We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Just back from 4 nights in this hotel. We had intended to try some local restaurants but after having dinner here the first night we ate here the other nights as well. Food was fantastic. Service was perfect and with a window table overlooking Castle Cornet to Herm what could be better. Our room in the courtyard next to the indoor pool complex - there is also a jacuzi, sauna and steamroom here - was very comfortable with very efficient maid service.
As a bonus a mini bus provided a complimentary three and half hour tour of the island with commentary. A must for first time visitors.
The manager made time to chat to guests both inside and in the grounds. This done without being at all intrusive.
So a perfect break.
Well done to all the staff!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    79
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
257
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Just returned from a 4 day break. Everything about the hotel is superb - location, (although a steep climb from St Peter Port harbour), service, food, leisure facilities. We booked bed and breakfast, with the intention of trying the local restaurants. After eating in the hotel the first night, the food was of such quality that we dined in the hotel every evening! The hotel provides a complimentary afternoon 'Mystery Tour' of the island; take advantage of this, as it is a great way to see the island and get information as you tour round.
One of the best hotels we have stayed at. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Hotel de Havelet and have nothing but praise for the attentive staff and the delicious food. The hotel is located in a quiet road at the southern end of St. Peter Port, a short walk from Victor Hugo's historic house. If, like us, you arrive on foot, having taken the bus from the airport, you need to be aware that this hotel is halfway up a steep hill. Once we got our breath back, we were pleasantly surprised by the courteous staff and the fact that we were able to get something to eat mid-afternoon. Our room looked out onto a courtyard filled with plants and water features and had an enclosed balcony / sun lounge. Our en suite room was of a good size, had a Sony HD televison, a very comfortable queen size bed and was very clean. Although we did not use it, there was a very inviting indoor pool just two flights of stairs from the room. We ate in the hotel's Wellington restaurant and both the breakfasts and evening meals featured a wide choice and generous portions. The 'cooked to order' food was generally well presented and flavoursome and there was a good choice of European and Southern Hemisphere wines available. The restaurant service was excellent with waiting staff quick to offer menus, drinks, bread, etc. Some of the tables have a panoramic view of Castle Cornet and part of the harbour and this gets even better at night. The public rooms in the main building are elegantly decorated and feature some interesting artwork. All in all, staying at the Hotel de Havelet was a very satisfying experience and if we return to Guernsey, we hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Just back from 6 nights at this hotel and very impressed by it. Yes the decor is a little tired and the wi fi a bit hit and miss but if you want a central base for a relaxing holiday at a good price then you will not go wrong. The hotel is up a hill but there is a shuttle bus to town and my mum (70+) managed the lesser of the two hills into town and back. The hillside location gives fabulous views of the castle from the terrace and restaurant where the food is excellent and staff extremely helpful and obliging. In fact the staff and management really make this place. The pool and lesiure facilties are spotless and open long hours and are especially nice in the late afternoon sunshine. Rooms are a good size with lots of helpful extras like a hairdrier and iron and alarm clocks. It was very hard to come home.....

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

We had three nights here and tried the two restaurants. They were both good, although the average age of the clientele seemed rather high. The staff are all overseas workers but they work hard, are very friendly and we only had a couple of language issues.

The room was big and clean but the wifi was poor to middling and the decor a little dated.

The indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room was great and we had it largely to ourselves.

The gardens were lovely and the views were fabulous. It's easy to walk to town to dine out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

A restful and comfortable hotel, good rooms, excellent food and 1st class service and friendly and attentive staff. We have stayed here many times and never been disappointed. Not a hotel for young children which is also what appeals!
Great iconic view from both restaurants and only a 5 minute walk to the town and good bus services for the rest of the island. Only drawback is the return walk up the hill but the hotel does have a mini bus schedule back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 27 has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Excellent hotel with outstanding service. There was a problem with the location of our room and it was dealt with very professionally. Food excellent. location super and staff highly professional. Would return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet

Address: Havelet, St Peter Port GY1 1BA
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Havelet
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.