We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LEAKING/MOULDY/COBWEBS&SPIDERS/HORRENDOUS NOISE/UNMAINTAINED...CLOSING DOWN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St Peter Country Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Peter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Peter Country Apartments
Save
You added St Peter Country Apartments to your Saves list
Mont Fallu, St. Peter JE3 7GZ   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LEAKING/MOULDY/COBWEBS&SPIDERS/HORRENDOUS NOISE/UNMAINTAINED...CLOSING DOWN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

All I can say is that I echo all the other bad reviews this place has received.

We booked through an agent at short notice so paid in full, then after booking we read the previous Trip Advisor reviews and were really worried. The travel agent, reassured us that things were fine there now, but on arrival and throughout our stay we found it to be everything we had feared and it spoiled our holiday.

We paid a lot of money and were so disappointed. Having spoken to Jersey Tourism, it turns out these apartments are soon to close down, and that this is likely to be why they don't bother spending money to maintain the accommodation.

If you are fortunate enough to read these reviews before booking, you would do well to heed the experiences of those who've stayed there.

Our bathroom was mouldy, damp and smelled awful, the wooden beams in the lounge had a lot of water damage from ongoing leaks which we suffered, there were cobwebs and spiders everywhere, the furniture was literally falling apart, the window handle was broken and didn't close or lock, the pillows dirty and stained and we had to suffer the noise of a foreign worker living next door & above, getting up for work 6am every morning waking us up and having his friends over shouting drunkenly for hours until 2am. The apartment smelled bad when we first opened the door too and the standard of cleaning generally was terrible.

The airplanes didn't disturb us unduly as others have found, but there were neglectful parents allowing their children to mess around loudly (screaming and trying to push each other in) at night unsupervised in the pitch black by the pool just outside the windows of our own sleeping children. This complex seemed to attract those sort of people unfortunately.

The management in reception were pleasant and helpful in attitude, but don't seem to get that reacting to problems is not the way to run a service. They should not allow the accommodation to be in that state in the first place and for the amount it cost to stay there it is shocking.

Jersey is nice, but these apartments tarnished our experience of it.

(I'm awaiting development of our photos, at the moment I only have one to show and if I can add the others once they're developed, I will.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    5
    4
    16
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

booked october break they cancelled it now they dont want to give me my deposit back
they wont even reply to e mails will never go there again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Just got back this morning. Had a great time. Found the apartment clean & tidy. Comfortable king size bed!! Loved the shower- hot water on tap. Had a washing machine in the apartment too, so came back with hardly any washing. Woo hoo!!

Sorry to say, guys, but couldn't find any evidence for your complaints at all. Certainly didn't see any poo! My husband looked at this web site before we travelled, he was horrified by some of the comments & was really worried. But we found them all unfounded.

Staff were very helpful & polite. Ok, so the bar is small, but this is not an all inclusive! We went out most evenings to eat, if that's not your thing there is a supermarket with in walkable distance. I cooked one evening & cooked breakfast one morning- no problem at all.

We used the apartment as a base & went round exploring Jersey. Also had some great fun in the pool, even in the rain :)

Recommend St Peter's Apartments. We had a lovely, relaxing holiday & would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

First the good news... Jersey is a great place for a holiday: beautiful beaches, good food, nice people.

Now the bad news...
We stayed at St Peter's Country Apartments on a short trip recently. Apartment was filthy and had not been cleaned since the previous tenants, thick layer of dust on furniture, dirty worn bed linen and missing basic items such as kettle. Bed was so disgusting we slept on a sheet on top. Hotel nothing like it was advertised on website as upmarket accommodation. We tried to leave and staff were evasive and rude. They were obviously very used to people trying to leave and had all their excuses ready. I feel this place is run purely to rip off tourists which is why they ask you to send a cheque. You will never get a refund if you try to leave this place even if you copy Jersey Trading Standards and Jersey Tourism. However, you must still inform Jersey Trading Standards and Jersey Tourism if you have a bad experience so hopefully they will take action. If this place is closing, that is very good news. Avoid at all costs. You have been warned!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Let's hope what goes around comes around for these dispicable people. Greedy, rude and uncaring. Do not give them your hard earned money as they are closing anyway. Please contact Jersey Tourism and Trading standards and not just complain on here, that way they can amend the amount of unhappy guests for whome a guaranteed miserable stay will follow. Liars!!!! I would not put the photo's on this site as it would offend those who may have already booked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We had a poolside apartment, and when we arrived I was very concerned about the cleanliness. Andrew showed us to the apartment and it was nice and clean with crisp white sheets and duvet covers and fluffy white towels which were changed over the middle weekend of our stay. It was short of utensils for cooking, but we had a ful compliments of cutlery and utensils. Just had to go and buy a pyrex oven dish as nothing to cook in the oven with.
Yes, there is noise from the planes but you soon get used to them. Our sleep was not disturbed. We did not use the gym and indoor spa due to young children. We mainly used the pool after going out for the day and never really found it crowded and always got a sun bed.
Staff were always helpful and when we needed a repair done to the stairs this was sorted in about 10 minutes.
We have no complaints about our apartment and other guests had stayed here before.
Andrew did all he could to ensure our stay was enjoyable.
We were also told that the bad reviews related to long term lets where they had kept the guests deposits due to the way the rooms had been left and some of the pictures were from a few years ago.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

SITUATION

The apartments were next to a busy road, and the flight path was straight outside the window, we were woken most mornings by early flights - not what you want on holiday!

APARTMENT

The apartment we were given was not the one that we had booked in the brochure, it was situated on top of the bar which was not ideal if you wanted to relax in the evening, you could hear every word, laugh and giggle until the last occupant left the bar.

It looked like some attempt had been made to smarten up the apartments, but the workmanship was shoddy, with loose wires taped to the underside of the kitchen units. The basic cleaning was ok, but we found mould in the fridge. The kitchens were not well equipped, there was'nt a toaster or kettle, bread knife and no real prep tools for cooking.

GYM/POOL

The leisure gym/sauna and jacuzzi were only available until 6.00pm, they closed at the time when you wanted to use them the most. The afternoon we did stay in to use the facilities the jauzzi had been emptied for cleaning (the receptionist said a family the night before had got them dirty - but the information leaflet to guests said they could not be used by children under 18 and only open till 6.00pm). On the information supplied, my daughter who is 17 was not able to use them as she was classed as a child, even though she works and drives (but not old enough to use the facilities.)

The pool was busy most afternoons with mums and toddlers, who did'nt seem to be staying at the apartments, they arrived in cars and left the same way. On the Thursday it was warm and there was not enough room to even sit around the pool. We had to sit on the grass.

OVERALL

We thought the apartment was expensive for what it offered and would not consider making a repeat visit. I wish I had read your other reviews before booking!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Peter Country Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Peter Country Apartments

Address: Mont Fallu, St. Peter JE3 7GZ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Peter
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in St. Peter
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
St Peter Country Apartments Hotel St. Peter
St Peter Country Apartments Jersey/St. Peter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Peter Country Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.