We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in lovely surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhills Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Greenhills Country Hotel to your Saves list
Greenhills Country Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Peter's Valley, St. Peter JE3 7EL   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
**FREE DINNER OFFER**
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Northumberland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at Greenhills for three nights. The hotel is clean and comfortable. We had two rooms, a garden room and an upstairs room. Each was beautifully furnished with all the extras you would expect. The only slight criticism was that the rooms could have done with a small fan as it was extremely warm and airless. I know we experienced an exceptionally hot spell but I am sure other guests would have appreciated these too. The staff could not have done enough to make sure our stay was comfortable and always greeted guests with a friendly smile and welcome. We ate in the hotel on two of the three nights - absolutely delicious , as was the breakfast each day. Thanks to all of the staff for making our stay an enjoyable experience. Would recommend Greenhills for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    47
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
216
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Greenhills to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary, we had spent our honeymoon at the same hotel 40 years ago! Of course it had changed lots but it was a lovely setting and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, without exception. The food was superb and we had a wonderful week exploring Jersey again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Greenhills. This is an excellent hotel and one of the best we have ever stayed in. The food were very good. We had a garden room which was very clean and comfortable. The small garden and pool are a wonderful place to relax. However it just gets better - the greatest asset this hotel are its staff - everyone of them without exception made us feel very welcome, always had smiles on their faces, nothing too much trouble for them. The managers are superb are are clearly seen to be serving the guests - not hiding in the background as in some hotels. They all really seemed to enjoy ensuring our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A very fine and well managed hotel. The staff could not be more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The dining room was most attractive and the food absolutely superb.
We booked Bread and Breakfast accomodation for a week expecting to dine out on occasions but ended up 'eating in' every evening.

Well done to everyone concerned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey C.I.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Everything you would expect from a quality hotel comes gift-wrapped here. Joe and Carmelita manage this beautiful hotel superbly. We are frequent diners at the Greenhills and enjoy the overnight stays as well. My wife and I have just celebrated our Pearl Wedding and naturally celebrated the occasion here in the company of family and staff (friends). Thank you to all at the Greenhills - outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a great stay The staff were fantastic - going that extra distance to make every visitor feel welcome. It really does make a difference.

Food was great - with a number of locals eating in the restaurant which is always a good sign (but fills up the car park)

But lasting memory must be the staff and the service they provided

Room Tip: We took a room with a garden view - lots of character - wifi was a bit fragile, not a problem unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Although we had chosen this hotel from brochures & TripAdvisor reviews it was also recommended by friends who had stayed a couple of years ago. It certainly lives up to the accolades - glad we chose it !

Staff so very helpful, always on hand & friendly, ready for a brief conversation but entirely without any fuss.

Restaurant food as good as the AA Rosette should mean, & the lighter bites & sandwiches were also superb (taken in the lounge or garden).

Location quiet, & slightly off the main routes which suited us fine.

If I had to make negative comments (& I'm trying very hard !), then they would relate to issues really outside the hotel's control, but at least it might benefit other travellers:

- hotel pool: although the weather was against us using it, it is quite small, but probably more than adequate for cooling down on a hot day (& the surrounding terrace is pleasant to sit & relax)

- the bus stop for a direct (& most regular) service into St Helier is quite a walk from the hotel, & fairly steep on the return trip !

- sometimes the planes from the nearby airport were a bit noisy, depending on wind direction I suspect. Not overly intrusive though.

But don't let the above put you off - it didn't for us & we would certainly only stay at Greenhills on Jersey now we've discovered it !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenhills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Country Hotel

Address: St. Peter's Valley, St. Peter JE3 7EL
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenhills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Greenhills Country Hotel and Restaurant stands in the heart of Jersey's 'Green Lane' Parish of St Peter. Come and experience the unique atmosphere of a small country house hotel.Each of our bedrooms are traditionally styled, whilst having all the facilities expected of a 4 Star hotel, with a fine reputation for meeting, and surpassing, every guest's needs and expectations. Our aim is to offer a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere in which you can enjoy your stay with us. All bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower, hair dryer, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee tray, satellite LED TV's with foreign language channels, bathrobes, white duck down duvets, and The White Company toiletries. Full English breakfast is included in the room rates.The award winning AA Rosette Restaurant offers imaginative table d'hôte menus. The Chef selects only the finest quality ingredients including fresh Jersey produce.The resturant is known for attentive and personal service, whether for dinner, lunch, a 'lighter bite' or afternoon tea, served in beautiful tranquil surroundings: on the terrace, surrounded by the beautiful gardens, or in one of the lounges.You can be sure of a great welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greenhills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenhills Country
Greenhills Country Hotel Jersey/St. Peter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhills Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.