified to give an opinion of the most recent - the Hotel De Havelet.
Although rated as 3 star if we were able, we would give it an overall rate of 6 stars but unfortunately such a rate does not exist. Pity!
Nothing was too much for the staff who were all friendly and helpful but not in your face. Restaurant: First class in all respects. Ate there every night compared to all other visits to the Island, when we mostly ate out. If there has to be a negative about the place it is the steep hill climb from St Peter Port. Wow! but during the rest 'stops' there is a wonderful view to take in
The hotel does though recognise that not everybody would be able to climb up to it so provides a free bus service several times a day to St Peter Port and back. Could go on and on singing praise for the Hotel De Havelet but will end our endorsement by saying that we have already booked our stay for 2014.
The Belsham family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for this glowing review about your recent stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I was delighted to read about your experience and that the entire team made such a meaningful difference to your stay. I am pleased to know that the wonderful views, which the hill top location could offer you made up for the steep climb and the restaurant has also lived up to your satisfaction.
Your kind compliments are much appreciated and we all here at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet would like to say a big thank you once again for your recommendation and praising us so high and look forward to welcome you back in 2014 for an other memorable visit!
Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have just returned from a stay at the De Havelet. We had not visited Guernsey before so had no prior expectations.
What a wonderful surprise this hotel was. I can honestly say that the whole team at this hotel go that extra mile to ensure that you have a wonderful stay, and we certainly did. The only minor downside was 'cardiac hill' which you needed to climb, but the hotel recognised this and provided free bus trips several times each day to visit the town (except Sundays - well everyone needs a day off :-) ) , and you could even sit and wait comfortably at their sister hotel for the bus back up the hill.
I have never stayed at such a thoroughly clean hotel, no matter which part of it I visited, everywhere was always spotless. A big thank you to the cleaning staff, who were always so friendly.
The receptions staff were always bright and engaging with lovely smiles, and so helpful.
The food choices were varied in all of the eateries, with something for everyone. The standard and presentation was excellent Waiting staff could not do enough for you to ensure everything was to your liking and that your taste was catered for, and always with friendly engaging politeness and professionalism.
All in all I could not fault this hotel, just sing its praises. We stayed here to celebrate out 40th Wedding Anniversary, and I certainly could not have made a better choice.
A huge thank you and well done to all at The De Havelet. Your service exceeded all our past hotel experiences.

Room Tip: Can only say that our room was excellent with comfy bed choice of pillows, always clean great shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
First let me thank you for your nice comments and lovely review. l was delighted to read your feedback on how much you have really enjoyed your 40th Wedding Anniversary and that we met your expectations in all areas of our service and in the cleanliness of our facilities that we provide, the food and service in our restaurant. As always I have passed on your kind comments on to all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the de Havelet Hotel for the first time in July while on holiday in the Channel Islands and it was by far the best of the 3 hotels we stayed in. (The others were a 4star and a 3 star). We were impressed by the quality of service from front of house as well as the behind the scene staff. Everyone was friendly and keen to help make our stay memorable. Room was spacious and en-suite up to date. Liked the selection of teas, coffee etc including chocolates in our room.
Terrace and pool were lovely settings to relax in after walking the cliff paths or trawling the shops.
Restaurant choices were there to suit all tastes and staff willing to please.
The round island complimentary bus trip was super - fun and informative.
The presence of the management to ensure customer satisfaction was noted, and they did it with style. The staff certainly looked to be working as a true team. Well done.

Room Tip: Attic rooms have low ceilings and door so if you are taller than 5ft 10ins then you may find a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the fabulous review, I was delighted to read your feedback and glad that you had a most enjoyable stay and we met all your expectations in all areas of our service and the facilities provided. As always I have passed on your kind comments on to Bobby and the rest of the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet.

Kind Regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our first time at the hotel. We stayed 5 nights with our 6 year old daughter on a half board basis. We were a bit unsure when we booked the hotel as to whether it would be suitable for a family holiday as we thought it might be more of a 'grown ups' hotel - which I think it probably is. However we needn't have worried. We had such a great holiday that we think it was one of the best holidays we have had.
What makes this hotel stand out is the quality of service and the general relaxed atmosphere and friendly and professional attitude of the staff. The staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant staff are especially attentive, efficient, friendly and helpful, remaining professional at all times, going that extra mile to make sure that everything was in order. They treated our daughter like a princess which of course she loved. Food, food choice and service excellent. Front of house staff so helpful and friendly. The hotel is spotlessly clean.

We can see why people come here time after time. We have already pencilled in a booking for next year. We have been well and truly 'Hotel de Haveleted'.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
It was a pleasure to read that your first family holiday here at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet has been one of your best holidays and that your little princess has enjoyed all the caring attention she received. I am happy to know that all the hotel amenities was up to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay so much that you have already made some arrangements for next year. We are always most pleased to hear good feedback for our service standards too and we all appreciate your lovely words.
I would like to thank you once again for your wonderful review and we are truly looking forward to see you again in 2014!

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at the Hotel de Havelet which was excellent. Our room was spacious, well equipped and spotless. All the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The food in both the restaurants was excellent, as was the service . It certainly deserves its five star rating. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your time and effort to review BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet following your 5 nights stay. I was pleased to read that your first experience was a positive one and you enjoyed the comfort of your spacious and well equipped bed room. Thank you for mentioning the team as friendly, efficient and helpful they are all proud of providing an excellent customer service and are grateful for your kind compliments.
Thank you once again for your kind review and for choosing to stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for a second visit in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.