We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Average Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fermain Valley Hotel

Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
01481 235666
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 105 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Price range: $28 - $37
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
UK
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good Food, Average Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Overall I think the experience we had on a work night out was pretty good. We started with a drink in the Rock Garden which was OK without being quite the trendy night spot it so clearly craves. May just be that we were there too early! Dinner in the restaurant was good with a very imaginative menu. The cheese souffle starter was especially outstanding. Overall the portions were adequate without leaving you feeling stuffed and the food was not heavy or oily, succeeding in being both tasty and healthy. It was also remarkably good value at £17 for three courses without drinks. THe wine list was adequate (Nice Pouilly Fume) but when we tried to order some dessert wine it soon became apparent that there was a degree of fiction about the wine list and, in fact, they did not have most of the wines listed. Nonetheless we did manage to get some in the end and it was very good.
Overall the food was good and the service average but the value for money was outstanding.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Castel, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I organised a bridal shower here for my sister having had a lovely birthday party myself a few years ago.
April on the events team was incredibly helpful and assisted me in so many ways as I organised the event from the UK.
We had a delicious afternoon tea for 30 ladies on the terrace; we were fortunate with the weather but April had made sure that there were provisions inside just in case it turned sour!
The food was delicious and service was excellent. Everyone was accommodated and we had such a wonderful afternoon. We even moved the furniture around so that we could play a few games and the staff were happy to help us.
Thank you Fermain Valley!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent tennerfest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

tennerfest was great, went a couple of times, brilliant value and no compromise on service or quality

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Should be five stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is immaculate and the food was stunning. Great location and just a stroll down the scenic country lane to secluded Fermain Beach. Can't believe it has only four stars. Deserves five. Manager Robert is an amazing host. Nothing is too much trouble.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great hotel, great location, will visit again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

For starters we were allowed an early check in (3 hours before the standard time) which is always good. Very good, clean room, excellent decor with great views from our balcony.As for the Location, the hotel is located on top of fermain bay which is St peter port but a quite, bay with a pebble beach.

For the restaurant, breakfast was A+, there are better places on the island for afternoon tea though. Courteous staff, they do however need a concierge service or someone who can take the time & point out the places to visit, places popular among the locals & how to get around. Not just being handed a map.

As for value for money, the amenities provided, they are the same that one would get in a good London hotel at double the the price. i.e. Fermain bay are good value for money.

One criticism would be that the booking process (& coming back to the check in) would be that it wasn't made clear on the website or during check in that If i choose the "tennerfest rate" i would be charged for the dinner even tough i never had it in the hotel. Not a big criticism but something the hotel should make clear in the future.

Over all a satisfying experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fermain Valley Hotel also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fermain Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.