We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome awaits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Horizon Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Horizon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Mont Durand, St Martins GY4 6DJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A warm welcome awaits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My short holiday was actually a unexpected surprise for my parents, who have been visiting Guernsey for the last 20 years. They have been plugging the island to me for so many years now that I decided it would be nice just to turn up and meet them there. (The owners were very helpful in helping me spring the surprise). My parents have built up a great knowledge of the area and they clearly know a good thing when they see one. Julie & Ray, and the rest of the staff, provide a very warm welcome to their visitors and it is easy to see why they have a large % of return holiday makers each year. I think they set the tone and atmosphere at the hotel and the guests respond in kind. It is the no-fuss, informal and consistent approach that works so well. The food is generally excellent, with the breakfast particularly good. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Having travelled around the island I would say that the Blue Horizon is near to the most dramatic scenery, with some lovely cliffs & bays close by, just off the coastal path. If you want good value then the half board package is very attractive.

Room Tip: rooms facing the garden have best view, outside rooms slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    23
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in June and we found the hotel to be as good as we had anticipated based on previous reviews, and can only repaeat what louxx has said. Guernsey is a walkers paradise and this hotel is ideal for cliff or inland walks. The breakfasts were of a very good standard and you could choose whether you just wanted a small meal or a full blown breakfast.
We took advantage of the bus pass provided by the hotel (and although ours run out of credits we purchased another one and Julie was happy to refund the cost). We found Julie very friendy and helpful and the happy atmosphere created spread to the other members of staff. We did have evening meals, served between 6-7pm and you have to pre order from the board in the reception area, three courses with a choice of 3 items for each course and the food was very good with a bottle of reasonably priced wine. We were fortunate that our room looked onto the gardens which were very well tendered and although on the small side did not feel cramped, and the bed very comfortable. One slight problem was the power of water to the shower and variable heat from the radiators, however I suspect the hotel may have had problems as we noticed a heating engineers van on the premisis on our last night. We will definately consider staying here again and if you are like us peace and quite you could do a lot worse.

Room Tip: Our room was 27, I would think 24-28 all have garden and sea (in the distance) views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Horizon for 3 days this June. The location is lovely - only a block or two from the fabulous cliff walks. Although it was out of town, in a suburban setting, we were happy not to be in the bustle of St Peter's Port, and it was a short bus ride. (With a 3 day stay, the hotel gives you a choice of bus pass, bicycle, or 1 day car rental).

The breakfast was delicious. We didn't eat any dinners there. Be warned that if you intend to, you need to tell them ahead of time. Our ferry was late and we didn't feel like going all the way into town. They said they could probably scrape up a couple of sandwiches for us, but they pointed us to a nearby grocery store that stayed open until 8 (we just made it). There is also an astonishingly good restaurant (L'Auberge) a short distance away.

They also helped us through a minor emergency (we stepped on a pair of glasses - they helped us bend them back into a usuable condition.) They couldn't have been kinder.

The only down side was the small room, and the view of the car park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We came to this hotel last year for the first time and could not wait to get back again this year,we have recently returned from another wonderful holiday with Julie and Ray and their excellent staff everything about it is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Guernsey and also a holiday to celebrate our 45th Wedding anniversary so wanted it to be special, so carefully went through different hotels and their reviews.
Most certainly was not disappointed with our final choice.

Excellent Service, Excellent Room, Excellent Food. Excellent Value. Hotel well maintained throughout Beautiful cliff top walks right on your doorstep Could not have asked for better.
Thank you to Julie and Ray and all the staff for a wonderful holiday

P.S. my wife is a vegetarian and choice of food for was, yes you guessed it, Excellent !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

On our first trip to Guernsey, we close this hotel because of previous reviews and it turned out to be a very good decision! We flew from France and was there in 30 minutes. A taxi ride of 10 minutes (9 Euros) and we arrived is warm sun vs the cold rain of Normandy. Julie welcomed us and "oriented us" to the property and the island. We opted for the (free!) bus card Julie offered and used it every day of our visit. Guernsey has a great bus system, on time and cheerful drivers willing to help tourists get where they wanted to go! I immediately took to the cliff walks while my wife wrote in her journal (and napped.) What a beautiful place. The flowers were amazing and I'm glad I brought my camera on the walk. After a pint in the BH "pub", we had our first dinner at the hotel. It was delicious and served by Joan who is delightful. The people at the hotel, mostly English, were happy to offer suggestions on thing to go and see. Julie was so accomodating and cheerful it made our stay in Guernsey a "must come back" place!

Room Tip: Our sunny, ground-floor room #16 had a view of the ocean...that was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Windsor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Set In a peaceful south-easterly picturesque position overlooking the cliffs and sea,The Blue Horizon Hotel, Guernsey is ideal for walkers with nearby accessible cliff-top paths. The food was excellent with a varied menu, and the proprietors Julie and Ray, and all their staff very welcoming and accommodating; another plus point is a generous sized car park. It speaks for itself that they have so many repeat guests - from all over the globe. Everyone I spoke to on my recent five day visit had nothing but praise. It was a bit of a challenge to find the hotel, tucked away in a narrow lane (typical of many Guernsey roads) but was well worth the effort, and I would definitely stay at The Blue Horizon again when visiting gorgeous peaceful Guernsey - for such a small island there is so much to see and do, whatever the weather.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views of the garden and sea.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: Le Mont Durand, St Martins GY4 6DJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.