We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Merton Hotel to your Saves list
Merton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belvedere Hill, Jersey, St.Saviour JE4 9PG   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT RECEIVE 50GBP
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Teesside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

I flew back over to Jersey alone this time for the Jersey Rally and I have to say again the Merton is as good as ever. the room was very good as it has always been during my 4th visit in the 4 years I have been to the Jersey Rally and the Merton.
Breakfast is excellent and I had my evening meals in Bonnetti's and was met again by Dora, sadly Donald is no longer there and these two where the usual smiling faces we where greeted year in year out. The new staff in Bonnetti's where very very pleasant and helpful.
I will continue to stay at the Merton as long as I visit Jersey and the Jersey Rally

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    324
    90
    27
    6
See reviews for
474
293
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

My first visit to Jersey and I booked Merton based on it's wide selection of inclusive amenties, and it was ideal for a short stay. A choice of restaurants, bars and diners, excellent indoor /outdoor pools, gym and the FlowRider - my husband was ecstatic!
The decor is perhaps a little dated, but everywhere was spotless, the staff (and people of Jersey on the whole) have got to be the friendliest and most helpful I've ever met. They really took the time to recall you, your name and your room to best assist you when booking taxi's/giving information or even just saying hello. Everyone seemed to have a smile on their face and even during the busiest times - our visit coincided with the Jersey Rally so the hotel was heaving some days - the service was speedy and no corners were cut.
Breakfast was generous and wide ranging, and always delicious. We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel but did visit the Jersey Joe's diner, which is adorable in it's 50's USA style, great food and yummy sundaes! Wireless internet in rooms would have been good, but internet was available in the lobby and it was kind of nice not having it for a few days. Balcony or terrace would also have been nice, but we did have a sea view room and there were enough areas around the complex to enjoy outdoor drinks and dining with pleasant surroundings.
Location is ideal for those who don't want to be 'in the thick of it' but are close enough for convenience. It's an unhurried walk into the centre of St Helier (approx. 30mins if you wander via the beach, admiring the views or inland more direct route 15-20mins, via the park and depending how long your legs are!) although a taxi was about £4.50 for the distance. Because Merton is central it's ideal for exploring and is a good base for going North to Durrell, West to Gorey and Mont Orgueil, Central for St Heliers shopping, museums and restaurants, and East for the Airport and the War Tunnels. Buses are regular from St Helier and the bottom of the road at Merton and cheap - although we mainly taxi'ed everywhere, as the costs of hiring a vehicle, fuelling it and parking would have put us in the same price bracket anyway and it would have been something else requiring responsibility! But as the island is so small, fares were reasonable for the convenience of door to door service, cheery drivers and never waiting more than a few minutes for a car.
Make sure you visit the Old Smugglers Inn in Portelet Bay if you can, a real hidden gem, truly in the middle of nothing and the locals are just brilliant in this pirate style free house - food is fab and served fast even when bursting at the seams.
Attractions in Jersey are not always cheap, neither are prices at some of the nicer restaurants and bars, but we both felt it was worth every penny to not be surrounded by moronic 18-30's chavs and the binge culture. We are late 20's and wanted a quiet, culture filled break and that's what we got. We were probably the youngest people around most of the time, and we loved that maturity having 'old heads' ourselves! If you are after a weekend of drinking shots, semi clad women dancing around poles and booming nightclubs with flashing lights, don't bother going to Jersey.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Arrived back from the Merton on Friday after a 4-night stay. Having been brought up staying at the Pomme D'Or, I booked the Merton on the basis that it was part of the same hotel group. From the initial reservation enquiry with Alicja, through to our departure with Jason, we experienced complete perfection. As hotel managers ourselves we can be extremely picky, but I cannot honestly fault anything about this hotel. All the staff were consistently friendly and helpful, clean and smartly dressed, the service was excellent, and we were made to feel extremely welcome. The hotel was great for our 20-month old daughter, with Georgie's playroom and the indoor pool. Children's early tea was excellent, the food was excellent, and this could easily be a 4 star hotel in my opinion. Our room (349) was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, lovely chambermaid who arranged our daughter's toys in her cot in a different way every day - little touches that go a long way. It isn't often these days that people get things right, but credit where it's due, the Merton has got it right, and we will most definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We arrived at lunchtime the reception area was really busy we were dealt with quickly and a porter helped us with our cases.
Our room was nicely decorated and very clean we also got internet connection in our room.
The entertainment that we saw on our first evening was very good but drinks were very expensive.
Breakfast was excellent there was so much choice.
We did not eat in as we like to try different places.
The weather was really good for the time of year but I would like to come back to the Merton in the summer.
There is plenty of places to sit and relax and if you want to stroll into St Helier it is a lovely walk through the Howard Davis park.
We have been going to the same hotel for the past 6 years and I am glad we tried the Merton this year.
We booked with Condor Breaks and it was a good price which included bringing the car.
Cant wait for next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee on solent, hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

