We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Jordan at the Beach

Mark Jordan at the Beach
La Plage, La Route de la Haule,, St. Peter JE3 7YD
+44 (0)1534 780180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in St. Peter
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Laid-back beachside dining with top quality produce cooked simply in a superb location on the south coast of Jersey. The only one Michelin Bib Gourmand restaurant in Channel Islands, top 10 Britain's Finest Restaurant with a View.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantasic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Meal was fantastic service was excellent, and the staff were very polite and never let your glass empty. would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    82
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice surroundings (but ask for a window table if you book in advance, especially if you're dining alone) and food was well cooked from a short menu. A little expensive compared to the local competition (scallop starter was over £12 for 3 scallops - more style than substance). Wine list disappointing unless you want a whole bottle. Wine by the glass mainly merlot. Only three wines available in half bottle - a chablis, a mongrel red (blend of three grape varieties) or a South African red at £28 for the half. Bottled beer available. Sherry selection disappointing.

Overall: interesting but not destined to become a favourite of mine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent fantastic best ever food service and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

What a superb place. From the minute we arrived we were looked after superbly. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. The ambience is so relaxing and inviting. The attention to detail is excellent. The food is the besy food that i have ever eaten. Well cooked well served totally superb. I wish mark and his staff all the success in the world. We will be back next year.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Visited Mark Jordan's at the end of August for my birthday lunch. The food, service and setting, overlooking St Aubin's Bay, are truly wonderful. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant and want to go back soon!

We even got to meet Mark Jordan himself. What a nice chap. He and his whole team are very talented and make this restaurant special.

Top marks!

Ps. Try the deconstructed cheesecake. Heavenly!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, Northamptonshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was wonderful! Beautifully decorated with a subtle beach theme. Front of house manager was lovely & very helpful in guiding us through the menu. The scotch egg & piccalilli was soo tasty, the egg cooked perfectly. The lamb was wonderful, juicy & rich & I really enjoyed the salted chocolate dessert. You must visit this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Jordan at the Beach also viewed

 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Aubin, Jersey
 

Been to Mark Jordan at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Jordan at the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.