We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STAR - Very Clean, friendly and well positioned – a great holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fort d'Auvergne Hotel to your Saves list
Fort d'Auvergne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havre des Pas, St. Helier JE2 4UQ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
Great Yarmouth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5 STAR - Very Clean, friendly and well positioned – a great holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 1 week and were so impressed. We arrived at 10.30am and our room was ready! We didn’t expect been able to check in until after 2pm.The receptionist gave us a warm welcome and showed us to our room. Our room was spacious and very clean , we had a sea view and had nothing apart from a footpath between our window and the sea. The breakfasts and dinners were tasty and of good value. The staff in all departments attentive and so polite, we have never been to a hotel where the staff are so friendly. My wife has walking difficulties and is slower at walking than most people, however the staff were so patient and helpful towards her, the restaurant staff even helped us during the carvery. The management team were well presented and make the effort to speak to us during meal times. We felt most welcome in this hotel. We heard rumours that the hotel would be closing in the next few years! We hope these rumours are not true as we intend to go back to the hotel every year for a short break.
This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in, the staff, management and facilities are very clean and of a high standard. A great bus service outside the main door and only a 10min walk to the town! We are looking forward to going back to the hotel next year, 5 star and excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    99
    41
    14
    4
See reviews for
73
200
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed in the fort d'auvergne hotel for a weekend ,our first trip to jersey and really enjoyed it. Mr Phil Heron the manager looked after us really well advising us where to visit and booked us on a trip nothing was too much trouble the staff where all very friendly and polite we would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be going back again.

Room Tip: Balcony room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We have just returned back home from the fort d Auvergne hotel after spending one week there, we arrived with a small group of friends. Overall The hotel was fantastic. The food was excellent and well presented. The service was of a very good standard and the hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. Over all we were more than impressed, the hotel manager Mr. Heron he was a delight to meet and was always willing to help with any issues that we had. The hotel is only a short walk to the town and is located right on the seafront.

We are going to return to this hotel next year and will be staying there for two weeks. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it’s in a prime location, staff are a credit to Mr Heron and the hotel is a very very well run establishment. 10/10

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

very good hotel,staff really friendly and helpful,always polite and happy to help. Breakfast self service and very good,good bar and lounge facilities,rooms a little basic but very comfortable and very clean. We had a really good stay at the hotel,bus service outside the door runs every 20 mins into town and taxis very reasonable.Would reccomend hotel to anyone

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony great view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Arrived by coach/ferry from uk very late due to ferry delays . Staff greeted us all on arrival with a smile and late snack.Got room that we asked for sea view and balcany , view was as good as they come.All the staff were very friendly.Food was very good , service was a bit slow at first but inproved as the week moved on.Hotel could do with some tlc , most annoying was squeaky floor boards.Had a very good time and would come again but would book thru hotel and fligh.The manager and the reception staff were very helpfull and could not do enough to help.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view and balc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is a really nice hotel with really nice staff and really nice food. The hotel is well appointed. comfortable and spotlessly clean. The menu is varied and the food well presented. All the staff, without exception, are friendly and approachable. At dinner we had a bit of a long wait between courses on a couple of occasions but hey! we weren't in a rush to go anywhere! Our room was subject to some degree of traffic noise but we still managed to get our beauty sleep!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments in respect of our sea front Fort d'Auvergne Hotel. These are much appreciated.

Your comments in respect of our catering are welcome. Our unique restaurant is directly overlooking the beach and is fully air conditioned.

We will always seek to allocate quieter bedrooms if requested. The hotel has a large internal courtyard and only a limited number of bedrooms are near the road itself.

We trust that these comments are helpful to prospective guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Stayed at the Fort Dauvergne Hotel in October,nice hotel in great location right on the seafront. The staff were very friendly and helpfull, good choice of food for breakfast, buffet style full english and continental, you can eat as much or as little as you want. Evening meals also great value and good food, if you prefer to eat out there are 5 or 6 good restaurants within a few hundred yards of the hotel. There are many more great cafes and restaurants in the town a 10 min walk away. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return to the Fort again in April or May

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We have now re-opened for the 2011 season and have WiFi fitted within our main reception areas. This service is available free of charge to hotel residents. The Fort d'Auvergne is traditional in style with a fantastic location in a prime residential district, right on the sea front. Our free of charge indoor swimming facility is another key asset of the hotel. The waterfront restaurant is air-conditioned and offers a fresh menu each evening. The hotel does benefit from investment and improvements each year and we look forward to welcoming new guests and our valued customers once again in 2011.

Philip Heron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort d'Auvergne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort d'Auvergne Hotel

Address: Havre des Pas, St. Helier JE2 4UQ
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort d'Auvergne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort d'Auvergne Hotel is bordered by the sea and sandy beach on two sides and occupies what is one of the best maritime positions in Jersey's capital, St Helier.The hotel itself is traditional in style with modern amenities including its air conditioned seafront table d'hote restaurant and an outstanding luxury indoor pool complex with unrivalled views over the bay. There is only a pedestrian promenade separating the hotel and the sea shore.A public bus stop is directly outside the hotel. Whilst the Fort d'Auvergne Hotel has no on-site car park due to its unique maritime site, public car parks are available within a five minute walk of the hotel. Car hire is available from Sovereign Car Hire, across the road from the hotel - overnight parking for Sovereign hire cars may be available by separate arrangement with this operator directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fort d'Auvergne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort D'Auvergne Hotel Jersey/St. Helier
Hotel Fort d Auvergne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort d'Auvergne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.