We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great business stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grande Mare

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Grande Mare
Save
You added La Grande Mare to your Saves list
Vazon Bay, Castel GY5 7LL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
West Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“another great business stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have stayed here many times and this visit was no exception, check in was a breeze and I had another of those suites on the top floor!
rooms are excellent and bed very comfy.
I ate in the restaurant and had a great fillet steak and a couple of beers, it wasn't a bad price either, I had to check out early in the morning to catch a flight and asked if I could have breakfast earlier than the appointed time, they couldn't do that but offered a breakfast to be delivered to my room which was excellent.
I will continue to use this hotel when in Guernsey and have recommended it to business associates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear vf12vf
Delighted to hear how you enjoyed your recent bushiness stay with us.
Steak and chips eh ? It doesn't get much better then that, except with a couple of beers and a comfy bed !
Many thanks for the review I shall share it with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    42
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
104
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I had a overnight stay on the 26th September 2013 as part of his 40th birthday treat. We booked in and were very pleased that we had been upgraded to a very large suite, with a large living room, with fully equipped kitchen. The balcony was also large and overlooked the front of the hotel giving us panoramic sea views. I loved the fact we also had fresh flowers in these rooms, the attention to details like this is very nice. The rooms were so clean, and the bathroom was also huge , with very good quality bath robes and slippers and good quality assortment of bathroom products. After checking in we went to have afternoon tea and a glass of champagne. The hotel receptionist knew we were celebrating my hubbies birthday, and helped arrange for some birthday candles on our afternoon tea, which was a nice touch. All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful, it came across that they enjoyed working for the hotel. We were very lucky just after our afternoon tea the sun came out, so we went and got changed, used the nice fluffy robes, and had a very pleasant dip in the hut tub, which was so nice and warm, followed by a swim in the heated pool then another dip in the hot tub. The evening meal was excellent we both had steak and it was as good as our favourite restaurant. I have to admit we were both surprised it was so good, again all the staff we came across were very efficient and pleasant. The full english breakfast in the morning was also very good. We could not fault our short stay, even the friendly hotel cat was so cute, no wonder he stays here. Lucky for him. Thank you La Grande Mare for making us feel special and your attention to detail, special thanks to reception staff.

Room Tip: Go for a suite they are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Carole26guernsey
It always nice to hear how you enjoyed your stay here with us at La Grande Mare to celebrate your hubbies birthday.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

this hotel is well worth the visit,staff very welcoming and helpful .we had a suite which had a large living room(about 20ft by 20ft) that had two sofa's, large dining table, fridge ,microwave, kettle cups etc, nice size tv and dvd player.Balcony and chairs.Bedroom had a six foot comfortable bed and another tv, iron and board ,trouser press and lots of wardrobe space all in another large room.Bathroom was excellent clean and modern with everything supplied
The food was very good quality and at this time of year(oct-nov)its tennerfest so a three course meal costs just ten pounds per person.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear reesalan0
Th review you wrote was lovely and I shall share that with the team.
Our suites are a delight to stay in and the housekeeping is meticulous scoring 92% in a recent inspection.
We are delighted you chose La Grande Mare to stay in and look forward to welcoming you back any time as the Hotel is open all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

La Grande Mare is probably the place in Guernsey to hold a wedding reception! Archana, the functions manager, is extremely helpful and ACCOMMODATING, nothing and I mean nothing is a problem for her. The staff and the food is top class!

We held our wedding reception there at the end of September and I could not ask for more amazing day. So huge thanks to Archana, Rado and all the staff for making our day the best day of our lives!

You will always be our number 1!

P.S. Sorry for bombing your pool but it had to be done :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Pepusa
Congratulations to you both and thank you for choosing La |Grande Mare to hold your reception at.
It was good to hear how well all your arrangements went.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham,England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Visited this beautiful hotel on September 28th. and stayed in the Penthouse suite on the 2nd. floor.
Great panoramic views across the bay fro the beautiful North Guernsey coast.
Excellent location ,great food and service!

Room Tip: Penthouse with weekend special rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear ChristopherH
The view from the Penthouse is stunning and we are all delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay with us.Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have been very lucky to spend a week here with our parents. Been visiting Guernsey since I was little and never get tired of the beautiful views around each corner. La Grande Mare is truly lovely, we eat in the restaurant three times, a varied menu and the food is tasty and very nicely presented. We may of eaten more if the menu was changed. Unfortunately it was kept the same, as a vegetarian I did struggle with three options! Our room was amazing, beautiful bathrooms, with the most fab warm thick fluffy towels. Comfortable beds. The suite was very clean and all the staff are extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. We used the indoor pool most days. It always felt warm and didn't take our breath away when we got in! We would never have any problem recommending this hotel to a all our friends and family.......Awesome

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear LorraineT
Thank you for the great write up.
We are all delighted to hear how much that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent two days ,playing golf and enjoying the Indoor pool.
The hotel is simple but great welcome,all the people are very nice, the food is very good.
You have there what you need & I feel well treated by everybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon V, Owner at La Grande Mare, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear RobertoP
Delighted to hear how you enjoyed your September stay with us.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Grande Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Mare

Address: Vazon Bay, Castel GY5 7LL
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Grande Mare Hotel, located on Guernsey's west coast, alongside the sweeping sands of Vazon Bay. The Hotel is set in over 120 acres of tranquil, private grounds with lakes, woodland and an 18 hole golf course and gardens. The courteous staff deliver impeccable service from the front of house and the presentation of your room to creating delicious pre-dinner cocktails, organising a memorable event or gym and golf instruction. The Hotel boasts excellent amenities including a fully equipped health suite, all weather tennis court, both indoor and outdoor bathing pools, a superb Restaurant and Brasserie and extensive business facilities, including WIFI connectivity and last but certainly not least a challenging 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Grande Mare Hotel Castel
La Grande Mare Guernsey/Castel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grande Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.