We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian restaurant that you MUST visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vecchia Milano

Vecchia Milano
37-38 The Parade, St. Helier JE2 3QQ
01534 734831
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 169 restaurants in St. Helier
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
North of England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian restaurant that you MUST visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We eat in this restaurant every time we visit Jersey, which is 4 times a year - we have a boat which we stay on in the Marina. The welcome is always warm and personal, and the service from ALL the staff is superb. Nothing is too much trouble. The window seats look out onto a pretty square, there is outside seating for nice days, and even if seated well inside, the ambience is pure italian.
The food is well cooked, promptly served, and always delicious. There is a vast menu to choose from to suit every taste and pocket, so anyone complaining on this site about prices obviously didn't bother to peruse all the menus!
The staff are knowlegable about the dishes, and you can mix and match from different menus if required. There is a huge choice of great wines too.
I would recommend this restaurant to anyone - it is one of the highlights of our holiday to eat here and we never get tired of praising it to everyone. Anyone posting negative reviews has no idea about great food and great value!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    107
    37
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More Vecchia than Milano!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We ate here on a recent trip to Jersey. It was more vecchia than Milano! Very unreconstructed but not in a good way. The vegetable were more tired than me and we had just walked 10 miles!
Banana split comprised whole banana, two blobs of cream (OK) and one blob of factory ice cream and a couple of spoons of tinned fruit salad. We asked before ordering and were told it was all "homemade" - well I suppose they did assemble it! When we asked the owner why he did not serve Jersey ice cream we were told it was too expensive. We ate off the fixed price menu which we felt was expensive for the quality of the food. The food bill was £36.50 for two ( not including drinks). We did speak to the owner who lamented that business was down, and he complained about having to accommodate diners at times when THEY wanted to eat. He missed the days when restaurants could tell the diner when to come......We would give this restaurant a miss on our next trip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, CI.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Molto Bella!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I love eating here. I'm local & come here regularly: the standard of service is always impeccable & the quality of the food is always excellent. If eating Italian food in Jersey, this is always my first choice. Have brought many visitors to the island here - all have been very impressed.

Definitely worth going - & do book a table to be sure of getting in, especially at weekends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely , friendly family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just returned from a few days in Jersey and ate here with my Mum every night. Great menu choices, superb value. A very warm welcome from all the staff, cannot fault it. Highly recommend to anyone

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly reasonably priced and located in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The set menu contains many choices of delicious food. The service is very good and the cost reasonable.A very popular restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vecchia Milano also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Vecchia Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vecchia Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.