We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here with friends for 3days over the late may bank hols.
The pics on the website really do not do the hotel justice, as the rooms look tired and old fashioned.
Our room was very modern, recently decorated with a large bed, decent tv, sofa. we had a large modern well equipped bathroom with both shower and bath.

The first 2 days we sat at a table at breakfast looking down on the harbour, wow what a view!
Someone beat us to this table on the 3 rd day.
Breakfast took a while as it was all freshly prepared, which was unexpected as its unusual for hotels to offer this these days. So we all had 3 perfect breakfasts.

The hotel did have the scaffolding up at the time, though did not stop our enjoyment of the stay. Our friends used the pool etc twice and recommend it.

The hill to the hotel was hard work, we walked the long way after 2 trips up the steep hill!

We hired bikes, and cycled to the north of the island, where you can follow off road tracks fromthe far nor east of the island to cobo, lots of little cafes en route to stop and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read how much your friends and yourselves have enjoyed your stay. I have taken note of your comments regarding the photos on our website and I have passed your kind comments on to all the staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet.

Kind Regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    80
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
286
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stourbridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and couldn’t fault it. Despite initially being allocated the wrong class of room to that we had booked, the staff soon had it sorted and we were very happy with the replacement. We even had a bottle of Prosecco and dish of strawberries to compensate!
All the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. Must mention Wilma and Weit on reception who were extremely helpful.
We had intended to eat in the restaurant for one evening, then try other places in St Peter Port, but the food was so good and such good value that we ate here every night. Special thanks to Luca.
We just managed to get 2 spaces on the complimentary bus tour of the island with Sam, who was superb and has the most amazing memory for the history of the island. He will be missed when he returns to the UK – best wishes to him and his wife for the forthcoming addition to the family. I’m sure Bobby will be an admirable replacement.
Although it is a steep walk back from the town centre, the hotel provides a courtesy bus service which is extremely welcome.
Most definitely would return. Excellent.

Room Tip: We loved our room, number 35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review on your stay at our hotel. I am sorry for the wrongly allocated room but I am happy that it was sorted out quickly and that you enjoyed the Prosecco. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the food in our Grill Room and our complimentary island tour. I have passed all your kind comments onto all the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the near future.
Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel with parking is only 5 minutes drive from the port and situated on a hillside. The mansion is now being refurbished and the newly fitted areas and rooms are brighter and lighter than the previous décor. The rooms vary in size with quite a number on the ground floor which is good as there is no lift. The pool and garden area below are well kept and perfect for relaxing. The dining rooms in a separate building adjacent to the main house offer fine views of the harbour. The food is good, the menu varied and the service excellent. The staff are very friendly and efficient and give a warm welcome. The hotel minibus is also available at certain times to and from St. Peter Port. We consider this a very good choice of hotel and location for exploring Guernsey.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms are lighter and brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It was lovely to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our newly refurbished rooms to have a lighter and brighter ambiance. I am also glad that you have enjoyed our facilities such as the swimming pool and restaurants. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and we hope to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet in the near future.

Kind regards,



Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently spent a week in Guernsey and one night decided to eat at this hotel, It was one of the best meals we had, having eaten at several others previously, The staff were very charming especially Aitor who was very polite, efficient and worked very hard to make our dining experience a night to remember. The food was excellent in taste and price too. Definately recommmened,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the food in our Wellington Boot Restaurant and I have passed all your kind comments onto Aitor and the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet on your next visit


Kind regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

we have stay 2 nights in this hotel and everything was perfect.
the staff is very efficient the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is perfect.
all what we need in a hotel......and I like the swimming pool and the sauna....
many thanks for your welcoming

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet. I have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the de Havelet for a weekend break with friends and were pleased to find ourselves at an hotel that in our experience, exceeded its three star rating. Best bits - the staff and the food. From arrival to departure, all staff from the General Manager to the Trainees were very professional with a friendly, efficient and helpful approach to providing an excellent, attentive service at all times. The choice of meals was extensive and all our selections proved to be cooked, presented and served to a very high standard. We chose our evening meals from the excellent value for money "Summer Menu for two" enjoying all of the delicious meals selected, always served with a friendly word and smile from the staff. The rooms were good, large and well presented. We enjoyed relaxing times in the excellent spa at the end of each day sightseeing. The free bus service into St Peter Port was handy especially for the return as the hotel sits at the top of an initially steep street, although this does provide lovely views over Havelet Bay and Castle Cornet. We'd happlily stay at Hotel de Havelet on our next visit to Guernsey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read that your friends and you have found our guest facilities and hotel ground welcoming and enjoyable. Our staff is always willing to go above and beyond and I am pleased that we left a positive impression with you. I have passed on your kind comments to the team, and would like thank you once again for your wonderful review and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Havelet in the future.

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed in various hotels in Guernsey during the past 30 years and the De Havelet is definitely the best to date. A good room, excellent food, very friendly and efficient staff. What more could you ask for! We will return here next time we visit the Island.
Keith & Kate Leesmith

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEST WESTERN D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It was a pleasure to hear that your stay at BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet was one of the best you have had on Guernsey. I have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team, thank you for taking the time write such a wonderful review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards

Gennaro Festivo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.