We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local's point of view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in St Peter Port
Guernsey
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“A local's point of view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I visit the Hotel de Havelet swimming pool most days be it in the height of summer or the depths of winter.

One thing I can confirm is that there is a consistency of cleanliness and of pleasant service.

The hotel grounds are always kept immaculate even recently when they had major refurbishment going on.

The pool and changing rooms are always sptotlessly clean. On the odd occassion when I meet a member of staff when I am swimming they are always pleasant, smiling and always say hello.

The management of this hotel appear to have got the formula correct. I don't know what it is they do or how they employ such good staff but thye are doing something right.

I have been swimming at the pool for the past eight years and the standard has always been consistently high.

Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear GGGSarnia,
Thank you for sharing your comments about our health suite at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I am pleased to read how much you enjoy the facilities and the swimming pool in our health suite and I shall pass on your kind comments on to the staff and I hope you will continue enjoying your pool membership at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    75
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
219
13
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A fantastic place to stay. Friendly, attentive and charming staff - nothing is too much trouble and and problems or requests are quickly and effectively dealt with.

Have been going for very many years and there is a constant drive for improvement in terms of both guest comfort and services offered, as well as hotel decor and room amenities. Main reception has been given a makeover this year.

Food is very good and exceptional value for money... main downside is the pound a day added to the waistline! Lunch selection has improved and expanded recently and afternoon tea is available - sitting out on the patio is a quiet and relaxing place to enjoy your meal.

If I had to find fault, the dessert selection, while perfectly acceptable, could be better - more choice and the option for smaller 'taster' platters with two or three bite sized items would be good.

If you want corporate uniformity and aesthetic blandness, this is NOT the place for you. This hotel started life as a house visited by the Duke of Wellington etc... so expect creaky floorboards and quaint chic.

The De Havelet is a good, honest, reliable, independent hotel where the management and staff all understand what makes a guest feel valued and each visit an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main house for more of a trip back in time feel, though all rooms have similar f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! It's always great to welcome back returning Guests and to know that we have met their expectations yet again. Thank you for noticing the improvements we have done since your last visit, as our Guests' comfort and enjoyment is of utmost importance.

I am glad that the team has left again a good impression with you, we all really appreciate the great comments you have made.

With regards to your comments concerning some of the aspects of the desert selection we will have a look at this and see where we can make improvements.

Thank you once again for your time and effort to write this lovely review and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.


Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was a really excellent Best Western resort and the restaurant and bar staff were first-class. I don't have any complaints except that there was no elevator and, even though we only had one set of stairs to climb, with a heavy suitcase, it was a bit tiring. Everybody at the hotel was extremely helpful and if we ever go back to Guernsey, this is definitely a place we will stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a good view because it's high up on a hill, The beds are very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I was glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for highlighting that our team were extremley helpful, they will be delighted to hear this.
I am sorry for the discomfort regarding the stairs, we have taken your comments on board to see where we can make improvements, however I am pleased to know that this has not spoiled your holiday and we all look forward to welcome you back in the future.
.
Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights again on 11-7-13 & 12-7-13.
We had stayed here previously and this Hotel has now become our favourite world wide.
The manager Mr Festivo just works so hard on customer relations often visiting you for a quick chat at Breakfast or Dinner to just check if everythings O.K.
The staff are gems who all make you feel so welcome.
Of course the setting and beauty of the establishment is wonderful,The Superior rooms are stunning but above that comes over this amazing customer service that leaves other establisments looking tired and out of touch.
We shall be back again next year and thanks to you all at Hotel De Havelet,
Barry & Marian Foster

