We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Good Idea: Never Disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobo Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cobo Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Cobo Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cobo, Castel GY5 7HB   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always A Good Idea: Never Disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have dined and stayed at the Cobo Bay Hotel more times than I can remember, as have family and friends to whom we unreservedly recommend it, and it always gets better. We have never been disappointed. Even if on rare occasions it has not met with the incredibly high, well above 3 star service we have become accustomed to, a respectful word to one of the senior staff has unfailingly resolved the matter.

Admittedly the Cobo Bay Hotel suffers from the shameless advantage of being ideally positioned in arguably one of the best spots in the western hemishphere to view a sunset, not to mention the paradise which is Cobo beach itself. As a result this hotel and its neighbourhood is very popular in the sunny season, but rest assured the regular clientele is a polite and friendly bunch who are equally keen to enjoy the sights and scenes of Cobo.

Although, as mentioned only a 3 star hotel, this establishment punches well above its weight. The quality of management and the staff it successfully recruits and retains year after year are evidence of this fact. Its sister hotel in the island, The Farmhouse, is equally well managed and provides similarly top class cuisine and superb value for money, and if you are seeking perhaps a quieter, less accessible place in the height of the season with a wider range of amenities such as a swimming pool, gardens, etc. then I would suggest you try The Farmhouse. But be sure to book early not be disappointed!

We cannot finish without taking the time to draw attention the incredible quality, variety and presentation of all the meals at Cobo Bay. Hot breakfasts are cooked to order here - no reheated food sitting around for hours which you often find in hotels with additional stars. As a result, coupled with the service, you really feel like you are being treated individually and specially. The choice and quality of the sea-food is to as good as any in Guernsey. Lobster and the local delicacy 'chancre' crab being popular specialities, at prices you could only dream of in UK cities! The chef does not disappoint on quantity either, and dishes are presented beautifully with perfect amounts of vegetables and side orders. The wine cellar is definitely worth exploring and you will not be disappointed in seeking a suitable accompaniment to any dish or course. Their selection of desert wines are particularly good.

We are somewhat reluctant and hesitant to post this review as the last thing we would rather keep this little secret all to ourselves! But such a gem has to be shared so let's publish!

Room Tip: Quieter ones at the rear in high season. Fabulous views and balconies on the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    93
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
52
230
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

really enjoyed my stay here; my first trip on my own for many years. Well looked after by attentive but not intrusive staff. Beautifully appointed hotel. Spoiled with complementary fruit on arrival and plentiful supply of tea, coffee, biscuits and water in my room.use of health suite included. If I had to be very picky I would say that the soundproofing between rooms could be improved which is such a shame when so much obvious attention to detail has been paid elsewhere. However, overall, I would say you cant go wrong with a stay here if you're visiting Guernsey. No pool which explains 'terrible' rating

Room Tip: I had a single room which looked out a wall which was a bit disappointing however plenty of honeysuc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at The Cobo Bay for two nights as part of a break in the Channel Islands. Our taxi driver was very enthusiastic about the hotel and said that he highly recommended the food - a good start. Friendly welcome at reception and we were shown to our room - it was on the side of the hotel, not the overlooking the sea front but we still had a great view of the sea and hills. Lots of storeage space, well equipped bathroom and a very comfortable bed.

Our taxi driver was right - the food was excellent and service friendly and efficient. The hotel owns the pub next door, which we visited on our second night and had fish and chips, washed down with local bitter!

A good tip passed on by a previous visitor was to use the local bus service to see the island. Tickets are ÂŁ1 per journey! The 7 goes clockwise round the island and the & the 7A anti clockwise and there are two stops near the hotel.

Room Tip: if you want the sea view and balcony, check availability but the road is quite busy. Rooms at the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute. Staff were so friendly and spent time getting to know you. Food in restaurant was excellent and Nelson with his wife Joanne were so helpful but then all the staff were great. The sun terrace on roof was good but felt a toilet up there would have saved us going back to room. Sunsets were a photographers dream.

Room Tip: On first floor balconies were not very private. Only a handrail between and people eating on the te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 8th September for a week. What a lovely positioned hotel, just across the road from a lovely sandy beach.
The breakfast was cooked to order, so you have to expect a slight wait.
Everyone was friendly, and couldn't be more helpful.
Our room number 204 had balcony a beautiful sea view. The bed was lovely and big with a very cosy duvet. Bath robes, slippers, vase of white carnations, still and sparkling bottled water (the water was replaced often) and a bowl of fruit were in our room.
We would certainly recommend this hotel, and the island of Guernsey.

Room Tip: Would go for a seaview and balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

From the young receptionist to the cleaners, well worked hotel very friendly staff who from the time of check in to check out made our stay wonderful. The restaurant food was good and the staff knowledgable especially Carlos and his niece who are an asset to the hotel. Child friendly, we would definitely recommend and revisit. Lovely location and views.

Room Tip: Book room 215, if booking with one child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The family spent a few nights here while we were enjoying a holiday in Guernsey. Comfy beds, spacious rooms, lovely complimentary fruit and biscuits, a great beach just outside, and a fantastic restaurant -- we really enjoyed staying here, and the staff were all friendly and incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobo Bay Hotel

Address: Cobo, Castel GY5 7HB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobo Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for our hospitality and professional service, Cobo Bay Hotel is Guernsey’s highest ever rated AA 3* hotel, offering an unrivaled beachfront location along the island’s panoramic west coast. Overlooking one of the island’s most beautiful bays, with clean, soft white sand and stunning sunsets, yet only 3 miles from the main town of St. Peter Port, Cobo provides the perfect location for family holidays, short breaks, romantic getaways and business trips in the Channel Islands.Our luxurious accommodation, award winning restaurant & al fresco Beach Terrace, complimented by the personal touches and attentive service that come with a family-run hotel, will make your visit to our island truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cobo Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobo Bay Hotel Guernsey/Castel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobo Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.