We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Norfolk Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norfolk Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rouge Bouillon, St. Helier JE2 3ZB   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 hotels in St. Helier
Pershore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of September 2012 and had a great holiday. The whole hotel is immaculately clean; and the staff are helpful, friendly and professional. Breakfasts are good - including excellent scambled eggs, good quality bacon and fresh mushrooms. The beef served for Sunday Roast was superb - although the vegetables were disappointing and let the meal down. There is no doubt the hotel is dated, although in areas there have been modernisations, but it is fair to say that it is in no way shabby - everywhere is immaculately clean and in good condition. It is a three star hotel that offers good service, good facilities and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are grateful for your review.

The Norfolk Lodge is traditional but is a well maintained complex on a large St Helier site with excellent parking.

It is pleasing that you found the hotel to be good value as this is our aim along with being friendly, clean and professionally run.

We do use local suppliers for our catering and we are pleased that you generally enjoyed this aspect of your stay. Our vegetables are supplied by local farmers and are freshly delivered each day.

Thank you for your comments. These are appreciated by our team at the Norfolk Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    109
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
79
111
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

we stayed 4 nights here from 24th sept 2012,we were impressed with our room 50 after what some people had said regarding decor etc it was spotlessly clean and a large kingsize bed,all the staff were very friendly and always willing to help in any way, the only drawback was that the cleaners started hoovering about 8-830 and having to get up at 530 each workday i would have liked a little liein overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed a multi island break and this hotel performed the worst to expectations. The pool temp was very low on first day. The fumes from the oil hearing boiler could be smelt near the bedrooms. There was obviously some sort of problem with water system as the loft hatch was pulled back for the whole of our stay which meant you could hear running water at night. The bedrooms and much of the hotel decor was very 1980's and needed a drastic update. I am very confused to read the previous brilliant reviews! On a positive note the breakfasts good and staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay at our Norfolk Lodge Hotel, which is traditional in style.

I can confirm, however, that contrary to your comment there are no issues with our water system, which is professionally installed and maintained and is of modern construction. It is normal for water tanks to re-fill on an ongoing basis within a large hotel. Noise disturbance is subjective but we are sorry that this disturbed you in your particular bedroom, located in the roof area. No other similar comments have been received but we will review this matter to better insulate this particular bedroom against any such noise.

In respect of the hotel boiler system, again this is modern professionally installed high quality plant. We have not received any similar comments and our engineers checked and have reported that fumes are fully ducted away from any hotel accommodation or public areas.

Finally, we are delighted that you felt that our staff are friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the catering arrangements.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at the Norfolk Lodge for the 5th time now. A five minute walk to the sea front and a ten minute walk to the centre of St Helier. As always a warm welcome at the Norfolk Lodge. The staff are polite and friendly, the rooms are comfortable and kept clean. The food is always good and the staff are very attentive.

Room Tip: I asked for a bathroom with shower when I booked. We had room 97 which is actually a double bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bookham, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have a great holiday in St Helier Jersey in May 2012. The hotel is a short walk for the town where there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants, and the beach. The hotel was great, and surprised us with a bottle of champagne for my husband's birthday dinner. The staff were friendly and welcoming and accommodated us if we needed to have dinner early. We had a good tour guide who pointed us in the right direction. We hired a car and visited the Orchid Centre, and castles in the area. We walked a lot as well and visited many beautiful bays around the island. I highly recommend a holiday in Jersey as it has lots to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 5 days this September in this hotel. Many reviews were saying that it is far away. This is not true. It takes about 10 minutes by foot to the city centre. Breakfast was very good. Ranging from eggs and bacon to fruit and cheeses. Generally, if you are planning to use this hotel as a base, it is ideal. It is good just to come and spend the night while enjoying the island during the day. I would not recommend this hotel if you plan to spend a lot of time during the day there, because it is mainly senior people socializing during the day. Evening entertainment is also not bad. Mostly amateur comedians.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have been to this hotal a few times before and had a good welcome every time. They welcome us as always with a friendly smile and could'nt be more helpful. Room was ready and clean and tidy. Food was well done thanks to Shorne The head chief. Started to meet old friends in bar going for there evening meal. Car park better now with barriers. Entertainment was;t bad but could improve and be for all age groups. Hope to be back next year if pennys alow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view. Also if you want a double room ask for twim room to be zip and link beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Norfolk Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Lodge Hotel

Address: Rouge Bouillon, St. Helier JE2 3ZB
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St. Helier
#17 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Lodge Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 101 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Norfolk Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel St. Helier
Norfolk Lodge Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.