We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done OGH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Government House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Old Government House Hotel to your Saves list
Old Government House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Ann's Place, St Peter Port GY1 2NU   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Winter Warmer
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Steeple Ashton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well Done OGH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at the OGH for our 40th anniversary.
Our room was comfortable and came with the nice touch of a bottle of champagne.
From the initial warm welcome, the staff were friendly throughout and being addressed by name was again a nice touch.
Another was a chocolate cake suddenly appearing in our room, as the staff had picked up that my wife was also celebrating her birthday during our stay.
We really cannot fault the service, which was attentive and, as you can see from the above, personalised and thoughtful.
This was one of our best hotel experiences and when we return, which we will, we will definitely be staying at the OGH.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    70
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
78
377
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We just spent two nights in a suite at the OGH. With a couple of exceptions, everything I have to say about the place is highly, highly complimentary. To be honest, it reminds me of a laid back version of the Ritz, in London. The same off-the-charts service (if not even better), the same atmosphere of being somewhere really special. Perhaps the OGH is a bit less grand, but it is also quite sensibly priced. Meals, room service, drinks, etc are all quite reasonable, despite the almost overwhelming level of quality and service.

There ARE a few quirks. A doorman who never smiles or makes eye contact.....almost a character from the Adams Family, lol. A front desk clerk who didn't speak English well enough to be readily intelligible. Ok, hire Spanish people (notoriously difficult to understand when they attempt to speak English) anywhere else in the hotel....but please, NOT at the reception desk....'my first point of contact. The poor girl is so far from being fluent that she really shouldn't be interacting with customers.

Our suite was a BIT tired....the carpets and furnishings could probably do with a change, though part of the OGH's charm is it's "Old World" character and service.

But these things really pale when juxtaposed with the undeniable charm of the place. The many nooks and crannies that look like parts of a film set of a film about a 19th century luxury retreat. Little bars....reading rooms....they seem to be everywhere. The food is top notch, and the bars and service therein are faultless.

Yes, it's more expensive than the other Guernsey hotels, but there is no other place like it, and what you pay is pretty fair really, considering the experience you get.

In short......I loved the place.

Room Tip: The suites aren't that much bigger than the larger of the normal rooms, so probably not worth th...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Having tried a number of hotels on the island over the past few years, I find that the OGH is by far the best option. It's location is perfect with meetings usually just a short stroll from the hotel. The addition of the new bar is a great idea as the old one was too small. The staff are genuinely friendly, very professional and willing to help guests no matter how minor the issue may be.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent four nights at the OGH. Welcoming and friendly staff, comfortable rooms and nice location. Ate one night in The Brasserie (very good) and one at the Curry House in the hotel (OK - not brilliant). Hotel is in nice location. All the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view rooms - much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

About a month ago we stayed here for a special Anniversary. We chose it without knowing anything about it other than having read favourable reports on several websites. We agree that we could not have chosen better anywhere. It was perfect from beginning to end, from collection at the airport to being returned there. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our five day stay. Our room, complete with champagne and flowers on arrival, was sumptuous, with a private balcony overlooking the harbour. The food is first-class and beautifully presented in a dining-room that is light and welcoming. The building itself is old with many rooms, each decorated in its own style; outside, the gardens surround the swimming-pool. We have stayed in many hotels world-wide but this is, in our estimation, exceptional. Personal service, marvellous location, superb staff. We will have to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great hotel where you get what you pay for! Very characterful, and very close to the centre of town and port. Would definitely recommend to the wife. Nicest place I've ever stayed in the Channel islands.

Room Tip: Have the Afternoon tea, it's fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

What can one say about perfection! We booked on line and had a delightful e mail from the hotel asking what our preferences were for a variety of things such as the pillows etc. Marvelous and this before we arrived!
We were told of a potentially noisy function in the hotel and the staff did their utmost to make sure our seaview room was well away from any sort of noise. In the event, even with our windows open, we didn't hear a thing.
There have been many changes since our last visit two years ago. The Governors has now become a fine dining Indian and fine dining indeed. I had fish curry and brother it was as good as any I have had on the sub continent. There is a new bar which is a superb addition. We used it most evenings after a night out, then we would sit on the balcnony with a pleasant drink before retiring.
The staff were simply brilliant. We can't heap sufficient praise on each and every one of them. How many hotels do you stay in where the staff call you by name. In this hotel you are treated as a human being and not as a room number - very refreshing indeed.
We really enjoyed our stay in our home away from home and can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Government House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Government House Hotel

Address: St. Ann's Place, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Government House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Old Government House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
Old Government House Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Government House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.