We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We highly recommend Chateau la Chaire absolutely delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau la Chaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau la Chaire to your Saves list
Chateau la Chaire
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rozel Bay, St. Martin JE3 6AJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St. Martin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We highly recommend Chateau la Chaire absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a brilliant week in August the second holiday in 9 months the staff were friendly and professional particularly Susan, nothing was too much trouble, and when we thought we were to late for tea one day Mark the manager said your never to late for tea! And it promptly arrived. The room we had was spacious and comfortable well furnished with balcony and scrupulously cleaned every day.
The food in the restaurant was mouthwatering and excellent with an excellent choice and fresh local produce you cannot fault this hotel in anyway and so to the next time. This hotel comes highly recommend by us

Room Tip: Bluebell Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    49
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
190
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice hotel, though took bookings for rooms they did not have free, beware. Astounding public rooms. wood panelling, sumptuous surroundings, great location. upstairs getting a bit tatty. There are a few signs of damp which are to be expected in a house around 200 years old. Ambience is a bit gentlemen's club rather than hotel.

Restaurant:
Waiting staff pour wine and water across the table and across you, shouting and arguments coming from the kitchen, unable to cater for dietary requirements even though they were warned. The Taste of Jersey half lobsters dont have claws, even though all of the tools are provided. Didnt see many people in the restaurant towards the end of the week. Says it all really. Other restaurants and pubs were doing a great trade.

In the end we were disappointed by the hotel, but loved Jersey. Sorry but I cant reconcile our experience with all the rave reviews.

Room Tip: if booking on their website, ring to confirm you are getting what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaChaire, General Manager at Chateau la Chaire, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. Our reviews are monitored closely in order for us to make any necessary adjustments to our business should we fail to meet guest expectations or as in this case to offer a full explanation of any difficulties.

I was concerned at your comment of selling rooms we don't have because this cannot happen due to IT systems in place. After investigation I understand from your booking details and email confirmation that you were booked to arrive on the previous day and you had made an error yourself by booking the wrong date. For the date you had reserved at our website we did have the room requested but on the date you arrived that room type was fully booked and so you were offered an alternative.

I think also that with rooms being fully booked this is testament to a busy hotel. Not all clients dine in the hotel since there are those that like to try different islands restaurants during their holiday. It does not mean that food and/or service is not to standard.

With regards to the lobster this is served within the 'Taste of Jersey' option, which is an 8 course A' la Carte tasting menu and as such we could not serve full portions of dishes since most of this would be simply wasted with being so much food. We would have been happy to serve more if required. Just have to ask.

Customer service is of paramount importance to our business as can be noted in in previous reviews. Should we fail to meet any expectations I would much prefer to resolve any issues at the time of the problem but if you would like to put any comments comments in writing I would be happy to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a brilliant long weekend at this Hotel, the staff were friendly and professional, nothing was too much trouble, the rooms are comfortable and scrupulously clean with added little touches like fresh milk in the fridge along with a good choice of tea and coffees including ground coffee and cafetiere.

The food in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice and fresh local products.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K'ford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This August my husband took me on a surprise trip to Jersey for some together time. He booked us into Chateau la Chaire. The hotel is a hidden gem which has plenty of old world charm whilst providing a very modern service. The staff tried to make sure that we had absolutely everything we could desire and we were waited on hand and foot. The menus for food and wine are very comprehensive (unless you are a vegetarian which is a much reduced choice) and the rooms are quiet, spacious and very comfortable. A Jersey cream tea was included every afternoon - and there were bottles of champagne on the breakfast buffet table in case we wanted to start the day in style! A wonderful week exploring Jersey and being pampered at the same time. We highly recommend Chateau la Chaire to couples, particularly - this is not really a hotel for children.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are much sunnier and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have used Hatton Hotels before over the last twenty years in the West Country and always been impressed with them. Had a special offer come through from them on the email and decided to give it a whirl for a whistlestop one nighter.
The hotel is absolutely stunning and in a really secluded location. Our particular room was a standard double but really nice for one night. Clean and well appointed - what more could you want?!
The food on offer here is what we expected - second to none!!!
Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We will definitely be staying here again in the future for a longer period next time.
Maybe next time the sun will shine as well!!!!

Room Tip: Enrole in the Hatton Hotels email scheme, it will get great last minute deals straight to your compu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel was so good last time that we decided to return just four months later, taking advantage of the 'all inclusive' deal. Once again we weren't disappointed. From the first greeting the staff were helpful and welcoming throughout. The service is warm, polished and professional at all times. Rooms were lovely (as we were 2 single travellers we had 'classic' rooms for single occupancy). All rooms are slightly different to maintain that individual feel of a splendid country house. The location is wonderful, in a peaceful green valley, just minutes walk from picturesque Rozel bay, no hussle and bustle here. Food was excellent in all respects, varied, imaginative, wonderful ingredients and all superbly cooked and presented - my only regret is not staying long enough to try eveything I fancied! The menus are updated nightly and the evening meal is remarkable. What more can I say, I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Take a look at the website before you book, each of the rooms are fully described with photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey channel island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

On the 11th August myself and my partner got married.The hotel is a lovely setting for any wedding.There was a total of 18 of us.it was the best day of our lives.Top marks to Susan for helping us organise the whole thing from start to finish.Our guests and our selfs really enjoyed the day from start to finish.The food was excellent and the staff worked well.we would strongly recommend this hotel.The grounds were lovely for photos and it has a very warm atmosphere.
Thank you so much
Pauline and Mark

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau la Chaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau la Chaire

Address: Rozel Bay, St. Martin JE3 6AJ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St. Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau la Chaire 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 1800’s as a gracious private home, nestled against the cliffs of the wonderful wooded valley of Rozel, the Chateau La Chaire Hotel is now recognised by the major guides as one of the finest small luxury hotels in the British Isles.The hotel offers a range of stylish accommodation, including a spectacular split level suite and many rooms with feature beds such as four posters, private balconies and ensuite spa bathrooms. Luxury Elemis toiletries and soft towelling robes are provided in all rooms together with a host of other extras you would only find in a first class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau la Chaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Chaire Hotel St. Martin
Chateau La Chaire St Helier
Chateau La Chaire St. Martin, Jersey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau la Chaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.