We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hougue du Pommier to your Saves list
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice pool, well equipped with comfortable loungers; likewise the gardens in a quiet country location ... Comfortable bar, with reasonable prices, and a pleasant section for meals ... Well cooked buffet breakfast ... Heating on throughout when it needed to be ... Large comfortable conservatory ... Bus stop just outside ------ We had 4 bar meals; 1 was excellent, 2 very good, and 1 a fisherman's pie that was horrible: it was deleted from the bill, and we were later told that it had been taken off the menu due to many complaints (check !) ------ Our room (31) was dissapointing: in an outlying block, the entrance door to which was directly opposite our room. This door was a poor fit and had to be slammed shut, or it was left open & banged ... Guests above could be heard walking about ... The LH wardrobe door hit the pelmet above the curtains when halfway open ( ANNOYING !) ... The shower had to be stepped up approx. 26 cm. ( 10 ins.) to get into, so anyone with limited mobility may have problem ... However, overall, we still enjoyed our stay here, but would advise viewing other rooms first if possible ...........

Room Tip: included in review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    68
    34
    31
    11
See reviews for
40
131
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

lovely friendly staff from reception to cleaning staff. Nothing was too much bother and lovely relaxed atmosphere

Delicious food and realistically priced. Nice comfy area to sit and relax with a drink before your evening meal.
Bus stop only a minutes walk from the hotel which offers a hourly bus service into town 1/4 past the hour to town and on the hour coming back.

This is my 2nd stay in this hotel and will definitely pay a return visit

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had stayed here a few years ago and wanted to return with the Chihuahua. The hotel is dog friendly and happy take our furry friends. In had a lovely room on the ground floor with a verandah and easy access for the fields for the Chi.
Unfortunately on Guernsey dogs are not allowed in bars or restaurants so we didn't eat there.

The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Would definitely return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and were very happy. The staff are very helpful and courteous. At first we had a nice room but with twin beds, but when we asked the staff for a different room they upgraded us to a suite which was very roomy and pleasant.
Food in the bar was reasonable and tasty. The beer was excellent and we spent a lot of time in the lovely garden relaxing.
The hotel is in a very picturesque and quiet location convenient to bus stops and a pleasant 10 minute walk to the coast. We would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting friends, the outside appearance of the hotel is very pretty, however the inside was a little tired. Our room was quite spacious, warm and clean, however the decor was a little jaded. Our shower was broken on arrival, we reported this to reception and they fixed it within the hour. Although the decor needed updating the staff were friendly and pleasant, this would not deter us from staying here again as our overall experience was positive

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and if/when we return to the island we will be staying here again.

We were met by warm friendly staff in all areas from reception, bar, waiters to cleaners.

The food is fantastic and the room was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a three day break over the Easter holiday. We found the staff polite, friendly and very efficient. The room was a large family room with a small en suite, more than adequate for our purposes. The room was let down though by an ill fitting inspection panel on the sink and broken tiles by the heated towel rail.
Food was of good quality, and portions were more than generous. The buffet breakfast was good value for the price that we paid.
If you read the negative reviews of the hotel you will find that many mention the owner/manager, people have accused him of being rude and arrogant. Our dealings with him were nothing but reasonable. It would be helpful if he used an office for the day to day running of the hotel rather than the front desk. He has a voice that unfortunately can be heard from a distance. I don't think hotel guests need to hear him dealing with tradesmen and his employees, some comments not necessarily being very complimentary. Both my wife and I found the assistant manager much easier to talk to.
Would we go back? Would we recommend it? Definitely on both counts. The hotel has character, although much of the decor is dated, it is a relaxing place to stay. Staff who care about making your stay as pleasant as it could be.
Do not come expecting a five star hotel as you will be disappointed after all it has three stars for a reason.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hougue du Pommier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.