We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with heart.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Friquet Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Friquet Country Hotel to your Saves list
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seafood Break from £305.
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with heart.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel is full of elegance and charm. It's full of lovely features and a wonderful stay. The staff and welcoming and trusting. The only issue we had was it was slightly confusing at dinner times in the evenings when entering the restaurant. However, the food is good quality and the waitresses were very polite and friendly to us throughout. Can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    88
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
59
183
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We visited Le Friquet Country Hotel in Guernsey for the second time this year having enjoyed our visit in 2008 so much. This year was even better - in our 'superior' rooms which had been recently overhauled. The previous rooms were good but this year even better. The staff from 'the boss' down to the lovely maid who cleaned and serviced our rooms were so pleasant and helpful especially Odette on the desk and Alex and Natalia in the dining room together with Lucky and the rest of them. One very small criticism was the quality of tea (very grey) at breakfast which we mentioned and were assured it would be looked into - could it have been the water. Our room tea was fine so one wonders about the method of heating water in the dining room. Like the Scarlet Pimpernel 'We shall return'.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

The bedroom decoration and furnishings were a "little tired" but the beds were very comfortable and the room very clean. All the staff were very pleasant and efficient and any minor problems such as t.v. re-tuning were sorted very quickly. The breakfast menu is as good as any hotel we have ever stayed in (for a lot more money) and generally speaking the restaurant meals were very good, my fillet steak was the best I have had in many years. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable no-frills hotel with an excellent standards of service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We spent twelve nights at Le Friquet and enjoyed our stay there very much. The hotel was very clean and set in lovely tended gardens. All the staff were friendly and courteous. Their restaurant, The Falcon Carvery, serves fine food and drink. We ate there every night. It was a most enjoyable holiday. There was only one problem - leaving.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

When we originally booked online, we were told that the type of accommodation we booked was no longer available so booked a different room. The day before we arrived we were told that this room was also unavailable. The person I originally spoke to on the phone was abrupt but the manager I spoke to afterwards was very good. The same abrupt lady worked on the reception on the morning we left and didn't disappoint with her poor customer skills.

On a brighter note all the other staff were warm and friendly, the rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped. The Falcon restaurant was very good with an excellent menu.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We booked Le Friquet's combined car and hotel deal and were told that car hire was all inclusive with no excess for damage. Only on arriving at the airport were we told that this did not include wheels and trims, which immediately rang alarm bells. We were also told that it was required that we buy a full tank of petrol off the rental company and could not just return the car with a full tank as is normal in most hire contracts. We objected by phone to the latter because the island is small and we were not in any event going to use anything like a tank of fuel but were completely stonewalled by the manager. We got through the trip however without any scrapes to any part of the car so were surprised when we returned the car and (asking for the car to be checked in our presence) were told that there were scratches on two of the wheel trims on the drivers side and we would have to buy new ones. Neither of us could initially see these scratches even though it was a bright day. Very close examination showed that the sand blasted trims had very small sections where they were showing slightly more shiny patches which were apparently our damaging scratches requiring new replacements. We took photos and contacted the Island's consumer bureau on our return to complain but it didn't bother responding. The car hire company also refused our complaint and charged us in full.

We discovered subsequently that the hire car is paid well below standard hire rates for the cars and so imagine that this sort of rip-off is employed to recoup lost revenue. We would therefore avoid this deal. As to the hotel, nice rooms and good food but beware the complete lack of water pressure in the showers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lefriquet, Managing Director at Le Friquet Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Le Friquet Hotel has for many years used a local car hire company (part of the Avis group). This arrangement has enabled us to offer our guests substantially discounted rates on Hire cars and we are proud to do so particularly for our popular Seafood Breaks.
As you have chosen to link the Hotel to your dispute with the Car Hire company via Trip Advisor I have forwarded your comments directly to them. You will not be surprised to read that they have a different view of your dispute with them.
They have confirmed that there has never been a policy of charging for a full tank of fuel. In 2009 the charge was £5.00 per day for fuel up to a maximum £20 (or half a tank) for four or more days. Further, they have confirmed that their policy on "wheels and tyres" is very clearly communicated to the Hirer and this includes a Sticker on the dashboard of the car as a reminder.
I appreciate your kind comments regarding the rooms and food at Le Friquet Hotel and am sorry to read of your dispute with the Car Hire company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Arrived late due to cancelled flight in the morning,We were worried about the car hire but the desk was still open and with no fuss we collected our car.On arrival at the hotel we were met by a smiling receptionist and as the restaurant was closed,she organised some sandwiches in the bar.
After a very peaceful nights sleep we arrived for breakfast to a very polite waitress who served us with an excellent freshly cooked breakfast and a good array of cereals,juices,fruit and pastries.
Ate in the hotel restaurant twice and found the food to be of a very good standard my dover sole was perfect!
To sum up Le Friquet is a comfortable welcoming hotel with staff who are happy to serve you ,nothing seemed to be any bother and i would certainly recommend this hotel for a relaxing laid back holiday on a beautiful island with fantastic beaches and coastal scenery.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Friquet Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Friquet Country Hotel

Address: Rue du Friquet, Castel GY5 7ST
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Friquet Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Friquet Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Friquet Country Castel
Hotel Le Friquet Country
Le Friquet Country Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Friquet Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.