We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longueville Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Longueville Manor to your Saves list
Longueville Manor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longueville Road, St.Saviour JE2 7WF   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Longueville Manor for our Ruby Wedding in August. All I can say is this is a top class hotel with top class service and top class food. (We got a good deal through Premier Travel) Nothing was too much trouble. We would love to return.

Room Tip: This is a quiet location so no doubt all rooms are as good as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    52
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
350
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was my first time to Jersey, it turned out to be a most memorable experience for all the right reasons. From the outset all the staff, without exception were efficient and friendly. The atmosphere was welcoming and not at all stuffy. It was beautifully decorated throughout and elegent without being fussy or intimidating. The food was exceptional, we had the "Discovery" menu which consisted of 7 courses each accompanied by a specially selected wine to enhance each course. It was delicious, interesting and beautifully presented.

The accomodation that we had was the junior suite, was stunning with lovely views over the garden and pool. The 4 poster bed was so comfortable and extremely high! All around the room there were nice pictures and ornaments without being cluttered, just complimenting the rooms. Even the bathroom was beautiful.

This weekend was supposed to be a treat for me (for a big birthday!) and it ticked every box and more. What a wonderful place, I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
452 helpful votes 452 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our first trip to Jersey for many years, we stayed 4 nights at Longueville Manor and from even before our arrival we were impressed with the service; our "package" with this Relais & Chateau establishment included a Hire car and we were duly met at the Airport by the Avis rep as promised. On arrival at the Hotel we were well received and as R&C 5C members they kindly upgraded our room category. The suite we had was well serviced for the duration of our stay and had nice views over the pool and garden. The hotel and gardens were all well kept and comfortable.
In the Evening we were welcomed by the MD and shown to our table in the restaurant, an excellent table where the service was superb in every way. The food at both Dinner and Breakfast was to a very high standard, well presented and using high quality local ingredients; in fact we are somewhat surprised that the restaurant does not have a "Michelin Star" as it is certainly as good as many others which we visit that do ! There was a good choice of Menus and an excellent Wine List with knowledgeable, helpful Sommeliers who helped us to choose good wines at reasonable prices each evening.
Staff in the Hotel Bar , the Reception and indeed everywhere were also extremely helpful and efficient carrying out their duties in the most professional manor while remaining friendly and not "aloof".
An example of the exceptional standards of service was noticed when on one evening a Lady in the Dining Room had forgotten her reading glasses and was having difficulty reading the Menu. The head waiter brought over a flat wooden presentation box in which there were a large selection of reading glasses from which she could choose. This is surely "going the extra mile" !
In conclusion , this Hotel and Restaurant will "hold its own" with some of the top establishments in the world as far as Service and Customer Care are concerned, the Food is of a very good standard and deserves higher accolades than it currently has and the place is certainly well worth a visit by anyone looking for comfort and quality.

Room Tip: Room 14 is a nice, comfortable and spacious Suite overlooking Garden and pool. Avoid rooms on the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels in the British Isles.
Less than five minutes from the noise, traffic and rush of St Helier but once through the archway of this wonderful small hotel you are whisked to another world.

We were here for three nights but its so relaxing you feel as if you have been away from normal life for a fortnight - that alone makes it value for money.

On arrival your bags are collected and you are guided through to the airy reception desk and greeted all around by welcoming friendly faces. As you check in you can gaze out to the rear gardens, to the pool and the woodland beyond, you can feel everything take on a slower more relaxed pace right then.
The Longueville may have 5 stars and be "top end" but the one thing it is not is stuffy or over formal.

Whilst our bags were be taken to our room we were given a mini guided tour of the hotel and its facilities, the three dining areas, the well appointed lounges and the bar, we were shown where the gardens merged into the woodlands with its small pond and where the kitchen garden was located, we then returned to the bar for a drink before being shown to our room.

Our room was on the first floor looking out to the rear of the hotel over the pool and beyond. It was beautifully presented; a large bed, fireplace in the sitting area with a sofa and coffee table and to the side a second table for dining. The bathroom had a double sink and a bath with shower, spacious enough for a chair. Everything was decorated in calming yet warm natural colours contrasting the dark wood of the furniture. It was spotless. There is a TV and DVD player and along with hotel and Island information a small selection of books - including "36 Inspirational Chefs" which gives an insight to the taste sensations awaiting you in the dining room!

