We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Island Restaurant

Green Island Restaurant
Green Island, St. Helier JE2 6LS
1534 857787
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 174 Restaurants in St. Helier
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Really enjoyed our night here. Luckily we booked as the restaurant was very busy when we arrived, despite this the service & food were fantastic. We were never rushed which considering they could have used our table a few times over was great to see.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We chose Green Island for its superb food and friendly staff and We weren't disappointed.
We had a party of 27 and everybody commented how good the food was and efficient and warm the welcome and service was.
Many thanks to Alan and his team for a very special evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Perhaps Mollie (13/04/14) went to the wrong restaurant. The Green Island we went to was most welcoming, despite my slightly damp boat shoes and cargos. The menu was thoroughly explained and the house wine impeccable. The chef shows a lightness of touch with his sauces and was more than willing to explain the interesting bits. The whole experience was most enjoyable and I have no hesitation in recommending Green Island to everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dissapointed and insulted before we'd even sat down!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

On Wednesday 9th of April, myself and two friends headed down to Green Island Restaurant as we had heard the food was good and we wanted to grab some dinner and have a catch up.

We arrived at the restaurant around 6.50pm. As I entered the restaurant I was greeted extremely unpleasantly by a woman who looked at me in disgust as if I had just walked into her home un invited. I stopped in the doorway of the restaurant very confused and asked the question ‘Oh sorry are you open?’ to which she replied extremely hesitantly ‘umm yes but ermmm we don’t start serving for 10 minutes’. I said ‘Ok thats fine could we get a table for three?’, she then started to look around the room very blankly, the restaurant was completely empty apart from three men sat in the outside area having a drink. She hesitantly wandered the room for a minute or two then questioned if I had ‘even read the menu’, the look on this woman’s face was as if we were not good enough to eat there. We weren’t dressed up, we had just finished work and were in smart/casual dress. Once she eventually said ‘I suppose we could get you a table’ we felt so uncomfortable and didn’t want to awkwardly sit in a restaurant where we obviously weren’t welcome.

I politely told the woman not to worry about the table since she didn’t seem to want the business and we left.

My friends and I were so shocked at how rudely we were treated. It’s a shame for a business to judge a persons bank account by their looks, all customers should be treated equally, as you will find in life not all wealthy people wear Barbour jackets and drive a Range Rover.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Jersey s best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Whenever we come home to Jersey , one of first ports of call , green island Restaurant.
Alan is perfect host . And always has good helpers which he painlessly
Trains.and again what a view, shame it wasn't hot enough to sit outside.
Food excellent .
.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Island Restaurant also viewed

St. Helier, Jersey
 
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Green Island Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Island Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.