We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB HOLIDAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de l'Etau, St. Helier JE2 3WF (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
GreenLeadersSilver level
Camelford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SUPERB HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

On arrival at the hotel which is only two minutes drive from the ferry port we were greeted by a very efficient receptionist who booked us in very quickly. We were given our keys and then took one of three lifts to our room which was light and airy with excellent views over the marina and beyond to Elizabeth Castle situated on an island in the bay.
We found the waiting and bar staff to be very helpful in delivering food or drinks to the terrace, which was always bathed in sunshine.
A really good range of food was available in the restaurant of superb quality with very good service.
Breakfast is self service and you can fill your plate as high as you like with good English traditional breakfast or Continental.
We will be returning to stay here again in September and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends or family.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the marina with an excellent view of Elizabeth Castle set on an isla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi John,
Thanks for the review, we’re glad that you had a great stay and we’re looking forward to having you back for another great stay in September. See you on the terrace then hopefully for another few sunny days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    463
    126
    38
    30
See reviews for
230
657
41
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Apart from the evening bar staff, I can't think of a positive thing to write.

We arrived late morning and were told to wait until at least 3pm for check in (as they were 'very busy'). This was fine as we went for a drive. When we returned the rooms were ready, but definitely not to the usual Radison Blu standard. In fact - they were so basic, I was really shocked. My elderly in-laws had a dirty, totally unacceptable room and in fairness to the manager, they did get moved - but with no apology.

Breakfast was terrible (poor choice and quality; not restocked regularly - so lots of empty dishes where the food should have been). The staff were so unhelpful. We complained but nobody seemed very concerned (although, when we checked out we were told that if we ever went back, we would get a free upgrade). And, because it's essentially a tour group hotel, the queues to get a table were up to 30 mins long.

It's fairly central to St Helier - and has a nice, if windy, bar terrace over the harbour. But with hindsight, we should have stayed at one of the many lovely family / privately owned hotels - of which there are many on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view - as we just looked over a piece of empty land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear London69,

Thank you for your feedback, we’re sorry to hear that you didn’t fully enjoy your stay in the hotel. We do have a check-in time of 3pm and try to let guests into rooms before that if we have them available before that time however we have been full recently although ensure we meet the guaranteed check-in times for guests. Apologies that you found the room dirty, cleanliness is extremely important to us and rarely a complaint and we have looked into this.
We empower our staff to be able to understand and look after guest complaints and I’m sorry you didn’t feel that anyone took this seriously. The breakfast can be busy and we put out signs to advise guests of what times can be busiest, we hope you enjoyed the tea / coffee and pastries while you waited? We do have a high end tour series 6 weeks of the year and do our best to keep all guests happy whatever the nature of their stay.
I hope you might come back to try the hotel again and benefit from the upgraded sea views and hopefully on a day when it’s not so windy.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Radisson, but the reception staff were like robots!! No personalty at all and came over rather rude!! So much so that on our last day we had to request the Manager to formerly complain.
Our room over the bay was beautiful, I can only say the wardrobe space was far too small, but we did manage to request further hangers and hung bit around the door!!!
The cleaning staff were exceptional and possibly they should be given the job down in reception.
Staff in the restaurant were friendly but I feel they could do with training.
Great location for getting into town and bus routes.
Elizabeth Castle well worth a visit
Swimming pool was too small

Room Tip: Breakfast was always too cold. They need to think of another way of keeping food hot. Much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Maggiep,
Thanks for your comments, it’s disappointing that you felt some of the staff let the hotel down. We have regular training sessions and although we do have a few new members of staff for the busy summer season we want to make sure they are welcoming and looking after guests and will address this with the team managers. I’m glad the housekeeping team impressed. I’m pleased overall you had a good stay and I hope we might see you here again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Firstly, the hotel is situated on the Waterfront, which we found to be a perfect location. It is situated in the vicinity of a few restaurants and is also only about 10 minutes walk into the shopping area of St Helier.

As a treat, we booked a suite for 4 nights and sadly we were very disappointed with our stay. On arrival, the receptionist was professional but not at all friendly or welcoming, which really didn’t give us a good first impression. We had requested a suite on a higher floor away from service areas but we were told that the suite we got was the highest floor available except for one directly underneath us on the 1st floor.

