We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful flowers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eric Young Orchid Foundation

Eric Young Orchid Foundation
Victoria Village, Trinity JE3 5HH
+44 1534 861 963
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 attractions in Trinity
Type: Gardens, Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“beautiful flowers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

the dozens of varieties of orchids was mind blowing, go and see this for yourself. They were selecting the very best of blooms for the chelsea flower show whilst we were there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    17
    2
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Eric Young started this foundation to protect and develop orchids. I would have loved him, since they are my favourite plant, by a long way. It isn't a commercial enterprise, as far as I could determine, the whole place is like a very well-run charity, where the beneficiaries are orchids.
The most exquisite blooms in the peak of condition are found in the main exhibition, grouped together so that the walk is a visual sensation. Who knew that many orchids have a fragrance? I didn't, but they do, from a light sweet scent to a musky sensation - and some have none.
Then I went along the propagation nurseries, which are viewed from above and to the side, to gain the best perspective of all that colour and form.
On rare occasions, a few spare plants are for sale and these can be brought back to the UK mainland. I was lucky and then was given written and verbal instructions about how to look after it. Excellent.
In summary, just go there, you will loooovvvve it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very impressive collection of orchids. Even more so the nursery on the other side of the building. You are allowed to take photos.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

First time we found out about this place and you have to watch for the black signs to help you find it. You approach it through some lovely small little roads.

We were lucky as went and were the only people there (about 11ish on a Friday in march).
The people who we met who worked there are knowledgeable and passionate about orchids.

entry was £4 for an adult and less for OAPS's.

We walked around the incredbloe display for about 30 mins - there are so many varieties to see and they are wonderful. The display and colours are fabulous.

I purchased a pansy orchid and it was so reasonably priced and unlike i had seen for sale in the UK. I was able to bring 'her' back on the plane and she came with a little bit of info as to how to care for her.

There is no big cafe which adds to the charm of the place, but you can buy a cofffee or water or some limited soft drinks.

You must go!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We thought this place was lovely and well worth a visit. Thought £4 was a reasonable price. There were Orchids for sale on our visit but we didn't think we'd get them back in one piece so didn't buy any.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eric Young Orchid Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Eric Young Orchid Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eric Young Orchid Foundation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Eric Young Orchid Foundation to your Saves list