We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hougue du Pommier to your Saves list
Hotel Hougue du Pommier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for three nights at the Houge du Pommier at the beginning of September. Arrived at 1120hrs and was preparing to have to wait to check in.Pleasantly suprised to be told that although my single room was not ready I was to be allocated another room.Luggage was carried by staff to Room 30 which I found to be a very spacious double room overlooking the garden.
This hotel is in a quiet location but has good public transport links from outside- the no 3 bus goes into St Peter Port on a regular basis.
Breakfast was plentiful- buffet style staff were pleasant and attentive.I ate most nights in the bar area- large range of choice -good value for money and again portions were plentiful.Bar staff were particularly pleasant and courteous
I would highly recommend this hotel.I had a very relaxing stay.

A Trip to Herm should also be considered.A beautiful island only 20 minuted by Trident ferry from St Peter Port Harbour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    68
    34
    31
    11
See reviews for
40
131
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed in this hotel whilst visiting a friend who lives on Herm (which is well worth a visit by they way). I found the staff very helpful and friendly. My room was really nice, although the bathroom could do with some updating (I understand the hotel is closed for the Winter so that refurbishment can take place. There was tea and coffee making facilities in my room, a huge bed, and a lovely view into the gardens from my two windows. They have two restaurants, one for dinner and one for breakfast. The dinner restaurant had a lovely ambience, and they regular menu looked good. When I visited they had 'Tennerfest' on, which is a scheme which is run across the island in October offering meal deals for £10. Being a bit of a cheapskate, I opted for food from this menu and it was just okay. The food came out just a little too quick for my liking, and it was nothing special....I'm sure the regular menu is much better.

For breakfast they serve tea, coffee and toast and have a hot and cold buffet, with a reasonable selection of food.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, it represented really good value for money, and I had a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for three nights in September half board. The Hotel is set in lovely grounds with a large car park at the rear.
The staff were, without exception, very friendly and helpful; from check in to check out.
Our room was large enough with everything you would expect. It was though looking a little tired in places. We looked out over the lawn at the rear.
The public rooms were well furnished and wifi was available in the bar and reception.
Drink prices were reasonable.
Breakfast was buffet style with a first class choice. Dinner was served and the food satisfactory.
Overall it satisfied us for our 2012 annual Guernsey "fix".

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Lovely grounds, and 10 mins walk from a stunning beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. I didn't eat at the hotel, but the room was comfortable and clean. It does have a holiday vibe so my one-night business trip probably wasn't the hotel's normal customer, but I enjoyed my stay and felt relaxed. Would be tempted to return for a more leisurely break!

Room Tip: Well worth paying the little bit extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is situated in pleasant grounds in a quite location. The external appearance is charming and the grounds are nicely maintained. The bar and dining area are in keeping with the character of the building. We ate in the bar three times and found the food good and well presented, the hotel staff were generally efficient and pleasant. We booked last minute into a standard room and even making allowance for the lower price charged the room décor and general facilities were poor. The sound insulation is terrible, the shower unit is totally enclosed and unventilated hence a mouldy plaster board ceiling, there is also a big step down to get out of the shower cubicle. The room cleaning was also not to a very high standard. Requests for simple maintenance items to be attended to were dealt with at the main desk, However the work was not done.

Whilst we would not wish to return again it is a shame that the general maintenance and décor in our standard room spoilt what could be a nice hotel to visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room and request upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkham, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a three night stay which I found most enjoyable. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. I never got round to the food in the restaurant as I found the bar meals more than adequate, the soups were outstanding. I was quite apprehensive prior to my trip having read so many negative comments, I have high standards, finding dining out very difficult. The manager, I found very cheerful and helpful, he has a very big hotel to run and lots of young staff. The aptmosphere in the hotel was overall very friendly, the most friendly hotel I have encountered in Guernsey. I encountered the most ecletic bunch of guests who often chatted in and around the bars and comfortable lounges.

Enjoy this pleasant hotel, I did!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were given medieval deluxe suite, lovely large room , fantastic bathroom, enormous very comfortable king size bed. Lovely hotel, out in the country, staff very friendly. No complaints, this was a very pleasant last minute surprise and excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for suite, very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hougue du Pommier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hougue du Pommier

Address: Hougue du Pommier Road, Castel GY5 7FQ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hougue du Pommier 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hougue du Pommier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hougue Du Pommier Hotel
Hougue Du Pommier Castel
Hotel Hougue Du Pommier Guernsey/Castel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hougue du Pommier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.