We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Onion

Red Onion
Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
01481 713030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 105 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Bistro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wilts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quite expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited the red onion for an evening meal. I'm not sure whether this takes off later in the evening but on walking in at about 7pm we were only the second lot of diners in there.
They have tv's on the wall showing Motorsport but luckily the sound was off. Our order came quickly by friendly staff and was fine, but for a starter and main course our bill was over £56.00. I note that others say this is "cheap or inexpensive" maybe if you live in the Channel Islands or London it is burin the real world I think not.
I honestly couldn't recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    4
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St Sampsons, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Popped in for a quick lunch whilst shopping, service was quick, food was good and not too expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“It's a bar not a restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

A group of us called in here for some food prior to going to see a band . The menu selection was good but the food that came was poor , the fish had bones in it , the thai fish cakes were cold . In fact all six meals were poor and food was left by all of us . The burgers that were delivered to a nearby table did look nice though . Defiantly a place to watch sport , have a drink and may be a burger only. The service was not great either when we asked our waitress if we could also have a glass of water she pointed us to the bar and stated that we had to go to the bar for any drinks as she only dealt with food !! would it have been so difficult to bring a glass of water ? Anyway we ate quickly (some of the food any way ) and left . They defiantly lost at least two more rounds of drinks we had else where , before going to our final destination

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Though the staff can be a little cold and sometimes unresponsive, the atmosphere a little dank and dark, the food is of a good quality and more than edible and at night there is a great lively atmosphere

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Football Crazy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There were 30 of us the night before a football match against Guernsey FC. The staff coped extremely well and did a fantastic job serving up the lads. Well done girls.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Onion also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.