We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel which is a little bit too hot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhills Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Greenhills Country Hotel to your Saves list
Greenhills Country Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Peter's Valley, St. Peter JE3 7EL   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
**FREE DINNER OFFER**
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great hotel which is a little bit too hot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Really nice hotel! Beautiful gardens and building as you walk into the hotel from the car park. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms are very old fashioned (maybe not to everyone's taste) but are very comfortable and well equipped.

The best part of the hotel, by far, is the restaurant. There are plenty of options for breakfast and they are all delicious, as is the dinner served in the evenings. The service was always superb.

The only reason that I have not given this hotel 5 stars is due to a problem we had with our room. The bathroom had a heated towel rail that would not turn off (even after they sent a plumber to look at it). We stayed for a week and this problem was never resolved and most nights we were far too warm in bed, even though the weather was not that hot. I did manage to negotiate free room service because of this problem but, considering how expensive the rooms are in this hotel I would have expected better (as they were a rather reluctant to even except that the heat was causing us a problem). A real shame for such an otherwise perfect stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 20 if you don't like it too hot. Do try the restaurant and room service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    47
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
216
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridge of Weir
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our 6th visit to the Greenhills,yet again it lived up to our expectations in all areas.The warm welcome and the ambiance of the Hotel are 5 star.The hotel has the two ingrediants which make it so successful, Joe and Carmelita they are without doubt the best in the buisness,they also have an excellent staff,which combined make this Hotel so special.It goes without saying it is our intention to return for a 7th visit next year,with the proviso that Joe/Carmelita and the staff are still in place.

Room Tip: Room 29 or 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just arrived home from a FABULOUS stay at Greenhills Country Hotel. Wonderful attentive staff who do everything in their power to help and accomodate your needs.Courteous, polite and charming at all times.
Fantastic food. Everything cooked freshly to order,even breakfast!!
Beautiful garden, spotless rooms and a very warm welcome from Carmelleta.
You will truly have a very special stay at Greenhills.

Room Tip: Ask for garden room. They are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first visit to this highy reccomended hotel. On arrival first thing is that the external apperiance of the hotel is beautiful with hanging baskets and a multitude of flowers in pots around the public areas. At the reception we where welcombed by a receptionist with a genuinly sincere welcome and a very efficent check in procedure. Our room was well appointed with a nice view over the garden and pool. The hotel ambiance was very quiet at night but in the day aircraft from the airport can be heard but not unduly so and certainly did not disturb us. We decided to have one of the hotels cream teas, this was simply superb and probably teasly the best we have had anywhere on the Island. So much so we had to have a creram tea each day of our stay. Breakfast and dinner are again simply superb. The staff are so willing and friendly and nothing we asked for was to much trouble or even rufused. Even first thing in the morning the staff where very polite, helpful and friendly and helped make your holiday enjoyable.
I would reccomend taking the set evening dinner at the time of booking the meals are simply superb with a wide choice. We will be returning for a longer stay. If the hotel management read this my complements to both yourselves and your ever present staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the second stay for us at Greenhills. We had such a fabulous time when we last stayed in 2010 that we were slightly worried it couldn't live up to our memories. In fact, it surpassed them.

The gardens are lush with vibrantly coloured begonias and palms among pretty statuary; it's a tiny paradise. We stayed in one of the garden rooms overlooking the pool, and our daughter could just run in and out of the room to the patio. She had the time of her life, and she learned her first swimming in the pool.

The reason Greenhills in so unique, is that it manages to combine an exceptional dining experience in the restaurant, with a very comfortable hotel stay. The atmosphere is so genial that it's easy to make friends of the other guests.

The staff are all very charming, professional and friendly and cannot do enough for you. That sounds like a platitude, but it is true to an extent it is hard to believe until you experience it. They are a strong, efficient team who work together seamlessly.

The rooms are spotlessly clean. They are appointed in a country house style, as befits the former manor in which the hotel is situated. The only improvement I would make in the rooms, would be to replace the sketch prints with some still life oil paintings. I think this would lift the decor to another level. But this of course is a matter of personal taste.

There are copious supplies of good quality hot drinks and biscuits in the room. A bottle of mineral water could be a welcome addition to the hostess tray.

The bathrooms are fresh and clean and the White Company toiletries are a lovely little luxury.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is a very special place. We have stayed in a number of 5 star hotels around the world, and we have only ever found one other to match the service and welcome we received here.

We will, we hope, be back next year.

Room Tip: Garden rooms next to the pool are wonderful if you love swimming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Greenhills for several nights as part of a longer break on Jersey. It has a certain olde-worlde charm in terms of its courtyard layout and endless supply of vivid flora and fauna which entrance visitors upon arrival. This proves to be the perfect 'scene setter' for what is to follow. Our room was well appointed with tv and the usual refreshment facilities.The bed was comfortable and we had a fab view of the front of the hotel including the tiny play pool intended for children (no serious swim possible unfortunately). The bathroom was adequate with a decent shower but would benefit from an upgrade and the shower screen lacked a bottom trim and flooded the floor.
Whenever we mentioned Greenhills to jersey cab drivers we consistently got a positive response either in terms of their view being that we were fortunate to be staying in such a great hotel or that we might be eating a meal there or both. we found such comments reassuring. More to the point we found these remarks accurate with only minor exception. we enjoyed a good selection of breakfast fayre each day ( altho the use of vinegar to poach eggs was too intrusive) and after sampling one of the very worst fish and chip 'bar snacks' we have ever had (the fish was mass produced supermarket style at restaurant prices) and electing to have the formal set menu we then enjoyed fine three course meals.
We found all the staff helpful, polite and very attentive. Although located centrally on jersey the hotel is within easy reach of buses into St.Hellier. There is no doubt that we would visit Greenhills again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

As frequent visitors to Greenhills over many years we never cease to be amazed at how wonderful this hotel is. The staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble to ensure that your holiday is relaxing and enjoyable. Despite having arrived very late due to a three hour flight delay we were treated to the usual friendly, unhurried and relaxed service in the dining room whilst our luggage was taken to our suite, all part of the very attentive service! Having had another wonderful week, with excellent food and good weather we have already booked for next year and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenhills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Country Hotel

Address: St. Peter's Valley, St. Peter JE3 7EL
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenhills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Greenhills Country Hotel and Restaurant stands in the heart of Jersey's 'Green Lane' Parish of St Peter. Come and experience the unique atmosphere of a small country house hotel.Each of our bedrooms are traditionally styled, whilst having all the facilities expected of a 4 Star hotel, with a fine reputation for meeting, and surpassing, every guest's needs and expectations. Our aim is to offer a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere in which you can enjoy your stay with us. All bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower, hair dryer, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee tray, satellite LED TV's with foreign language channels, bathrobes, white duck down duvets, and The White Company toiletries. Full English breakfast is included in the room rates.The award winning AA Rosette Restaurant offers imaginative table d'hôte menus. The Chef selects only the finest quality ingredients including fresh Jersey produce.The resturant is known for attentive and personal service, whether for dinner, lunch, a 'lighter bite' or afternoon tea, served in beautiful tranquil surroundings: on the terrace, surrounded by the beautiful gardens, or in one of the lounges.You can be sure of a great welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greenhills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenhills Country
Greenhills Country Hotel Jersey/St. Peter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhills Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.