We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bass and Lobster

The Bass and Lobster
Gorey Coast Road, St. Martin JE3 6EU
01534 859590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 restaurants in St. Martin
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Formerly the Village Inn, changed hands, now run by Roger White
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

amazing how the old pub has been transformed into a great eating place. Large rooms, light and airy. Seats a bit hard. Great choice on menu. Sadly could not have set menu as there were not enough customers !!!.
My husband and I had the Italian meats with mozeralla cheese, sundried tomatoes. This was served on a wooden plate, which set it off nicely. Good choice of wines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    95
    39
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Fabulous food in a very pleasant restaurant. Although the restaurant was busy we were given excellent service and the food was cooked well and there was plenty of it. There are no sea views but the sea is just a short walk across the road.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant again recently and the food is still superb. I ate from the set menu which is excellent value. Although a set menu the food is amazing. I have never had a bad meal here. The staff are friendly and do not rush you.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moskva
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ugh, with so many places to choose from...find another!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The name conjours up visions of ples of steaming lobsters, huge cooked crabs and plateaux of seafood-hah! instead, I ate a very average pâté, overcooked fish and a cup of coffee all served to me by a disenchanted member of their staff (I can only surmise that the cook was not very happy either).

Great name for a 'nothing' restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have eaten in the Bass and Lobster many times. Unfortunately I have to say that was once good service and decent quality food has slipped to a level which makes me reluctant to go again. I ate from the 'value' menu and had a greasy pâté starter followed by a tiny portioned haddock dish - with a very small pot of over salted peas and over cooked spinach (or what I think was spinach as the taste had been boiled out of it). Our first two courses were served fairly quickly - but for some reason (after giving us the menu) they decided to leave us for over 20 minutes to chose our desserts - even though the restaurant was about half full. However the desserts were delicious. Hopefully they can return to the standard I used to enjoy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bass and Lobster also viewed

St. Martin, Jersey
Gorey, Jersey
 

Been to The Bass and Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bass and Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.