We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Upgraded Restaurant with the best views on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houmet Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Houmet Tavern
Grande Havre Bay, Castel GY6 8AR
01481 242214
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 21 Restaurants in Castel
Price range: $18 - $28
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Chester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An Upgraded Restaurant with the best views on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This Restaurant has one of the best views over water in Guernsey, and now that the whole former bar area has been given over to a Restaurant, the upgrade and refurbishment has been a triumph.
The Restaurant has retained it's relaxed atmosphere and menu, but has capitalised on it's stunning location.
Having chosen the Houmet for lunch, we were fortunate enough to be offered a window table with spectacular views over Grande Harve Bay, although most of the table in the area had similarly good vistas. The menu offered a good variety of dishes at a reasonable cost. My choice of local mussels did not disappoint and the creamy broth was packed with flavour.
Now that the 'locals' bar area has been moved to the rear of the building, there is very little evidence of the former bar/restaurant dilemma, making any visit to the Restaurant a delight.
The service was attentive and friendly, the standard of our food excellent.
Congratulations on a great upgrade!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    23
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub to visit on holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have been visiting this pub for 20 years, never been disappointed. Portions are massive, so come hungry, forget starters! Friendly staff and Sky TV for football in public bar, and meat draw every Friday & Saturday and quiz night every Tuesday.
Recommend booking table for evening meals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

As the title states, when we went there (4 adults) the service was good, food was a high standard, prices were resonable & had a nice atmosphere.

Houmet Tavern is part of the Liberation group which has serveral restaurants. We visited a few of them & all were good!

Our only problem was it closed on Sunday nights.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Much better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have been taking our young boys to this establishment for many years.

Until recently, it seemed to do simple bar food but had great views over the bay. The view is part of the meal and it does not matter whether you have a window table.

For any mums and dads who are looking for a place to have an evening meal with frisky kids, this is the perfect location.

My boys are very lively and were not best behaved when they had to sit in a restaurant waiting for their food to come. But the proximity of the beach to the restaurant meant that me and the boys could lose some energy on the beach while my long-suffering wife could enjoy a glass of wine and read a bit of the paper waiting for the food to come.

Thanks to modern technology, when the food comes she rings me on the mobile and we get back sharpish to enjoy the food which was actually very good and sophisticated.

It is all about location, and from our point of view this restaurant has a brilliant vista and is close enough to the beach to occupy the children.

On top of that it is clear that they have spent a significant amount on upgrading the interior and have replaced the old "bar food" atmosphere with a semi gastro pub ambience. We were surprised by the change but pleased. The food was priced like a restaurant was well presented and both boys ate every last bit on their meal.

I am not sure that them eating their meal was down to them enjoying the food or whether their extended activity on the beach and getting more ozone gave them a bigger appetite.

Oh, by the way we took our 84 year-old mother here on this trip and she can be really fussy about food, but she devoured a beef pie in short order. Once again it could be a combination of increased appetite due to being in Guernsey and good cuisine. She reckons it was because the food was really nice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We'll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went to the Houmet for the first time this year with two children and granny. It pleased all three generations. The interior has been done up and is very pleasant inside, with incredible views over the bay. Service was very efficient and friendly from young helpful staff. Food good, nice atmosphere. The best view (outside town) for a restaurant in Guernsey and you can park right outside. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houmet Tavern also viewed

 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Houmet Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houmet Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.