We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Hotel to your Saves list
Monterey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Saviour's Road, St. Helier JE2 7LA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This Hotel was lovely, although it is a 10- 15 mt walk from the main town, so not a problem if you dont mind walking. The staff were really nice and friendly, the service brilliant in the restaurant and in fact everywhere. Our bedroom was great and infact they up graded us because we went out of the busy season and they were not too busy, so very pleased with that. We would return as it was clean with good food, what more could you want! Although on a main road, we did not find it noisy at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Monterey Hotel. Your comments are appreciated.

We do feel that we are well placed for access to St. Helier and offer the added advantage of a large car park which is rare for any hotel in central St Helier. In addition, we do have both indoor and outdoor swimming pools along with free wifi for guests.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    145
    44
    6
    9
See reviews for
84
237
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North west England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks stay here,We were made very welcome, very pleasant, helpful professional staff, nice clean,warm room, food was excellent. We had read other reviews about traffic noise and although our room was not directly next to the road we found it very quiet, maybe it's noisier in peak season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Holiday date: 1 - 6th April 2013.

Hotel: Lovely location central to main shopping area, buses, taxis etc. Staff: Can't praise them enough, they are polite, friendly and helpful. Room: Comfortable & very clean, plenty of wardrobe & drawer space. Food: We had booked bed & breakfast only, this was either English or Continental & with both you had plenty of choice, served by excellent staff. We only ate once in the evening at the hotel but this was also good, and quick service.
You can tell this is a family run hotel because they have an eye for detail and nothing is too much trouble (day or night).
Although the weather this Easter was awful our break was still enjoyable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just come back from The Monterey Hotel. We had a fantastic time & the hotel is lovely. The rooms are very spacious & so clean. Food varied & very tasty. Our thanks go to all the staff, they made our stay so enjoyable, they make you feel welcome from when you step into the reception area & this followed on with all the staff throughout the hotel. It was my husband's 60th birthday & they were very obliging when l asked if they could get me a cake & not only that they went one more & gave us a bottle of Champagne on the house so thank you Phil & all the staff for an enjoyable evening.
The whole weekend was made enjoyable by the friendly manner of the staff, they were aways helpful, polite & nothing was too much trouble.
Based on this we will definetly be returning to The Monterey in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Monterey and that your special celebration went as you wished.

It is always wonderful when guests feel that they had a fantastic time at the hotel and may we thank you for staying with us. Your custom is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just returned from a short break to Jersey staying at The Monterey. Who could have foreseen the wintry weather that was to bring Jersey to a standstill !!! Even so, we could not have chosen a better place to be 'holed up' for a few days. The staff were delightful and helpful. Our room was large and very quiet (mind you, there wasn't very much about !!). We made full use of the pool, jacuzzi and steam room which we had all to ourselves. The food was excellent. There was a good choice at breakfast, certainly enough to fill you up for the day !! Although it was a quiet time of year and we didn't take our evening meal in the dining room, the very obliging barman/waiter made sure a table was set up for us each evening in the bar. Again there was a good choice, enough to have plenty of variety for 3 nights. We will definitely be returning to Jersey when the weather is better and will be choosing The Monterey again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJersey, Manager at Monterey Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The cold weather in March was so unusual for Jersey and it is great that you felt that you were so well looked after during such an event.

We are now looking forward to the summer season and have done much work in the quieter months at the Monterey, as mentioned in an earlier response, to ensure that our valued guests receive the best service and facilities.

Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife & myself have just finished a 5 day short break at the Monterey. We chose the hotel on the excellent reviews on TA, and weren't disappointed. We had a Really big room ( right on the top floor corner)- I heard about the road noise from previous reviews, but this was not a problem. Breakfasts were amazing with excellent staff always available. The hotel was 20 mins from the town centre, and once we mastered the road network in St Helier we had no problems!! Our only negative was the lack of tourist venues open, - most open at the end of March, but this is a good reason to return in the summer months. A very good hotel, with polite & courteous staff>>

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location -- ideal for all the family, short walk to town centre, bus stop opposite, on ring road for driving to other spots; ample Car Parking on site;
Rooms -- very comfy, clean and well furnished;
Indoor and Outdoor pools;
Breakfast --more than sufficient, but do ask the adorable Anna for more Coffee. As she replied with her wicked smile -- "Who do you think I am? Do I look like a Waitress?" Anna is probably the Monterey's most valuable asset!!
Pricing very reasonable for such all round quality

Room Tip: We slept on the front, but were not disturbed, so all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Hotel

Address: St. Saviour's Road, St. Helier JE2 7LA
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#10 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally located AA 3 star Monterey Hotel offers a high standard of comfort and service to both the leisure and business traveller. Full restaurant facilities with an all day menu available. On-site luxury indoor swimming pool facilities, including steam room, spa bath and mini gym are provided free of charge to our guests. A large outdoor swimming pool is also available for fine days. The hotel is directly on the island's bus route network and offers the convenience of excellent complimentary parking facilities. Graded 3 stars by the AA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Monterey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel St Helier
Monterey Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.