We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HoJos

HoJos
South Esplanade, Norman House, St Peter Port GY1 1AN
01481 – 725632
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 105 restaurants in St Peter Port
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Guernsey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Japanese at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We eat at one of Londons top Japanese restaurants called Zuma, opposite Harrods in Knightsbridge, so we have a bench mark to compare Hojo's with.

To be fair, we didn't even know Hojo's existed (yes we are local), so my first criticism would be that they don't advertise enough ! But that's were the criticism stops. They are actually that good, that they probably don't need to advertise as it's always packed !

Eventually word gets around little old Guernsey, slowly but surely and whenever i pass people are packing into this little place. It is quite small, but very modern and the food is to die for.

Comparing it to Zuma, well there really isn't much to choose between the 2 i'd say. Both are very very good to excellent in fact. The service is attentive and the staff are very knowledgeable.

We've been to Hojo's 4 times now and never had a bad or average meal. It's always been as good as it gets in Guernsey. It's also something different, that Guernsey has been lacking since Fuji's closed down years ago.

I hope they do very well, so keep up the good work guys, we will be back very very soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    34
    14
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

So different from anywhere else in Guernsey. A refreshing change. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Unpretentious decor. Highly recommend for Japanese style food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hojo is one of Guernsey's gems, in particular if you visit in the evening and partake in their Japanese menu.

I went recently with my wife for an impromptu dinner. We shared a platter of sushi to start which was very well made, and then shared a quartet of filo wrapped scallops, breadcrumbed pork loin, spiced soba noodles, tempura seafood and crispy chicken with soy, ginger and sweet chili. All delicious. We also had the (new I think) stuffed beef sirloin which was beautifully tender, although the accompanying miso mustard sauce was (for our palates) a little sweet. Overall the food is light, beautifully crafted and bursting with flavour.

The wine list is short but reasonable value (and good to see that the Guernsey 'restaurant staple' wines are nowhere to be seen).

Our waitress was very good and the restaurant manager is the best I've come across in Guernsey.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Fabulous Japanese Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I did not know much about Japanese cuisine and the meal I had at Hojos was a wonderful experience. We had most delicious raw fish and meat; cutting the beef was just like cutting butter; the ingredients are absolutely top quality; each dish is accompanied by an outstanding sauce. Besides the quality of the food I would like to mention the beautiful presentation of each. The staff is very friendly, efficient and helpful; we were recommended some Chardonnay wine at £19 a bottle; the wine was so delicious that we had to order a second bottle! The prices of the dishes are in accordance with the style of the house; it is without any doubt an exclusive restaurant but the beauty of it is that you can take as many dishes as you wish which can be helpful for a quick lunch. I just loved this place and would recommend it to anyone visiting the island and/ or anyone who has not had yet the opportunity to taste Japanese cuisine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had not eaten here before and we wanted to try. Early start 6:30pm no problems parking outside. Attentive staff and good service. Venue basic but pleasant. Food was excellent and excellent value.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HoJos also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to HoJos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HoJos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.