We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Duke of Richmond Hotel to your Saves list
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cambridge Park, St Peter Port GY1 1UY   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just returned from break at The Duke of Richmond hotel, excellent! friendly helpful staff, food superb,beautiful room, everywhere spotless. Lots of extra welcoming touches, iced tea on arrival, good choice of magazines/newspapers for guests to borrow.Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were shown 2 rooms & given the opportunity to upgrade to room with balcony & sea view at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Susan P,

How wonderful to read your glowing review following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. My team and I were delighted to learn that you found our elegant rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean and enjoyed the food of the Leopard Restaurant. I was very pleased with your comments about a great attention to detail in our welcoming touches and that you thought our team were friendly and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond next time you decide to visit our beautiful island!

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    91
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
66
237
37
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great service and quality all round, very little to fault except for the parking. There is no dedicated car park as such and we had to park on the street. The streets around the hotel are in a controlled zone and require a disk and only allow limited time. It's manageable however.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear MikeRiv18,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us and for recommending The Duke of Richmond Hotel to other travellers. I would be thrilled to share will all our team that you enjoyed great service and high quality throughout the hotel.

It is true that parking around the hotel can be difficult at certain times of the day but our Concierge and Reception teams are very happy to assist wherever they can including moving the car to one of the hotel’s limited spaces should one become available.

I would like to thank you once again for choosing The Duke of Richmond Hotel and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel next time you decide to visit Guernsey.

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I can only say that our trip was made memorable by the stay at The Duke of Richmond hotel.The room was very comfortable, very clean, with all the things that make you feel looked after. The food was excellent, as were the staff. WE have traveled a lot, stayed in many average places, this island, this hotel is where we would wish for when we next take a break. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Dianne S,

I would like to thank you finding the time to share your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel with other travellers. My team and I were delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday in Guernsey and that your stay in our hotel has made it special and memorable for you. We were very pleased to read that you found your room clean and comfortable and the service from all of our staff excellent.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you decide to visit Guernsey!


Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Upmarket boutique hotel with Victorian art deco them (focusing on her rule of Africa).
Notwithstanding, managed to feel like the staff were actually aware of my presence there, which is great when you're traveling alone on business.
Clean and well maintained but priced for its class, so should be expected.
Particularly appreciated the take away Lavazza coffee station for people checking out early and not able to have breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate a second visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for the kind comments you posted on TripAdvisor and for recommending us to other travellers. We were thrilled to read that you appreciated the elegant décor of the Hotel, its cleanliness and the cosy feeling of homeliness it all creates.

My team and I were very pleased that you found such important little touches as Lavazza take-away coffee and pastries handy.

We will be looking forward to your next stay with us and if I could be of any further assistance to help you arranging your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Got lost a few times with the varying corridors and stairways. Room very comfortable and clean if not a bit dated. Buffet breakfast excellent. Bar very nice for pre / post dinner drink.
Staff extremely helpful and very friendly, helped me out organising an appointment & transport to the local doctors for minor medical condition I was experiencing.
My room had a lovely view across the terrace and park beyond. Good location sitting on top of a hill, easy walk to town centre.

Room Tip: Room was sunny and very comfortable. Lovely view over terrace and to park across the road. Only neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear YveTaylor,

I would like to thank you for posting this wonderful review on TripAdvisor, following your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you appreciated our hotel’s convenient location from which to explore St Peter Port and that you enjoyed the lovely views from your Terrace-side room. It was great to read that you found your room clean, beds comfortable and our breakfast of excellent quality. It will be my pleasure to share with all our team that you felt they were very friendly and helpful.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you decide to visit our beautiful island.

Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Duke of Richmond for the second time in just over 2 months. The room second time around didn't have a sea view, but the outlook was still over a quiet street and park, so not too bad. As with our first stay, the staff and food were both excellent. The prices aren't cheap, but the quality and service are very good. The pool is very nice and the hotel provide nice soft towels, iced soft juices and even sun tan products, something i've not seen before at a hotel. Its not somewhere i would stop every trip, due to the price, however, its definately worth it for a treat!

Room Tip: Use the pool facilities if the weathers good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Val W,

I would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel and for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users. We were thrilled to hear that you have chosen to stay with us twice in two months and had a wonderful time!

It is great that you found our food excellent and service consistently good. We were also glad to hear that you had an opportunity to use our swimming pool, a real sun trap, and appreciated the fluffy towels, cordials and sun creams provided by the pool side.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you decide to have your holiday in Guernsey.



Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A nice quiet and comfortable hotel in a good setting, if a little far from some of the better restaurants.

Hotel staff are welcoming and friendly and rooms spacious, quiet and comfortable.

Gives all you would expect in the price range.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Davidh1977,

I would like to thank you for posting your view on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found our hotel comfortable, rooms quiet and spacious that our team provided you with a warm welcome and friendly service.

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to our hotel next time business or leisure brings you back to Guernsey.

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Cambridge Park, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke of Richmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.