We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Jordan at the Beach

Mark Jordan at the Beach
La Plage, La Route de la Haule,, St. Peter JE3 7YD
+44 (0)1534 780180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in St. Peter
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Laid-back beachside dining with top quality produce cooked simply in a superb location on the south coast of Jersey. The only one Michelin Bib Gourmand restaurant in Channel Islands, top 10 Britain's Finest Restaurant with a View.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

You are looked after exceptionally. Make sure you get a table by the window as the views are amazing, food is excellent and good choice of wine

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    82
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow! What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

What can I say other than "wow!" Great food, great service and just an overall amazing experience. Lisa, Magda, Mark and the team made my family so welcome at a recent party we held there - it made my mums evening. The menu is not intimidating but the food is made to such a high standard and the presentation simply stunning. Recommend the duck terrine! Have also been in the summer and the view is lovely - such a good place to see jersey at its best. The ambience is upmarket yet relaxed, it has a nice "beachy" feel, unlike other restaurants owned by renowned chefs. The price of the meal is, I think, of good value, considering the quality of the produce and the time taken to present the food. I can't thank mark and his team enough for a wonderful evening!!!! Will be back as soon

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Has to be one of the best restaurants in Jersey, great location and lovely food. Really enjoyed the main courses of grilled plaice and lamb rump but the desserts were amazing deconstructed cheesecake and coconut creme brûlée. The Greek olives were the only disappointment very bland. Good reasonable priced wine list would definitely go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for a while as I ate here for my Birthday back in August. We were a group of 15 and the whole experience was fantastic

We had bravely booked a table outside and when we arrived it was a little cold. The staff made sure the heat lamps were all on and we were given blankets. Fortunately within about half an hour it had turned into a gorgeous hot sunny day so the blankets were no longer needed! The view across the bay to At Aubin was just gorgeous.

The service was fantastic, the menu was varied enough to cover everyone's tastes and the little nibbles that were provided between courses were a really nice touch.

Yes, it is pricey but no more than you would expect to pay anywhere else for this quality of service and food.

The only recommendation I would make is that they take further advantage of the fantastic local seafood available - on the day we went I think there was only one seafood dish on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently booked Sunday lunch . The service was ok , but the wait for the food far too long .
Also, the restaurant was very cold. But the ' best ' was yet to come : the food is not just poor , but actually so awful we did not eat it . To give you an example , I ordered pasta with mushroom sauce, it should have read pasta in mushroom soup , as the pasta was literally swimming in this seriously unappetising sauce. The starters had been similarly unappetising , so we decided to cut our losses and leave before even ordering the pudding , even though it was part of the Sunday menu and therefor we were going to pay for it regardless. On the way home we stopped at M&S and bought some ready meals as we were so hungry. I am genuinely smoked by this experience, I certainly never expected anything like this from what was supposed to be a restaurant of a certain standard.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Jordan at the Beach also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Aubin, Jersey
 

Been to Mark Jordan at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Jordan at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.