We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Duke of Richmond Hotel to your Saves list
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cambridge Park, St Peter Port GY1 1UY   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Where do i start!

The place is lovely, the rooms are finished to a very high standard and the staff couldn't do more to help. Also their local knowledge was very helpful then it came to planning my days.

I would also have to add the food was very well priced and tastes amazing, and i would definatly eat there if i was a local.

One of the perticualr high lights was their afternoon teas, i have never seen such a selection of tea.

I am very tempted to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Stephen C,

I would like to thank you for finding time to share your experience at the Duke of Richmond Hotel with other travellers. Your comments about our professional, courteous and knowledgeable team will be passed on to all my colleagues, who take a real pride in what they do, ensuring all of our guests’ stay is memorable and enjoyable.
I was delighted to find out that you were impressed with the dishes you had been served in our Leopard Restaurant and also one of the highlights of your stay- our fabulous afternoon teas!

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel very soon and hope we will have another opportunity to wow you!

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    91
    16
    11
    4
See reviews for
66
237
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at a few hotels in Guernsey over the years, but my recent stay at The Duke Of Richmond was fantastic! Although the weather wasn't what we'd hoped for, the hotel was first class! The room was more full of character and the bed was very comfortable. The location is perfect to enjoy what Guernsey has to offer. The staff were everything you would expect from somewhere like 'the Savoy'. They were very helpful and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable, in particular, the receptionist and a manager, called Gywnn. We will definitely be back again...but think we'll wait till the weather is warmer! Thanks again :) James

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear JerseyJames1978,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Duke of Richmond Hotel for your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that despite the inclement weather Gwyn, our brilliant concierge, and the rest of our friendly team kept your warm and welcome during your stay. Everything from the hotel’s picturesque location, its unique interiors, characterful rooms, delicious meals and unobtrusive, yet attentive service always ensure our guests’ stay is memorable and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, which we hope has become your new home away from home.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Staying at the Duke of Richmond was an absolute pleasure. From the arrival to departure the staff were totally attentive without being overbearing.
The room was spectacular and the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever had the pleasure to sleep in. Attention to detail of the decoration was A++++, right down to red rose in the bathroom.
Heating controls in the room we unbelievably effective and easy to use. The decor of the halls and receptions is magnificent.

The restaurant was perfect and staff very friendly and helpful, the food I was recommended to have was of the very highest quality.

This Hotel comes with the highest recommendation, furthermore would be a fantastic Hotel choice for an event or wedding

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear JerseyJazz1,

Thank you for finding time to share your feedback about your recent visit to the Duke of Richmond Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the unique and elegant decor of our bedrooms and more importantly the comfort and practicality of all the facilities our rooms provide. Dining in our Leopard Restaurant is without any doubt a must for anyone staying in our hotel with a variety of delicious dishes on offer served with care and a smile!

Thank you for choosing The Duke of Richmond and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our hotel very soon!

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Superb greeting, service throughout, food, value for money on the Sunday lunch, setting ..... we could not fault it - very good. The offer was three course for £18.50 but the portions were very generous so we only managed two courses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear RMHH,

Thank you for choosing the Duke of Richmond Hotel once again, on this occasion for our Sunday lunch and it was our pleasure to welcome you back. We are delighted that you enjoyed Sunday Lunch with us and felt that we offer value for money.

We all look forward to seeing you and your friends again in our Hotel and Leopard Restaurant very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We only stayed the one night but thouroughly enjoyed it. The bedroom was fab with such a comfortable bed plus lovely views from the balcony. We dined in the restaurant and chose seafood starters and mains from the specials board, and all the dishes were excellent. Service was spot on in all departments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Cigarmuncher,

Thank you for posting a review after your recent visit to The Duke of Richmond hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and will be delighted to share your positive comments with the whole team. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Duke of Richmond hotel and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We travel a lot but have never been compelled to write a review, until now. We hosted a celebration in the ballroom at the Duke of Richmond on Saturday, with many visiting family and friends also staying at the hotel for the weekend. From the time of our first enquiry until the last guest departed the total experience was great. No request or question was too difficult, the staff, facilities, food and overall ambiance simply perfect. Well recommended, whether for a large function, meal, holiday or simply their afternoon tea!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Wayne B,

Thank you for finding time to write such a fantastic account of your recent celebration at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. It was our pleasure to make sure you and your guests thoroughly enjoyed our hospitality, delicious food, ambiance of afternoon teas and most of all attentive service from our thoughtful and friendly team.

We look forward to welcoming your family and friends to our hotel and hope next time you will also take away with you warm memories about your stay at the Duke !

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just back after a couple of nights at the Duke of Richmond - it is lovely - the room was very well appointed and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The food and service were excellent. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful but must single out Pauline of Reception who went out of her way to be helpful and addressing guests by their name - making everyone feel as though she was taking an interest in them personally. Will certainly recommend and would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Scouting-13,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience about your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. We are delighted to hear that our staff, Pauline in particular, have made you feel welcome and ensured your stay was thoroughly enjoyable, service flawless and interest in our guests’ comfort genuine. Our friendly, professional team are without any doubt our greatest asset, one of the main reasons why so many of our first-time guests have chosen the Duke to be their home away from home for their next visit to Guernsey!

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel in not too distant future.


Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Cambridge Park, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke of Richmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.