We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel next to beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Normandie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Normandie to your Saves list
Hotel De Normandie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, St.Saviour JE2 7PD   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel next to beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Across the road from the beach and 5 mins from town, this place is a cheap option. The room was big with flat screen 20in TV. The bed was amazingly comfy. There is tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. The water pressure in the shower is not that good. Round the indoor pool was a bit dated and the pool was very cold, but the jacuzzi was ok. Changing rooms however I would avoid. They are filthy, dark and dingy. The breakfast waiter is unfriendly and abrupt. as is one of the receptionists with ginger hair. The hotel houses single builder type men throughout winter which is off putting if you have children.

Room Tip: Room 97 is big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    128
    79
    26
    21
See reviews for
74
114
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights over a weekend. Had a room for three but the first room just a double bed so we moved into a family room. The room we moved into had one towel and one cup for tea/coffee. We had to ask a few times to get more.

Although advertised there is no wifi in the rooms. The ironing room is a disgrace! Dirt and burn marks all over the ironing board and the irons were filthy.

Staff were friendly but this place feels like it has had it's day and is falling into disrepair.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St.Saviour hotels

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

nice location,lovely big clean room,nice cooked breakfast,swimming pool and hot tub,and £23.00 per night! beat that? impossible!
theres no wi-fi in rooms,only in downstairs looby area,but hey for the money i cant fault the place.ample carparking and the staff even take your keys incase your vehicle needs moving.even if it was double the price i would stay here again!

Room Tip: any! great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast england
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Feared the worst after booking this purely because it was the cheapest option (£28 per night) but need not have worried.

Nice big room, flatscreen TV, sea view, lovely cooked breakfast, friendly staff, I really couldn't have asked for more.

Didn't try the restaurant or the pool due to short business stay, so can't comment on those.

It's a little bit out of the main St Helier town centre, but the No18 bus is only £1.40 or so and takes you there in 5mins, or it's a 15-min walk.

Shop, pub and Thai takeaway right next to it if that's your thing, and would definitely stay here if offered the same price again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

As I arrived early, my room was not ready, but the lovely lady at reception upgraded my room from a single to double. The room was a reasonable size and very clean, as so was the bathroom.

Only 2 minor faults I can make - no WiFi in the rooms, and it was a long walk from my room to reception.

But I was very pleased with the service, cleanliness and friendliness.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a fantastic 21st birthday party here,in the Burgundy Room really lovely atmosphere, and we stayed overnight, this Hotel is amazing, staff where so helpful & friendly, couldn't do enough for us, would highly recommend here, thank you for making my birthday so memorable. I am afraid I can't comment on breakfast, as we both missed it, my boyfriend & I, due to being severly hungover.

Room Tip: Sea Room views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I visited Jersey with my family to see my Dad who is terminally ill , we stayed at this hotel as it was close to my Dads home . From the point i booked and explained the situation of my visit , i was amazed at the friendly and helpfulness i recieved . When ever I contacted them on the phone to ask a question or enquire about something it was answered quickly with a noting is to much trouble manner . When we arrived we were greeted and shown to our rooms , which were clean and very comfortable . the breakfast in the morning was superb and the service was always done with a smile ( which all the staff were like) . The swimming pool was great and my young daughter never really wanted to get out . We stayed for three nights and enjoyed our stay, on our last evening we had a meal in the Hotel and it was fantastic a large portion of excellentlly cooked food. As i said it was not a good reason to come to Jersey, but our stay at the Hotel De Normandie made it a lot easier and enjoyable . I will have to return to Jersey soon and I will be staying at the Hotel De Normandie again for certain . Thank you to all the staff .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel de Norman... J, Manager at Hotel De Normandie, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind words on departure and on this website. We are glad that we were able to contribute to your stay in being a memorable one.
Warm regards
Hotel de Normandie Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Normandie

Address: Havre Des Pas, St Helier, Jersey, St.Saviour JE2 7PD
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St.Saviour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St.Saviour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Normandie 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Value 3* Hotel in Jersey Channel Islands! We are a privately owned family run hotel right opposite the Sandy Beach of St Clements and the Havre des Pas sea pool. We are a short walk to the town centre of st Helier.The Hotel de Normandie offers an indoor heated Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi, a games room for the young at heart with table football and a ping-pong table and we have a sun terrace and an outdoor patio. We serve food nightly in the lounge bar and offer free WIFI. We have limited on-site FREE parking and a fantastic full English breakfast to get you ready for your day and all for a great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Normandie Hotel
De Normandie St Saviour
Hotel De Normandie Jersey, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Normandie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.