We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect hotel for a short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longueville Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Longueville Manor to your Saves list
Longueville Manor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longueville Road, St.Saviour JE2 7WF   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Perfect hotel for a short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Longueville Manor and would definitely return. The first impressions when arriving are welcoming, caring and offering a top level of service.
The concierge met us at our car and took care of the luggage escorting us to reception. The reception staff explained various facilities, dining options etc. then the concierge gave us a short tour of the grounds before taking us to our room.
We had opted for a standard "Classic" room. It was clean, well equipped and comfortable with 2 easy chairs. There was a welcome complimentary half bottle of champagne and during our stay bottled water was provided.
The room was at the front of the building and there was some traffic noise but certainly not to any great extent despite sleeping with the windows open.
We enjoyed 2 excellent dinners at the Hotel. £55 each for 3 courses plus wine and coffee. The quality was superb and the service impeccable. One night we dined at the hotel's sister restaurant - Sumas - in Gorey. Much lower price but very high standard of food and quality.
The breakfasts were really good, extensive buffet and served hot dishes. The kippers were excellent!
The hotel has a number of comfortable lounges and very well maintained gardens and swimming pool. Plenty of outside seating and tables although I guess that in the height of summer the pool area might be a little cramped. Just an observation!
We would recommend the hotel to anyone who likes some luxury, appreciates good service and doesn't object to paying the price for high quality food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    49
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
60
314
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We came here for the first of the 'Tennerfest' and had the most fantastic lunch. We were met from the car, in the pouring rain, with an umbrella and ushered into the lounge with a roaring fire, for an aperetif. Then into the dining room for a 3-course lunch, including a Stilton and Palma ham salad, roast belly pork, and cheese platter.
The service was so friendly and efficient, without being intrusive.
Would thoroughly recommend to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Excellant rooms and superb service, nothing is to much trouble. Grounds are great and restaurant is very good, food is bit rich if you eat there all the time. Definately reccomend it for a 4/5 night break.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I went for a long weekend with my partner. On arrival we were upgraded to the four poster suite which was absolutely fantastic. The room was had a massive bed, a sitting area with sofa and chairs and a large, flat screen TV. The bathroom was enormous with a double shower (body jet) and a huge roll top bath - oh and did I mention it also had a waterproof TV on the wall. Talk about opulent! There was also a dressing room with a make up table and walk in wardrobe. All very luxurious indeed. The building itself is also very picturesque with a small fountain and circular drive. At the rear is a heated swimming pool and small lake with woodlands. The staff are all very friendly and courteous and do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. We stayed for an evening meal one night, which at £55 a head for a Michelin star restaurant is fairly reasonable. The food was a joy, and as usual in these places was accompanied by lots of delightful little appetisers.
Now for the downside. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from St Helier town, which is a nice shopping area during the day. However, to get there you have to walk through quite a dilapidated area and the streets around the hotel are very run down and unpleasant. During the evening St Helier town becomes quite raucous, filled with Karaoke and loud bars with men spilling onto the streets and swearing. I suppose if you are familiar with St Helier, this would not be a surprise, but I was expecting it to be a little more sedate.
We were very lucky that we took our car and were able to visit prettier areas such as St Brelade Bay and Gorey bay, but if you fly to Jersey and stay here, make sure you have plenty of money for cab fare.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I spent five days at this hotel and it was very good indeed.: super food and perfect service: nothing is too much trouble including being allocated a new room to avoid the snoring guests in the room above! The breakfast is huge [everything from fresh fruit to Jambo Iberico, cheese, porridge, kippers .. you name it] and will set you up for the day: its excellent quality and served well [the coffee though is not quite up to the same standard: could do a bit better]. Excellent value three course lunch served at the pool. Quite a few families with children in August as you would expect but of the well behaved variety. The owners are very present and friendly which is a welcome touch. The kitchen gardens are also amazing if you are interested in plants and its good to know that everything is literally locally sourced. The hotel Itself is furnished in a very traditional style hotel: the rooms to my mind are a little overstuffed with needless tables and chairs and the double beds are standard sizes: this is not 5 star and combined with a lack of air con does make the summer nights quite hot!. All of that said I would definately recommend it to those of you who are smaller and with cooler blood than mine!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel is on the main road from St. Hellier to Gorey - the traffic noise is intrusive (and starts early) if you leave your windows open in the summer months. Plus, there is no air-con, so leaving windows open often allows cigarette smoke in from the outdoor tables below.

Service from all staff was first-rate.

We had a Superior room - everything was very well done, and the usual problems in other hotels did not exist here (tacky/old tiling and dirty grout in the bathrooms). I would go again, but get a quieter room at the back of the hotel.

Only two complaints - the shower had n o pressure, and the temperature could not be adjusted (even after asking staff to sort it out, it remained very hot for the whole 5 days - we could not get a cool shower, which we really needed after our sunburn!)

Plus, the bed was a tiny 4ft 6 inch "double" ! not really good enough for a 5-star hotel. Room for improvement.

However, there were plenty of proper hangers, an ironing board, a proper steam iron, hair dryer, etc (I'm told by by other half these are essential !) Mineral water was replaced daily, and the room was always immaculate.

But overall this was a hotel with excellent service and facilities. The dinner is very much "high end" cooking, which is good for some people, but can be used as an insulting phrase by others. I found the quality of the food superb, although there is a tendency to add the trendy "foam" to everything... Portions are small (French-style good quality restaurant template) but superb ingredients. Very expensive though. very good wine list, with a selection of new/old world bottles to suit all, and several by the half-bottle or glass.

Don't stay at the hotels on the seafront in St. Hellier - they are far too noisy, and many are not actually "on the seafront" - they are buried back in the town, or right on the 6-lane busy highway that runs along the sea front. Stay here at the Manor.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Spent 3 days at the hotel in July and had a wonderful time which started with an excellent welcome from all the staff followed by a very helpful short tour around the hotel facilities. The room was on the back and very quiet overlooking the gardens and pool. The room & en suite (De luxe) were large and well appointed and certainly 5*!
The whole hotel is well kept with staff always on hand. They were always most helpful and always knew the answers without referrel!
Restaurant service again impecable with excellent food with a varied choice. The restaurant is also well appointed. If you are having a meat option it is very good, but, a lot of meat and almost no veg!?
Only downsides? Althought the hotel & grounds are wonderful the location is perhaps not the most convenient on the Island. Staff sometimes a little too attentive!
None of the downsides detract from a great Hotel with first class service & food.
Would I recommend or return? Certainly. We will be back in the spring!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Longueville Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville Manor

Address: Longueville Road, St.Saviour JE2 7WF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Longueville Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longueville Manor is the Channel Island's most highly acclaimed hotel and restaurant. It is the only AA Five Red Star hotel and the sole member of the exclusive Relais & Chateaux luxury hotel collection. This delightfully refurbished Jersey manor house has 30 beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites. Together with the recent addition of The Cottage Garden, a luxurious boutique spa, the property is now recognised as one of Europe's most celebrated getaway destinations. Guests are offered the warmest of welcomes, a home from home atmosphere from arrival to departure together with superior yet understated service. With an impressive attention to detail, the hotel is a haven of luxury and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Longueville Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Manor St Saviour
Hotel Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor Jersey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longueville Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.