Our first impression of our suite was very positive. We’d a lovely view onto the marina and towards Elizabeth Castle.

The next morning [and for the duration of our stay] is when our nightmare began. At 7am, a door banging closed continuously woke us up. We looked out through the “spy hole” in the door and discovered that we were directly across from the Service Area where housekeeping kept their carts etc. From 7am until 9.30am each morning [except on the Saturday when it didn’t start till 8am], the banging continued and switched between the banging of the carts being hit against the door frame, to the hoovers being dragged out and banged against the door, to the door being slammed shut both when the staff entered and exited! And it was added to then by the housekeeping staff talking loudly outside our door or on their phone!

We were looking forward to a nice rest as we’re up at 5.30am each morning for work, but not once did we get a lie-in due to the noise. And a late afternoon nap was also out of the question as the banging started up again when the staff were returning their carts only to start up again a bit later for the turn-down service.

Our first breakfast was a bit of a disaster as when we were being assigned a table, we weren’t advised about the buffet or being able to order other items etc. It was a case of “discover it yourself”. Breakfast overall was just ok.

We had two dinners in the restaurant; the first one was just ok. We chose from the set menu and our main course was a bit tasteless. The second night we chose from the a la carte and my main course [steak] was not cooked how I had requested it. I’d looked for “well done” but got it with blood still oozing out of it. I was then told by a waiter that it’s hard for the chef to get “well done steak right” and to “be nice to us”. Very disappointing and unprofessional!

We enjoyed the Waterfront Terrace for the first 2 days. On the 3rd day we went for lunch and were served by the same waitress as previous days who enquired if we were going to charge the bill to the room or pay by cash. We ordered our food, which was served by another waitress who also gave us our bill when we requested it and who we paid our bill to. On leaving the Terrace, the first waitress stopped taking an order from the table she was at and asked us loudly if her colleague had sorted out our bill with us. The occupants of the table all looked up at us and stared. We were very taken aback plus it was very embarrassing as it made us feel under suspicion for trying to leave without paying. We didn't go to the Bar or the Terrace again.

On checkout, we told the receptionist how disappointed we were regarding the noise etc, he told us that he too would be annoyed if it were him and he said that he was going to get the Housekeeping Manager to email me. He checked my email address to ensure it was the right one. It is now over a week since we've checked out and despite filling in immediately the feedback form that was emailed to me the day after we checked out, I have neither heard from the Housekeeping Manager or any other Manager in the Radisson Jersey. This is despite the Radisson supposedly having a 100% satisfaction guarantee!

Given the price we paid for the suite and the lack of sleep etc that we experienced, plus the unfriendliness of some of the staff and the lack of follow up as promised, this is sadly not a hotel that is value for money or one that we would return to or recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks break,family included our two elderly parents for whom the hotel could not do enough to ensure that had all their needs looked after The rooms are large,we did not even upgrade from the standard,clean and comfortable and we found them very quiet.The location is perfect, on the marina, 10 minute walk into town, minutes from a leisure center and cinema for the bad weather or children to enjoy, a short drive to the beaches ( we spent 4 sunny days on St Brelades beach) in the west and Gory harbor in the east. There is a nice bar and terrace at the hotel, a dinning room serving an excellent breakfast choice with views across the marina.Dinner is serviced in the same restaurant and we enjoyed one meal in the hotel, where the food was very good and served by attentive and friendly staff The only downside was the gym, small and lacking equipment, excuses to spend more time on the beach.We will be back!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: for extra special request sea view facing St Aubins bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Stewk
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, it sounds like you had a good break all round and managed to make the most of the hotel and the island. We’re looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rooms aren't great- mine is noisy all night with doors being slammed.

But what is truly awful part is how bad service is at breakfast. The staff are slow and inattentive, their command of English is atrocious and the actively avoid you: I tried to speak to one who walked away and tried to look busy by peering at a light fitting! Once I gave up he went back to aimlessly walking aroung with a jug of milk. In the 30 minutes I vainly waited to order coffee he didn't serve anyone else either, just 'looked busy'.

