We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wayside Cheer is FULL of 'CHEER'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wayside Cheer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wayside Cheer Hotel to your Saves list
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Grandes Rocques, Castel GY5 7FX   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Wayside Cheer is FULL of 'CHEER'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My Partner and I have just recently spent a week at the Wayside Cheer Hotel. We were warmly welcomed by Dave, and told us just about everything we wanted to know, either about the Hotel, or about Guernsey. Our room (no 18) was spotless, and very comfortable. We planned to visit other pubs, hotels, and restaurants nearby, but, because of the excellent food served at the Wayside Cheer, we didn't eat anywhere else. The owner, Ken, was a very 'laid back' boss, and it showed amongst his staff. Donna and Paul worked very hard, but always took 'time out' to help, and have a natter. We could not find any fault with any staff member, from the kitchen staff, cleaners, bar staff, or management. We are 100% staying at this hotel again, and are already planning another visit, hopefully very soon. P.S. - Ken, I will be practising my singing ready for the 'Karaoke' on Wednesday nights. SEE YOU ALL VERY SOON.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks for the review, and saying what so many say when they are here, we all try hard to please without being too stuffy, most people appriciate how we look after them and The Wayside is all about comfortable clean rooms, great food, nice location and friendly service,
We also make a lot of friends on the way which is nice, and many return time after time,
I am already looking forward to your return and hearing you sing in key this time ;-)

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    35
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
72
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was our second year at the Wayside Cheer, we enjoyed it so much last year we decided to spend our honeymoon here. The proprietor is a lovely down to earth man and his staff are a credit to him. Donna, Paul, Wael and Dave are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The hotel is spotless, the rooms are cleaned everyday and clean towels are in place everyday. The bar is well stocked and spotless all credit goes to Dave the barman. The food is excellent, with a huge variety of meals. The hotel is in an excellent spot for buses, and a stones throw away from the beach. My husband and I enjoyed ourselves so much we have already booked to go back next year. Gaynor & Roger Freelove

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
It was really good of you to come back for your special occasion and we are all glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, see you both next year :-)

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I was a bit wary walking in as it was the cheapest place we could find in Guernsey but was pleasantly surprised and would recommend this hotel as it was excellent value. The staff were very freindly and efficient, the rooms refurbished and clean (though the pillows could have been replaced). It's a great location and very close to nice beaches. I HIGHLY recommend karaoke nights, they are AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks for your review, the old saying you get what you pay for is not always the case and we do try and keep our prices reasonable hopefully that does not put people off and I am please you chose us and were happy,

PS, I checked and you were right, all unsatifactory pillows have been checked and have now been replaced,

regards
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury united Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very friendly staff good food plenty of it Bed room very clean and tidy pity there is no lift .We will certainly rebook that says it all. Margaret Dave Hunt

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheer, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks you for your review, Sorry we do not have a lift and there are no plans to have one fitted but our Chalets are great for those who may struggle with stairs

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Despite the outside appearance of the hotel we really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were all newly decorated with new looking furniture. No shower just a fitting that goes on the bath taps but we managed. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked, just a shame we had to be up early as it is only on until 9am. Evening meals were also reasonably price, massive portions and delicious! Right next to the beach which would be good for the summer but not for a grotty Easter weekend. I would stay again if I return to Guernsey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your review, glad you were happy enough that you would stay again, and you enjoyed your meals with us.

In the past month all the rooms with baths that had a showere attachment now have Mixer taps with fitted shower so that problem has now been remedied, just one of the many things we are improoving all the time.

Regards

Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
channel islands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Been here several times, just us and with the kids - service, cleanliness, staff consistantly good and welcoming. Children well catered for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thanks for giving us a great review, and for being a regular guest we all look forward to your next visit with us hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We are just back from a week's break at this hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Guerensey is very seasonal and a lot of places were not open but thankfully the weatheer was kind to us and there was plenty of exploring to be done on the super beaches and old forts.
The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in a spacious family room, double bed and 3 single beds in an area that could be curtained off. Breakfasts were great and the evening meals we had there were excellent and great value for money compared with many others. We did try the nearby Crabby Jack's one night and think we were welcomed by the owner - we didn't bother with that one again.
Guernsey itself is a lovely island but be warned it is very seasonal and not much opens between October and April. Must sees are the Occupation Museum, and Little Chapel.
Driving on the island is challenging. There's not much of it but the roads are in general narrow and they have a filter system at many main junctions which take some getting used to. They also take advantage of the close season to do their roadwaorks and many roads were closed. It became a bit of a running joke. Driving at the height of the season would be interesting as would finding somewhere to park. If you go down the car hire route do your research and TAKE OUT THE EXTRA COST INSURANCE. You will pay heavily for any minor scratch otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaysideCheerHotel, Owner at Wayside Cheer Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank You for your review and I am glad that the hotel fulfilled your needs and you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wayside Cheer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Cheer Hotel

Address: Grandes Rocques, Castel GY5 7FX
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the friendliest Guernsey Hotels. Upgraded to a 3 Star in July 1012, An ideal family hotel overlooking the beautiful sandy Grandes Rocques Bay. A large car park is available and buses stop nearby. The hotel has a heated Outdoor Swimming Pool(Mid June to Mid Sept, Weather Permitting)situated in the lovely gardens. Our Award Winning Meals are served daily in the Olde World lounge bar and the Restaurant. There is also a games room with a variety of bar games. Other amenities include a spacious TV lounge for residents only Free Wi-Fi in Most Areas, Entertainment is available at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wayside Cheer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wayside Cheer
Wayside Cheer Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wayside Cheer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.