We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant hotel that ticks all the boxes - staff, accomodation & food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhills Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Greenhills Country Hotel to your Saves list
Greenhills Country Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Peter's Valley, St. Peter JE3 7EL   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport. Isle of Wight. England
1 review
“A brilliant hotel that ticks all the boxes - staff, accomodation & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

My partner and I had a really comfortable and lovely stay at your delightful hotel and have already recommended it to family and friends. The staff were attentive and helpful at all times - the accomodation was excellent with great attention to detail - the meals were quality as was the service. Staying in such a brilliant hotel enhanced our holiday - Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    48
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
232
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

7 night stay on half board. Staff all extremely friendly and helpful. Comfortable room, no view but spent little time there.
Restaurant, excellent service, varied menu, own table for week, could not fault it.
Comfortable well appointed lounges, free wi-fi a useful facility.

Overall highly recommended, one of the best hotels we have stayed anywhere in UK and Europe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We greatly enjoyed our four night stay at Greenhills and found it to be an excellent base for exploring the island. The hotel is situated in a very peaceful location has a high level of traditional charm while being run very professionally. We stayed on a half-board basis and found the food to be of a consistently good standard. The staff were all courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I have been visiting the channel islands on business for over 30 years and have sampled many of the hundredsof hotels in the islands. I no longer bother "Looking around" The Greenhills ticks all the boxes, the staff are very efficient and more importantly genuinely pleased to welcome you and are obviously enjoying their work of supplying Consistent Quality & Service. Something that is becoming harder and harder to find

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfungstadt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We are Germans from Frankfurt/ Main, rd. 50 years old. I was with my wife and a golffriend at Greenhills hotel in Aug. 2010 for two weeks golfing. The hotel is very beautiful surrounded by a battle of flowers. The rooms are calm and beautiful old fashioned. We had splendid breakfasts and dinners served by an attentive and very kind staff. Best possible mark for Greenhills Hotel from our side !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Attracted to this hotel by all the positive comments on this site. As you read through them, belive them. The location in the middle of the island is great for a relaxing holiday and even in October it was pleasant to sit out in the well tended garden.

From the moment we arrived until the time of our departure every member of staff was cheerful, helpful and went out of thier way to provide a perfect service. We stayed in one of the suites, a lovely room and in October only attracting a small premium over the cost of a garden room. Yes the decor in the room was begining to show its age, as mentioned by other contributors here, but it was clean, comfortable and such a change from the more standard boxes offered by so many hotels.

Early reviewers are right, there really is no need to seek out the a la carte menu. We dined from the set menu for seven nights and even with a more limited choice we never had any difficulty in finding something we wanted. The quality and presentation of the food was excellent. The choice of wines was good and reasonably priced.

An earlier reviewer mentioned the noise in Room 9. Well we were next door and yes, we heard a faint hum from a fan that tended to start early in the morning but nothing that prevented us having a good nights sleep.

This hotel is now under new ownership, I hope that when deciding on the way forward, every effort if taken to retain the current staff and business model, it really works.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The hotel provided a wonderful setting to a fantastic short holiday. The food was great as were all the staff. The room was comfortable and clean with the only crtisism of being on the warm side. We had a room which opened onto the courtyard which was perfect for us, but there was very little air flow through the open window and due to the superb quality of the thick curtains, very little air got into the room at night. A car is a must, even though Jersey is a small island the hotel is a little off the beaten track, which suited us as it was away from the hustle and traffic of St. Helier, although it was only a 15 minute drive away. Sometimes we were unsure whether we could park at the end of the day when we returned from our adventures as the carpark was possibly not large enough for the popularity of the hotel and restaurant. The driveway could also benefit from a mirror on the opposite side of the road to allow for easier and safer exit. All in all and excellent holiday in Jersey and are keen to return to explore more. Definately recommend visiting the Durrell Wildlife Park, La Mare vineyard, Jersey War tunnels and Elizabeth Castle. Corbiere Lighthouse at sunset is a must.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenhills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Country Hotel

Address: St. Peter's Valley, St. Peter JE3 7EL
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenhills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Greenhills Country Hotel and Restaurant stands in the heart of Jersey's 'Green Lane' Parish of St Peter. Come and experience the unique atmosphere of a small country house hotel.Each of our bedrooms are traditionally styled, whilst having all the facilities expected of a 4 Star hotel, with a fine reputation for meeting, and surpassing, every guest's needs and expectations. Our aim is to offer a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere in which you can enjoy your stay with us. All bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower, hair dryer, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee tray, satellite LED TV's with foreign language channels, bathrobes, white duck down duvets, and The White Company toiletries. Full English breakfast is included in the room rates.The award winning AA Rosette Restaurant offers imaginative table d'hôte menus. The Chef selects only the finest quality ingredients including fresh Jersey produce.The resturant is known for attentive and personal service, whether for dinner, lunch, a 'lighter bite' or afternoon tea, served in beautiful tranquil surroundings: on the terrace, surrounded by the beautiful gardens, or in one of the lounges.You can be sure of a great welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Greenhills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenhills Country
Greenhills Country Hotel Jersey/St. Peter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhills Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.