I'm booked in here for the next four weeks but there is no way I am going to let myself get annoyed lie this at the start of each day so I'll be finding somewhere else: I suggest you do as well.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Food and Drink Manager at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear CountBrass,
Thank you for your comments and sorry to hear you did not experience our Super Breakfast as being Super. If you are still with us in-house, feel free to contact me directly at any time during your stay to discuss further. Kind regards, Sven Food & Drink Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for almost a week and we had booked a suite. It was quite nice, a very large suite. Big bedroom, 2 bathrooms, 2 tv's, sitting room, etc. My wife said the bedroom must have been designed by a bald man who wasn't used to living with a woman. There were no drawers in the suite at all, nowhere to put things away. So you lived out of your suitcase. There was no dressing table for the woman to apply make-up or do her hair, just a desk. Amazingly, there was no mirror in front of the desk! The mirror was six feet away, diagonally behind the desk. It was not possible to dry your hair in front of a mirror because there were no plug sockets within 6 feet. Hence the observation about the room 'designer'. Bring your own extension lead or your own mirror!

Let's move to the bar area - Back to the Future! Although the hotel is only about five years old, the bar has been designed to be like a 1950's airport lounge - and it's not been done it well. Bright lighting, very low-backed settees set in lines and made of plastic, just like seats in cheap 1950's cars. It would be almost impossible to make the bar less welcoming, less warm and less clubby. Some of the chairs are so worn, you wouldn't even find them in a council run old people's home. Someone (possibly the 'designer' or the absent manager) has placed quite a number of 1950's style film lights around the floor of the bar area. These are black, about 18 inches high, quite big and strategically positioned to trip anyone who has stayed in the bar long enough to become a little tipsy or careless. The bar area is tiled, many of the tiles are cracked. Fire up the DeLorean Doc!

The swimming pool is less than four feet deep at its lowest point - more like a paddling pool. The restaurant can most kindly be described as well meaning but haphazard. Pleasant enough most of the time and nothing nasty happened. But I got the impression that if there is a manager at this hotel, he or she was on holiday and the staff just went through the motions. I don't think any of the staff had English as their first language. They were purely there for the job, not any career prospects.

So how does this slightly shambolic hotel end up getting my 4 star rating and not 2 or 3 stars? Because they serve breakfast until 10.30am during the week and until 11am at weekends. (So many hotels expect holidaymakers to be up, washed, dressed and breakfasting by 9am on their holiday)! The buffet breakfast is reasonably OK but should be a bit better for a 4 star hotel. The food would be OK in a 3 star hotel.

I know its very easy to criticize hotels. Despite very much liking St. Helier, Jersey and the Channel Islands, we won't rush back to this hotel. This Radisson Blu does not try hard enough to really warrant 4 stars. In reality 3.5 stars is probably about right and is slightly generous.

Room Tip: Don't pay for half board. The a la carte menu is cheaper and has more choice than the set menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERZR, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear FileUnderPopular,
I’m sorry you found the design of the room not to your requirements, we are aware of the challenges that some of the rooms don’t have sockets close to the mirrors and we are addressing this. In the interim we do have portable mirrors that can be put on the desks if required.
As the bar is a popular place to relax and enjoy the views the furniture does sometimes need spruce and we have a soft refurbishment of the bar area is planned where we will be reupholstering the furniture to make sure it always looks its best.
Apologies that overall there were a few things that stopped you enjoying the hotel as much as you could however I’m pleased you enjoyed the later breakfast and I hope other areas of your stay to warrant the overall rating.
I hope you will be back to enjoy the island at another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey

Address: Rue de l'Etau, St. Helier JE2 3WF (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Green Hotel in St. Helier
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#6 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#6 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish captivating views at this waterfront hotel in Jersey. Explore unspoilt beaches, magnificent cliffs and picturesque landscapes from this attractive Channel Islands locale. Located directly on the bustling waterfront promenade, this hotel offers Jersey visitors premium accommodation. Enjoy amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet as well as the convenience of an in-house health club. Savour a meal alfresco at the Waterfront Restaurant and Terrace, and take advantage of easy access to nearby attractions like Elizabeth Castle. To top it off, this venue's five fully equipped meeting rooms make it the perfect place for mixing business with pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey Hotel St. Helier
St Helier Radisson
Radisson St. Helier
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.