We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Barbarie Hotel to your Saves list
La Barbarie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saints Bay, St Martins GY4 6ES   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LONDON
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Delightful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early September and our trip was a mixture of business and pleasure. We normally stay at another hotel on the island but thought we would try La Barbarie due to the good reviews. We stayed in a standard room which was more than adequate for our needs. This hotel is pure relaxation situated down a quiet lane in a tranquil setting although the bus into town stops just a few metres from the front door (every half an hour and just £2 per person). The staff are lovely, very attentive but also discreet so leaving you time and space to enjoy the setting. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. The food here has to be the jewel in La Barbarie's crown. I would definitely recommend pre-booking the half board option (they offer a deal for this) and as a hotel guest your table is reserved for breakfast and dinner whenever you care to come down and eat. The reason I say this is because La Barbarie's food is very well known on the island and the restaurant can get extremely busy. Whether you go for the 'full English' at breakfast or the 4 courses at dinner the quality and variety will amaze you. We have eaten at the top restaurants on the island and for consistency, value and service La Barbarie beats them hands down. I had the fish every evening and whether it was the turbot or the seabass it was fresh, beautifully presented and piping hot. Well done to 'team La Barbarie' and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    72
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
217
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Such a lovely place to stay, All the staff were great, the food was outstanding. Very handy bus stop just out side if you are not driving. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Guernsey.

Room Tip: The rooms over the restaurant are noisy - which is no wonder - the restaurant is so good everybody w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

On the recommendation of friends we booked into La Barbarie for our first visit to Guernsey....we had a most enjoyable five days at this delightful little gem of a place, situated down a quiet country lane close to the coastal footpath network. When making our reservation, Justyna on reception was so helpful and willing, even going as far, as to making arrangements for our hire car which was waiting for us on our arrival at the airport...perfect organisation!

On arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by the friendly and enthusiastic Justyna and her colleague Edyta... throughout our stay they greeted us warmly and smiled....asking if there was anything we needed....without exception all the staff in the hotel were the same...we were on the receiving end of spectacular service which is so refreshing to see in this day and age!

We had a comfortable room (number 26) overlooking the pool which was well serviced and kept spotlessly clean. The dinning room was absolutely superb, with a great choice of menu serving sumptuous portions of delicious food for both breakfast and dinner....with friendly staff providing prompt and efficient service.

Andrew Coleman and his entire team of enthusiastic and willing staff run a "class act" and are to be congratulated...they are so Customer focused and richly deserve their success....if ever we return to Guernsey which is a lovely island to visit.....we will book into La Barbarie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I have just spent our 4th holiday at La Barbarie - and we wouldn't stay anywhere else on the island. We stayed in room 30 this year - which is a Superior room overlooking the pool. It is a beautiful room - very well equipped with a fabulous bathroom - and we felt it was worth every penny of the upgrade fee. The staff at this hotel are second to none - every one of them greets you with a smile and a "good morning" at breakfast - and all guests are treated the same - whether they are new to the hotel or returning after several visits. (The fact that so many guests do return is testament to the good quality provided at this hotel) We have, in the past, chosen to stay B & B at La Barbarie - and have eaten meals in their restaurant but also tried other hotels on the island from time to time. We have, however, discovered that the food in La Barbarie is so much better than anywhere else we have tried that next time we visit - we will book half board. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - it is welcoming, comfortable, and everything in our eyes is perfect. Anne & Nigel Burnell (Caerphilly. South Wales)

Room Tip: Any of the Superior rooms are great - especially number 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was our first trip to the Channel Islands. It was an excellent experience on all counts. We stayed at the La Barbarie. Excellent room overlooking the pool area. The young people at reception could not have been more helpful….nice, eager to go out of the way to find information, undertook all of the services usually associated with a first class concierge service.

We chose half board. We were hiking, sightseeing all day every day and it was extremely convenient to come back each evening, spend 30-40 minutes engaged in “attitude adjustment” at the bar; order during that time and be called to the dining room at the appropriate time. Outstanding four course meals (starter, main, dessert, dessert/mints). Preparation, taste, presentation all first rate. Very pleasant dining room. It is possible to take your dinner at tables outside next to the pool although we did not…it was a little cool.

Half board was particularly helpful as we decided not to rent a car. We rode the bus (all day tickets and multi-day and family tickets can work out quite well...the bus stop is located conveniently about 30 paces from the hotel's front door). The last day or two we began to take taxis (you can book for specific times…they are very reliable. We decided against the rental car since we were going to spend one of our three full days going to the nearby island Sark…outstanding day…ferry over, carriage and horse around the island…beautiful views over cliffs, lovely little restaurants. The next time we come we will spend several days in Sark. It’s a small island…3 miles long…42 miles of coast line. Lots of beauty to absorb.

Outstanding sites on Guernsey included the Victor Hugo house, the Castle Cornet and the German Occupation Museum. We also walked several miles along the Cliff Walk…extraordinary. Next time far more of that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanmore London
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived later than we expected due to a delayed flight but were warmly welcomed at reception and given a quick tour of the premises to orientate ourselves, along with useful information for our stay.
The room was spotless with a comfortable spacious bed and well appointed bathroom. The finish was excellent, a lot of attention to detail. There is even an iron and ironing board, although perhaps a room safe would be a good idea.
The restaurant was superb, we have stayed in four and five star hotels which were no better, and at £19.50 for the table d'hote menu and a la carte dishes available for a small supplement if required, an absolute bargain.
Breakfast was comprehensive in choice, the full Guernsey slightly disappointing, but possibly by comparison with the high evening standards.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and added to the enjoyment of our stay.
It is true (see previous reviews) that the hotel is not wheelchair friendly, but the core of the building is old and this cannot be avoided, and presumably those with disabilities check before booking a hotel that it is acceptable for access. The clientele seem to be more mature, and the service seems geared to this, and everyone we spoke to seemed to be enjoying their stay.
We definitely recommend this as a brilliant place to base a visit to Guernsey for service, food and comfort, and if we return to the island would not consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crymych, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

having spent a lovely week in Guernsey staying with you at La Barbarie, I want to thank you for providing lovely accommodation, a welcoming smile at every opportunity and some wonderful gastronomy. Our room (no 16) was lovely, comfortable and quiet, just what we wanted. Breakfast was an experience, something different every day and not a single criticism. The 2 evening meals we had were lovely, full of taste, flavour and character.

the hotel team are fantastic as is the location.

If we were ever asked, we would not hesitate to recommend a stay at La Barbarie.

Room Tip: Our room had a courtyard view, as such was very quiet, I only saw other rooms from the poolside, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay, St Martins GY4 6ES
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Martins
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Barbarie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.