We were booked on B&B but found time to dine in on 4 occasions, sampling each of the available dining areas, including lunch by the pool.
Sunday lunch is not to be missed; we ate in the garden room with the sun streaming in the windows - wonderful. After a tasty morsel of butter-nut squash pakora as an appetiser we both chose seafood starters, an assiette of crab, gamba, smoked salmon and lobster and a dish of scallops with broad beans in lobster bisque, both deliciously fresh and tasty. These were followed by sea bass with fennel salad and belly pork. The pork was meltingly tender but the sea bass was the star of the show, crisp skin with moist perfectly cooked flesh complimented by the tangy salad. The best piece of fish I have had in a long time. The meal was completed by a selection from the cheese trolley, a description which does not do it justice, an antique oak carriage is my best attempt, laden with a fantastic selection of British and French cheeses which your server will willingly talk you through, I had a Fontenay and a Cornish Yarg amongst my selection and they were all fantastic. My wife had the baked Alaska with Jersey black butter, a perfectly sized portion to finish the meal. A cognac and a calvados accompanied our coffee and somewhere along the line an amuse bouche of mango and passionfruit sorbet had been and gone - all in all a great way to start our holiday.
During our stay we also ate from the casual dining menu which was served in the Bateman room to the front of the hotel, a clean sharp room which looks out to a lit sun room and patio, although less formal the standard and quality of the food and service does not drop, a butter-nut squash risotto and a Longueville burger were enjoyed here along with a bottle of the house Merlot.
With the weather being so good lunch on one day consisted of Caesar salad and house fries and a bottle of house sauvignon at a table under an awning by the pool, the freshness of the hotels own lettuce made this a very special dish, do try it. They also had a barbecue on offer but the sunshine just called out for our simple yet exquisite lunch.
On our final evening we dined in the Oak room from the a la carte menu. Excellent seafood starters of langoustine ravioli with a delicate lobster foam and a seafood platter which included oyster wrapped in salmon, were followed by lamb and beef dishes; the lamb had two perfectly pink cutlets and portions of slow braised shoulder which just melted in the mouth and the beef was served with an oxtail "parcel" which was full of big beef flavour. Desserts were a de-constructed black forest gateaux and a sort of ganache with encased in crisp chocolate with sesame ice cream. Once again every dish was perfectly cooked and presented.
A mention must be made of breakfast; a great buffet table is laid out with fresh pastries and breads, wonderful fruits including raspberries and blue berries, homemade yoghurt, smoked salmon, cheese, and two hams, one traditions and the other Iberico. This is followed by your choice of hot dish; full breakfast or porridge or smoked fish all table served with your coffee and toast - you can even start the day with a glass of champagne or a bucks fizz should you so desire! Both the poached eggs (with ham from the buffet) and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon were very good.

To counteract all this indulgence do get your walking shoes on and head up through the garden, take the upper path that leads through the woods and you end up in the rural country lanes from where you can explore some of the small hamlets in the lanes above St Helier - do take a map though.
Do go further afield, get in the car and head off round the coast; from Gorey in the east, the hidden bays of the north to the vast expanse of St Ouens on the west, Jersey has a lot to explore.
If there is a meeting on do try and fit in a visit to Jersey Races up at Les Landes, it is a really good fun day out, especially if you take up one of their day packages, we booked through Charlotte, the race club secretary and everything was laid on, even transport can be arranged. A visit to the War Tunnels is also recommended for a different perspective on the island and its time under occupation.
At the end of the day you can return to your sanctuary at the Longueville, take a dip in the heated pool or have a cocktail in the bar, either way the service will be first class and you'll be treated like a family member rather than a faceless guest. The service is attentive but not intrusive.

A special mention to Pedro who has a cheery smile and a word for everyone, he has instilled in his staff a dedication to making your break as perfect as it can be and nothing is too much trouble for anyone. Full marks to all.
Your expectations will be high but their standards and quality of service are higher still, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Every room we saw looked to be of an equally high standard but personal preference would be for a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We found this hotel by accident whilst looking through the internet and thought a short break away before my wife had a major operation would be just the tonic needed. How lovely the short flight to Jersey was compared to our usual long haul destinations. We hired a car and had no problem finding this delightful hotel. We were greeted efficiently and shown to our room - more a suite than a mere bedroom, which overlooked the lovely grounds at the rear of the property.

Because we were only staying for 3 nights we found it easiest to dine in the restaurant which did not disappoint with a fine selection of dishes and wines to tempt the palate. Breakfast was a meal in itself and we certainly did not need any lunch to keep us going until our excellent dinner.

The hotel was welcoming, relaxing and of an excellent standard with friendly yet efficient staff. We will certainly be returning for another short break in the near future and can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in the old part of the hotel overlooking the rear garden but all rooms looked exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Came to the hotel to meet a guest for breakfast. A buffet breakfast like never seen before with a wonderful waiter served full English if required. The food was delicious & all freshly prepared with a great choice too. Amazing venue with excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I spent three days here and didn't want to leave. The hotel is beautiful. I had read the reviews on trip advisor so I knew it was going to be good but it still exceeded our expectations. Our bedroom was huge and spotlessly clean. We had a small sitting area, ouside patio with chairs and table, complimentary bottles of Evian and fresh fruit and a huge comfy bed with crisp white bed linen.The en-suite had a corner bath and separate shower, lovely REN toiletries, fluffy robes, slippers, dimmed lighting and tea-lights for a romantic bath.

Breakfast each morning was of a very high quality with beautiful home-made yogurts, freshly cooked croissants and a scummy full-English with the best ever black pudding! In fact, all the food we ate at the hotel was just delicious - amazing crab sandwiches and scrumptious Jersey cream teas.

We spent a day sat around the hotel pool just admiring the grounds and enjoying the late August sunshine. Lovely loungers and fluffy white beach towels and waiter service looking after our every need.

We took our little white Maltese dog with us too. The waiter bought him a bowl of water on a silver tray to the pool. They couldn't do enough for him and made him very welcome too.

To sum up, we had a truly amazing stay at Longueville Manor. All the staff are amazing too and we can't wait to retun. We couldn't fault it in any way!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longueville Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longueville Manor

Address: Longueville Road, St.Saviour JE2 7WF
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Longueville Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longueville Manor is the Channel Island's most highly acclaimed hotel and restaurant. It is the only AA Five Red Star hotel and the sole member of the exclusive Relais & Chateaux luxury hotel collection. This delightfully refurbished Jersey manor house has 30 beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites. Together with the recent addition of The Cottage Garden, a luxurious boutique spa, the property is now recognised as one of Europe's most celebrated getaway destinations. Guests are offered the warmest of welcomes, a home from home atmosphere from arrival to departure together with superior yet understated service. With an impressive attention to detail, the hotel is a haven of luxury and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Longueville Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longueville Manor St Saviour
Hotel Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor Jersey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longueville Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.