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Foster,
Thank you very much for another lovely review! It was a great pleasure to welcome you both back and I am glad you had a most enjoyable stay again. We appreciate your kind comments and your loyalty to our hotel and I am happy to know that BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet became your favourite hotel world wide.
I have passed your kind compliments on to the team and we all look forward to seeing you back again next year.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have just returned from a week in Guernsey at the Hotel de Havelet. Having visited Guernsey for many years this was our first time at this hotel. It stands out above everywhere else for spotless accommodation, the most delicious high quality food, charming friendly helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble for anyone Our room was superb with everything in you could wish for. The unrivalled view looking out from the dining room over the sea and Herm was just amazing. The hotel manager and deputy were around at every meal time talking to all the guests making sure there were no problems, which I can't imagine there ever is. The indoor pool with its relaxing surrounds is a bonus and such beautiful very well maintained gardens.Our decision to return again next year is most definite. A fantastic holiday at an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: Lovely quiet room above the pool overlooking the gardens with no steps to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your fabulous 5* review and praising us so highly following your stay! We really appreciate your lovely comments and are delighted to know that the hotel features along with the staff left a good impression on your first visit and we managed to excell your expectations in many areas. It is always a pleasure to hear when guests find the food we offer to be of a high quality let alone when it is accompanied with an amazing view over the neighbouring islands. I am also pleased to know that your bedroom was up to your complete satisfaction and that you found the gardens and the pool a relaxing spot. I have already placed your review on our staff’s noticeboard for each staff member to read it, who I am sure will much appreciate your kind words.
Thank you very much once again for taking your time to leave such a nice review and considering BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet to be your holiday destination in 2014. We all look forward to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have just returned from a week at the Havelet.

This was our third visit to Guernsey having stayed previously at the Old Governemnt House & The Duke of Richmond. The Havelet more than stands up to scrutiny against OGH & DoR - the staff were outstanding in every way - the food was plentiful and of excellent quality. Although the weather was brilliant during our visit the indoor pool area was of very high quality and a real bonus. We could find no faults with this hotel - yes it is up a very steep hill but what better way to loose a few calories!

Recommend Room 18

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your kind review and to know how much you have enjoyed your recent stay with us here at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I am glad that we met your expectations in all areas of our service and in the facilities we provide. As I always do, I have already passed on your kind words to my team, who are always happy to help.
We really appreciate you taking the time and effort to leave your kind comments and we look forward to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I returned to Hotel de Havelet for an 11 day stay in early July, having enjoyed an excellent holiday there 4 years ago. Our decision to return was well and truly justified and set us wondering why we had waited 4 years to again sample this outstanding hotel. What's outstanding about the hotel? Basically everything - the location is wonderful with unrivalled views looking out over Castle Cornet and Herm from the dining room. The menu was excellent with lots of choice and beautifully cooked,well presented food. Even breakfast left you spoilt for choice. The staff at the hotel were charming, friendly and eager to please. Nothing was too much trouble and they outshone many staff I have encountered in 4*hotels. How do they achieve such standards? The answer is in no small way due to the outstanding example of the Hotel Manager and his Deputy Manager who between them they managed to have a chat with every guest at every meal, ensuring that there was opportunity to raise any shortcomings about the hotel and or service. Not surprisingly we never needed to raise any problems because everything was perfect, not only in the dining room but also in the bar, our room, the relaxing pool area and the beautifully maintained grounds. We will definitely be returning (hopefully in less than 4 years) and our only concern is that, with so many excellent reviews, the hotel will become so popular that it will be difficult to grab a room.
Chris and Mary E - South Wales

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
A very big thank you from us all for going to such lengths with your review! It was a pleasure to read that your most recent stay with us at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet was a very smooth and comfortable visit. I am glad that you found the hotel grounds and location with the unrivaled view over Castle Cornet pleasant and that all the other hotel amenities along with the service provided have exceeded your expectations during your second visit. I understand that it is always those little things that add up to make huge differences in your stay, and we strive to help you feel as though it is your `home away from home`.
I have passed on your kind comments to the team, who genuinely enjoy assisting our guests and pride themselves in providing the very best level of customer service and are very proud of being St Peter Port’s No1 hotel.
I would like to thank you once again for your time and effort to leave such a wonderful review, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet on your next visit to Guernsey, which we also hope will be in less than 4 years!

Kind Regards
Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.