We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Guest House, Beautiful Gardens and Fabulous Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Roche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Roche to your Saves list
La Roche
Rohais de Haut, Castel GY5 7NA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Castel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Guest House, Beautiful Gardens and Fabulous Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at La Roche from 20th July,2012 for 3 nights, Jane and David are such friendly people, very helpful and nothing is a problem, from giving us lifts into town, to booking restaurants, taxis etc etc, felt very relaxed and so at home. We stayed in the Green Room, lovely comfortable bed and great power shower. The guest house is not too far from St Peter Port and easily accessible by local bus. The breakfasts are amazing, you are certainly spoilt for choice, we have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and Jane and Davids breakfasts far beat them all. It was my first time back in Guernsey for 30years and my husbands first time, and would like to thank David and Jane for helping me relive my youth by assisting me with their knowledge in finding all my old haunts. We look forward to returning in the not too distant future, thank you so much for a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
37
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Sorry the review is for our stay from last summer.. however just wanted to make mention of the wonderful hospitality!
Hosts are most welcoming and helpful.. Breakfast was soooo great and unimaginably good!
Thank you Jane and David for making our first visit to Guernsey so enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shipley derbyshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This was our first trip to Guernsey and what a choice of guesthouse.Lovely Georgian building and so very comfortable.
The perfect hosts.Jane is so kind and a mine of information.David a wonderful chef and great fun.Really enjoyed talking wine and modern art with him.
This is one of the best places we have stayed in.Will return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We will definitely be returning after such a wonderful stay in this lovely guesthouse. Our hosts Jane and David were very helpful in advising us of the best sights to see around Guernsey. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The food was excellent, with a selection of local products to sample.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in August at La Roche, and really enjoyed our stay.
Jane and David are adorable, the house is really beautifully furnished and well situated in the center of the island.
You can walked, use the buses, and can visit easily the islands without a car. Highly recommended for a typical Guernesey immersion.
We were in the green room, on the street but not too noisy.
You can stay in the garden during the day, with a beautiful view on the island, and use the pool/jacuzzi if the weather allow it, or even at night.
David cooks very well, and as he used to have a wine shop in Jersey, he has a wonderful cellar that he shares gracefully with his guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

La Roche is a truly fantastic little place, a gem on the beautiful island of Guernsey. David and Jane are fantastic hosts, and their hospitality is second to none. I have stayed in all kinds of hotels in my time, but never before have I been treated so well.

The rooms are an excellent size. I was in the "Blue Room" which had recently been refurbished. The beds were plentiful in their size, a huge sofa and a brand new flat-screen TV with a Blu-Ray player were all in evidence. It was fresh and clean.

La Roche felt more like a home than a face-less hotel. Jane and David were happy for us to treat it like our own home, with a lovely lounge and outside terrace. David's cooked breakfasts were an excellent way to start the day, and the spread of food available in the morning was lovely.

I was picked up from the airport, and driven back to it again and regularly offered lifts into town or wherever I wanted to go, a really nice touch.

All things considered, I would definitely stay here again in the future and would highly recommend it to stay in if you are visiting Guernsey. 5/5!

Room Tip: The Blue-Room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very nice and welcoming house ! I will go there again. Jane and David are sweet people and Guernsey is such a beautiful place to see.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Roche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Roche

Address: Rohais de Haut, Castel GY5 7NA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Castel
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Roche provides comfortable accommodation in an elegant and charming ‘Georgian’ home with secluded gardens and terraces, conservatory, outdoor heated spa pool with water jets and adjoining shower facilities. This exceptional B & B has gained a Silver Award, the first such accolade granted in the Guernsey Guest Accommodation category. La Roche is owned and run by Jane and David who provide outstanding hospitality, with Chambres D'Hote ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Roche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Roche Guernsey/Castel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Roche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.