We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fleur du Jardin

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fleur du Jardin
Kings Mills, Castel GY5 7JT
01481 257996
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 22 Restaurants in Castel
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Lovely place great atmosphere. Really good food. I had Turbot, excellent. Huge car park. If you fancy a beer or two walk or get the bus, it goes right by.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Fleur du Jardin is situated in the countryside and is an old farmhouse, which is quaint. The staff are lovely, very friendly, especially the lovely French sommelier. We always make a point of going there either for lunch or dinner as often as we can

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel and its restaurant have been very much disappointed. I ate a sea bass and the plate was warm but the fish was cold and crude oil, it was disgusting. The waitresses very rude and unpleasant, never smile. The plates were late very much in being served and they were very expensive and scarce. I will not return never again

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“slow service, average food, saw staff sat on food preparation surfaces!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

slow service, food was ok. with large group of people. everyone's meals served and almost eaten, our little boys simple dish of macaroni cheese not appeared, I asked waitress several times, in the end I was so fed up I rapped on kitchen door, no answer, so I went into kitchen to see 3 waitresses and a young lad (no sign of a chef or a manager) sat on the work surfaces that food is prepared on! I asked where my child's meal was, I was so angry I shouted at them through the door, and the whole restaurant went silent! what a shame, I am sure that they could have done better. I wouldnt want to go back there again with the same waitresses as they obviously dont care about their jobs or the hotels reputation. & No Chef around? very weird!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very Average....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the write - up for the Quids In offer that we made use of....

Treat yourself to a tasty two course meal for two people plus a bottle of wine at the gorgeous Fleur du Jardin Hotel. With succulent steak, fabulous fish dishes, the brilliant Fleur burger and more to choose from, you will have a special meal at the Fleur du Jardin with today's great deal.

Starters were pretty good, served promptly (there were only two other tables with guests), alhougth portion size of the calamari was really SMALL. Steak was indeed succulent, but small, Burger was really pretty damn average, as was the cheese and bacon, should be crispy in a burger. Chips were okay. Atmosphere cold, fire was lit but not roaring away....

Staff a little unwelcoming.....We left and won't go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleur du Jardin also viewed

Guernsey, Channel Islands
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Fleur du Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleur du Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.