We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cobo Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Cobo Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cobo, Castel GY5 7HB   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for a few days between being in Europe and our daughters wedding. As we do not live in the UK we wanted a break away from the UK Mainland but not a long flight.
We booked the hotel directly via the hotels website and our subsequent requests for Dinner Reservations etc were all dealt with very efficiently.
We booked one of the four poster bedrooms overlooking the bay. The room was excellent with a small sitting area, hugh bathroom and private balcony (unfortunately during our stay the weather was against us so we never got to use it).
Special mention to the staff...top notch!!!
The restaurant for breakfast as noted in other reviews was excellent and all served to you after being freshly cooked to order.
Dinner too was excellent and we decided to eat on both evenings in the restaurant. Other reviews have commented on the price... we thought it was very good value compared to other establishments we looked at on the island.
The room and hotel was very clean and the huge flower displays in the hotel were fantastic.
Due to the weather we did not get to use the terrace for drinks..
We would highly recommend this hotel if holidaying in Guernsey...

Only one minor niggle... we arrived before 2pm check in time to be told very abruptly that check in time was 2pm and that was that.... no checking to see if our room was ready......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    93
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
52
230
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week in a sea view double room with balcony from 8th October 2013.
The room was of a good size, 6ft bed, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making, wifi (not the best signal but free), two easy chairs, table and chairs on balcony, bathroom with walk in shower. The room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean.
The food was first class, we used the set menu which was priced at £10 for mains and £5 for starters and sweets; good quality, variety, and portion size. Breakfast was very good and again top quality.
We found the staff to be very friendly and efficient, we were always addressed by name in the restaurant which was a lovely touch. The bar could get a little busy just before dinner but nothing to worry about.
We have stayed in many hotels in a Guernsey over the past twenty years and the Cobo Bay puts them to shame for quality, service and value for money.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A good hotel, very clean and tidy, our rooms were immaculate. I say rooms plural as we asked to be moved from our initial room, a very noisy one - the staff were very helpful and found us an alternative room. The hotel is on a main road which has a fair amount of traffic so be aware if your room is at the front of the hotel, you will be able to hear the cars. Breakfast was nice, we only stayed for four nights but after a week the variety at breakfast buffet table may get a bit tedious. All the staff we met were helpful and friendly, the sandy beach opposite must be lovely in the summer, we would come here again but make sure our room was in a quieter corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked to stay at the Cobo at the last minute,and overall we had a good stay,most of the staff are very good,though there does seem to be a bit of language barrier with one or two of them,there is a large number of Eastern European,mainley Latvians working the Islands hospitality sector,with varying deegrees of English,that said we had no major problems.The Gordie lad behind the bar took some understanding though!!!!!He is a credit to the Hotel,very knowledgable,behind the bar and nothing is to much trouble if you have any other requests,another mention also for Eric,top waiter and a very nice bloke.The only disappointment during our 3 day stay was Sunday lunch that took an absolute age to turn up,and hen it did the roast potatos were cold and like leather,the preavious meal on the Saturday though was excellent it has to be said.I would stay again and maybe will next year.There is also a good little health room with spa and sauna,get a sea view its worth the money!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have just returned from 4 day break with husband to celebrate my birthday. We picked this hotel for its location and asked for room with balcony, these overlook the beach and therefore get the sunsets. The road between the hotel and the beach can be little noisy but you soon get used to this.

Our flight from Manchester was early morning so when we arrived at the hotel our room wasn't ready, but just down the road was a lovely tea room so we were able to go there and have a leisurely lunch. The room had a very comfortable bed, robes, slippers, complimentary water, fruit and chocolates. Breakfasts were very good, and your hot choice was served to your table, along with your tea/coffee. Dining room staff were all very pleasant. The hotel was participating in the "Tennerfest" scheme that occurs in October on Jersey and Guernsey and we had evening meal there on the night of my birthday - very good menu at reasonable price. On the other nights we ate out at different places, first night was at the Rockmount pub next door but as it was Friday night it was extremely noisy and crowded in there and to be honest we didn't enjoy the food and my husband had to take his cloudy pint back twice to be replaced.
Hotel bar/lounge very pleasant to sit in at night with a glass of wine or two and again bar staff all very friendly and efficient.

The bay is beautiful, in fact most of the coastline around Guernsey is. We hired a car and tootled around from bay to bay, stopping for coffee, lunch etc, very laid back here and relaxed, upper speed limit is only 35mph, less in most places so makes for unstressful driving.

I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to others and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at front with balconies if you want to enjoy the sunset and see the lovely beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location and quality of food. Lovely touches in room and extras including bottled water and slippers! Downsides were very limited wifi in room we had (208) and stains found on pillow case which we mentioned to receptionist but didnt seem overly bothered. However we would book again and have to mention the waiting on staff who were great and worked hard to provide excellent service.

Room Tip: not 208 as wouldnt pick wifi up and had to stand outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely hotel, right opposite the sea, lovely room (a big thanks to Sandrine who couldn't have been more helpful - she is a star), food was smashing and the sunsets were awesome - watch out for the waves washing over the sea wall at high tide - we got drenched but didn't mind a bit !!!

Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 109 has a view of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Address: Cobo, Castel GY5 7HB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobo Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.