we arrived at the hotel at 9.30am and were able to check into our room, the staff were very helpful and polite.
we paid an extra £8 each for evening meal in the belvedere restaurant and were amazed at how good the food was, and so much choice, i dread to think how much weight we put on!
the room was comfortable and clean and nicely decorated.
the only downfall was the evening entertainment, on the thursday evening it was a local line dancing club, then friday evening was the resident band which were ok and then a dire country and western singer, we retreated to the sports bar. on the saturday night there was a private function so we had to go into st helier, which is just a short walk away. we thoroughly enjoyed jersey and will definately go again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

My friend and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Merton from the moment we arrived we were made welcome by the lovely staff. Having arrived early we were pleased to find our rooms ready, although the view from my room was disappointing the overall standard was more than I expected from a 3* hotel. Likewise the food which was plentiful and varied.
Free movies on the in house tv were a bonus and the evening entertainment was excellent.
We were lucky with the weather which was lovely all week and we enjoyed the pool and the Howard Davis Park next door. enjoyed it so much have already booked again for next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We have stayed here regularly between 2004 and 2008. It is a bit pricey but you can get offers like booking by a certain date gets a free evening meal. It is located next to Howard Davis Park which most people wander through on the way into St Helier. This park is beautiful - rose garden, large lawns, fish pools, fountains - you name it, it's there. The Merton is a large hotel with ample seating in the foyet and you can sit outside in the gardens if you can find a bench.

We like it mainly because the meals are buffet style so you can eat as much as you want. In the restaurant the smartly dressed staff sit you down and offer you soup and drinks. Then its up to you to help yourself. The choice of food is huge with a big selection of salad, bread, large fish of the day like salmon, plenty of fruit, pastries, large choice of main meals and the desserts are out of this world - so much choice. No drinks included however except fruit juice at breakfast and the usual tea/coffee after the meal.

You can easily eat plenty at breakfast to last you through the day. There are plenty of cereals, traditional English beakfasts and pastries. The staff will get you a boiled egg if you want it, or kippers. Mealtimes start at 6 for kids then half hourly slots from 6.30 to 8.30 for adults. At breakfast you get "The Merton Times" or whatever its called, giving ideas about what to visit in Jersey and the menu for that night.

There is a second restaurant called Bonettis which you look down on from the foyet, it pricey but if you're half board you get a certain amount off the meal. There is a coffee shop called Jersey Joes which sells american style snacks like hamburgers and milkshakes, which are huge. There is a bar in the foyet that does all the usual drinks plus coffees and cakes etc.

The Star Room is the entertainment place, the entertainment is very good quality - usually abba tribute bands, dancing, country and western nights and so on. The kids entertainment is top class and although we don't have kids we can see they are very well catered for in the kids club and pool complex.

The aquadome is legendary with it's water chutes and mushroom fountain. The adult pool is great for swimming lengths while the kids mess about in their area. There is a jacuzzi in the middle of the pool complex.

They have a resident blue badge guide, Pete webb, who does a good selection of walks at reasonable prices, he is a really nice chap.

The rooms are comfortable and we have never had any trouble or complaints with this hotel. It really is a gem. Staff are friendly and charming and mainly Nigerian or Polish.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Address: Belvedere Hill, Jersey, St.Saviour JE4 9PG
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Merton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Merton Hotel, for over 90 years, guests have been delighted and entertained by our high level of hospitality and unbeatable range of facilities. Whether you are travelling as a couple, family or group, you'll find everything to suit your needs conveniently situated under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel St Saviour
Merton Jersey
Merton Hotel Jersey, UK
Merton St Saviour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.