We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and excellent breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Court Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Court Hotel
Les Gravees, St Peter Port GY1 1RL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good room and excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a good hotel with excellent service. We arrived late on the first night and even though the hotel does not do food, our host recommended a pizza company and we were able to get drinks from the bar and eat them in the lounge.
Rooms are large and well equipped although the mixer shower takes a bit of getting used to. Beds are comfortable and I got an excellent night’s sleep although the curtains are a bit thin so in June the room was very light in the morning.
Breakfast was excellent and there was a choice of 4 different freshly cooked items on the menu including omelettes, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and full English. It was great to have a different breakfast on each morning of a 4 day stay.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into town, a pleasant stroll downhill in the morning and in the evening there is a spacious and comfortable lounge area with a small bar to recuperate.
Overall good value for St Peter Port and recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    39
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
16
26
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked in here by my company,when i arrived with my colleague I was pleasantly supprised.My colleague had a room in the main hotel,and i was given The Cottage which despite its name is a old Victorian house some 300 yds away.Looks more like staff accommodation to me top floor room,toilet and shower down the corridor,tv sat on a chair so the the portable aerial could point out of the window.Truly grim.
Despite 5 people stay in this hotel from the same company and a earlier breakfast requested,the restaurant was shut.

Room Tip: refuse the cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Abbey Court Hotel in St. Peter Port. The hotel website's claim of 800 meters from the harbor is a little misleading when you arrive on the ferry - it is almost twice that distance from the actual terminal - and all uphill, so I would definitely advise taking a taxi. But it is worth it once you get there. The hotel is a good value and the rooms are safe and clean. I was torn between a 3 and a 4 star review, but the distance from the town center and the sometimes surly staff tip the balance to a 3.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights ove may bank holiday
Arrived on foot by ferry and hotel information says 'walk to centre' but it's up a very steep hill - glad eee decided to jump in a taxi which cost about £5
The hotel has off street parking if your area in a car and the local and cheap bus service starts from about 150yds down the road from the front of the hotel and gets you to the centre of st.peterr port in about 10 mins.
The hotel was very clean and the carpets and public areas looked like they had been recently decorated. Our room was fresh and clean with nice bed linen and towels and the bathroom was really nice and again looked new.
Although this is classes as a b&b it has really nice public loungers and even a bar area for a drink if you've been out all day checking it the island. There is even a large garden which had chairs and loungers if you were lucky to be there in hot weather. The breakfasts room was large and nice and the breakfast selection was vey nice with cereal, fruit, yoghurt and the usual full English. As our ferry didn't leave until late on the last day they allowed us to leave our bags in reception so we could go out. Overall we thought this was really good value and we were very impressed, would definitely recommend

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Positives:

Breakfast choice: either full English breakfast or Pancakes with honey and mushrooms or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Also cakes, fruits, coffee and a variety of cereals are available. Breakfast choice still suitable for vegetarians, although for a vegan it would be limited to soya milk, cereals and fruits (better than most hotels for a similar price)

Cleanliness: Full marks to the cleaners of the hotel, the bathroom (shower, sink) and hallways are immaculate. Even the breakfast hall is very clean.

Price: During summer average price per hotel in Guernsey is £80 to £200, yet I paid £59 via booking.com. For the location (a fews mins from town) with parking, cleanliness, wifi, breakfast then the price is good value for money.

Wifi: Wifi included in the price, unlike many similar hotels which only offer free wifi on the ground floor near the reception.

Convenience: the hotel is 5 to 10mins away from St Peter Port town.

Small Library with interesting collection of books

Free fresh fruits available throughout the day.

Comfortable lounge with Sky TV

2 iMac desktops available downstairs for guest to use.

Comfortable leather sofas, with access to newspapers.

Alcohol bar. (I do not drink so cannot verify prices)

Garden chairs.

Out of the Hotels Control

No beautiful views of Guernsey due to location.
Tricky to navigate to the hotel if unfamiliar with Guernsey roads and filters.
Parking congestion - car park small and congestion likely if full house
Hotel few minutes away from a busy junction (filter) so could be tricky when walking at night especially for those that would have had a drink or two.

Things that could be improved:

I dont mind cats, but some guests perhaps could be sensitive to pets hence need to limit where the cat can go and roam around.

Signage - possible a sign by the filter or by the bus stop to direct guests to the hotel.

Possibly put the ironing/extra bedding in the cupboards on different floors rather than having to come down stairs to grab them.

Room Tip: Choose Abbey Court Hotel and not Grisnoir Guest House, there is a vast difference in quality,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel mainly caters for overnight stays for workers/business people. However we had opted for a superior room which was excellent with lots of good storage.
The hotel is clean and bright with an excellent breakfast room.
However, the staff at breakfast rarely smiled though their english seemed good enough. They also staffed the bar and again they were less than friendly.
The menu for hot dishes at breakfast was excellent but the fruit consisted simply of a fruit bowl of apples, oranges and bananas which was very disappointing.
We would probably stay there again but breakfast could defiinitely be improved

Room Tip: Go for a superior room - well worth the extra if you are staying several nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the Abbey Court for two nights. Great value, very comfortable and friendly, helpful staff. Good location with a 10 minute walk down hill to town. Lovely large lounge with free use of computers, super garden. Absolutely no complaints and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Les Gravees, St Peter Port GY1 1RL
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very attractive top-value family owned and operated hotel, in a quieter area on the outskirts of town, is only 15 minutes walk down to the shopping centre. A former Regency period residence, adapted sympathetically, the Abbey Court provides a relaxed, friendly and informal base and is ideally placed for St Peter Port's many attractions and has the added benefit of being very well served the the Islands excellent bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.