We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location just the place to stay to chill and re-energize!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhills Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Greenhills Country Hotel to your Saves list
Greenhills Country Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Peter's Valley, St. Peter JE3 7EL   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
**FREE DINNER OFFER**
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful location just the place to stay to chill and re-energize!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

This hotel was sold last year and having had many previous happy visits we wondered whether the standards would be upheld. Fortunately the new owners had the sense to retain the same excellent managers Ms Carmelita and Joe so the same smiling welcome remains! The first class efficient staff have also been retained keeping the backbone of the hotel intact. This is a genuine sweet place it is not pretentious or run of the mill. A genuine Jersey Gem!
To date the new management have not made too many mistakes, (not sure changing the wine list was an improvement). Old visitors like ourselves (and there are many) return year after year because of the way the hotel was run - good food, friendly eager staff and a warm familiarity we all love. We would not like too many changes for changes sake!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    47
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
216
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Very nice hotel that is well located, at the center of the island, in the beautiful country side.
Service was impeccable, nice and attentive to details.
Our room was great. TV is a bit old but the bed was just perfect! Nice bathroom too.
Beautiful garden.
I would definitely come back to this authentic hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I normally hate hotels, but in the case of Greenhills, I would be quite happy to live there!
All other recent comments are exactly right. For me the most outstanding thing was the nature of the staff. The management have been able to create exactly the right mix of professionalism, efficiency and friendliness. And it seems to apply to all staff there, my wife wanted to take the chef home! I wanted to move in permanently.

The first impression is the small but wonderfully tended garden. There is a heated swimming pool but it is quite small, really not much more than a splash pool, but that's ok. We had a room with groundfloor access direct to this area and one wouldn't want a huge hive of activity going on there.
The look and feel of the place is one of a cozy and intimate atmosphere. The welcome is friendly and laid back, but then one senses a quiet professionalism that pervades the place.
The food in the restaurant is very good, priced appropriately. The service excellent.
Breakfast is again very good and lots of it.
Nothing was too much trouble. Anything we ordered or asked for was delivered with a smile and again that quiet professionalism that seems to come easy to the staff and management.
On leaving I discussed future options for flying to Jersey from the UK and staying at Greenhills for long weekends. Very much looking forward to doing that.
If I have to make a complaint it would be the old cathode ray tube TV in the room, but I understand they are upgrading these to flat screens this year - so no complaints then!
Not sure if they have wi-fi access. I hope not, this is a place to relax and get away from all that. They do have an arrangement with a local health&fitness place which has a larger swimming pool if you need that. They can arrange car hire, free with the room in some circumstances apparently.
My thanks to Joe, Carmelita and all the staff at Greenhills. Simply superb.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Booked based on other Trip Advisor reviews and, if anything, they don't do Greenhills full justice.

The staff work as a team, if there is a peak in the restaurant then the manager and assistant manager lend a hand to ensure everything remains on time and high quality. It is everyone's teamwork that really sets this hotel apart - every waiter, waitress , receptionist is looking and checking whether something needs attending to and then does just what is needed.

The food throughout our stay was outstanding in quality - must be heading for awards. The restaurant is well frequented by Jersey locals which is always a good sign.

Room spacious and with good facilities. Setting very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire dales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Elegant, comfortable, high standards,excellent staff, quality food.
Still not enough to convey how good this hotel is
Perfect 5 night break.
HIghly recommend it.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Stayed with my young-ish family for 5 nights. Great location and ambience. Excellent food and service. Would recommend asking for the "Penthouse suite" if sharing with children. Other feedback on Trip Adviser say it all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Beautiful hotel in a superb country setting with excellent walks nearby. The careing, friendly and helpful staff together with superb cuisine combined to make our stay of 4 nights an absolute delight. We shall certainly visit again and the sooner the better.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenhills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhills Country Hotel

Address: St. Peter's Valley, St. Peter JE3 7EL
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Peter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in St. Peter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenhills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Greenhills Country Hotel and Restaurant stands in the heart of Jersey's 'Green Lane' Parish of St Peter. Come and experience the unique atmosphere of a small country house hotel.Each of our bedrooms are traditionally styled, whilst having all the facilities expected of a 4 Star hotel, with a fine reputation for meeting, and surpassing, every guest's needs and expectations. Our aim is to offer a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere in which you can enjoy your stay with us. All bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower, hair dryer, direct dial telephone, tea/coffee tray, satellite LED TV's with foreign language channels, bathrobes, white duck down duvets, and The White Company toiletries. Full English breakfast is included in the room rates.The award winning AA Rosette Restaurant offers imaginative table d'hôte menus. The Chef selects only the finest quality ingredients including fresh Jersey produce.The resturant is known for attentive and personal service, whether for dinner, lunch, a 'lighter bite' or afternoon tea, served in beautiful tranquil surroundings: on the terrace, surrounded by the beautiful gardens, or in one of the lounges.You can be sure of a great welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greenhills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenhills Country
Greenhills Country Hotel Jersey/St. Peter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhills Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.