We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at la barbarie !! Just superb.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Barbarie Hotel to your Saves list
La Barbarie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saints Bay, St Martins GY4 6ES   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tunbridge wells
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Second time at la barbarie !! Just superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was two years ago when we last stayed at La Barbarie and from the moment we walked in we knew that it was right to return. So many friendly familiar faces ,not just of the staff but also the returning guests. We were half board and on our first evening meal we were shown to our table , the same table that we had two years before! It is this attention to detail that makes this little hotel SPECIAL as well as the excellent food which is beautifully presented and the lovely comfortable rooms (we had a superior king) it was spotlessly clean . We will definitely return. We always tell our friends how nice it is but the only way to find out is to go there yourself.

Room Tip: We like the extra room that the superior king gives although the standard rooms are also very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    72
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
217
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is the jewel in the crown of Guernsey, for sure! If you want a peaceful location in a small yet friendly attentive caring hotel with luxury at an affordable price then come here! My gluten free diet was catered for superbly so- very impressive indeed!! Went half board. Stayed in a deluxe room- room 29- beautiful! Bed very comfortable yet pillows not great- next time will bring my own pillow then it will be perfect. Room was spacious as well as brilliantly clean all the time.
Every single meal we had was first class in every way possible!! Breakfasts were varied, cooked perfectly as well as delicious, too! Presentation of food was amazing yet it was not a case of style over substance as the taste of the meals was phenomenal too. The restaurant so deserves all the awards it has won!!

It feels like you are part of the family being there, also!

Adored Guernsey too- so much to see and everyone is so helpful!! It is incredibly beautiful! You feel like you are abroad, too!! Even the climate is slightly warmer than mainland and people from Guernsey are friendlier as well!!

Next time go to Guernsey with hubby we will return to La Barbarie for sure as well as stay for slightly longer- stay for a full week, too! Four days just was not long enough- we were sad to go!!

Thank you La Babarie for making it so memorable for us!
Was very challenged with my fibromyalgia as well as had two migraine attacks- was amazed at how caring all the staff were towards me!
Hubby and I made friends with fellow guest there known as The Barbarians- regulars- they were super lovely, too!!

Our first time at La Barbarie yet we will be back, most definitely!! What a gem of a place!!
Decided to come here from reading reviews here on Trip Advisor- well- thanks Trip Advisor- it sure does deserve all the fab reviews here! Apparently it is rated highly on other accommodation review websites, too!

Great to hear different nationalities languages within hotel- that other countries guests also enjoy staying at La Barbarie, absolutely!! Whilst we were there there were 3 different languages we detected :-)! A lovely international feel!!


One of our best hotels that we have stayed in home or away!!

Room Tip: deluxe rooms like room 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

how nice to find a hotel with old fashion courtesy.the staff here are a breath of fresh air they are knowledgeable,well informed and so polite.my room was a double for single use,the bed was very comfortable and bathroom fine also very clean.breakfast was all the usual choices and individualy cooked per your order,very enjoyable. ate in the resurant with local friends,the meal was beautifully presented and very tasty , and again the service was with a superb and with genuine smiles.all in all a very enjoyable break

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in a superior room for 4 nights in August and had a lovely time. The staff were welcoming and efficient, making our stay very enjoyable.
I think the description on the hotel's website sums it up pretty well - " A cozy, small hotel in a rural location combined with a popular award winning restaurant".
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try for a superior room in annex overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

my wife and i love guernsey we also love jersey. the reason we chose guernsey for our hols was because of this hotel. its fab. we had a superior room . whilst the weather wasn;t great everything else was.,especially the food. we will be returning for a 3rd time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Still an exceptionally nice hotel just as good as our first visit a few years ago. Well looked after, really nice room with balcony and overlooking the pool, excellent bar and restaurant food, friendly and helpful staff. Weather not so good but substantial breakfast helped to kick-start the day.
Will always be our first choice in Guernsey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiling ale,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently spent a week at The Barbarie. It was an excellent holiday, the bedroom was spacious, clean and with a very comfortable bed. We had half board - both dinner and breakfast offered a good choice of well cooked, well presented food. The staff throughout the hotel were welcoming and most helpful. The hotel is very near to the cliff walks and the views are breathtaking. Hopefully we will return. Carol Archer

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay, St Martins GY4 6ES
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Martins
#1 Family Hotel in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Barbarie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.