We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable return visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Yacht Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Yacht Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in St. Helier
York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Enjoyable return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

This was Mum and I's second visit to the Royal Yacht Hotel, and once again we throughly enjoyed our stay.
All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a Platinum room on the 4th floor overlooking the weighbridge. Great room and very comfortable. However, we too did notice the noise over the weekend. It's a tough choice - we love the room as we enjoy sitting on the balcony watching the world go by, but then at night, you get the noise going past the hotel. Maybe take some ear plugs if you're a light sleeper!
The only thing that really changed since my first review is Cafe Zephyr which I've reviewed separately.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    202
    48
    30
    15
See reviews for
75
525
27
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Usually we stay at the good old Pomme D'Or when we come to Jersey but decided, with friends, to try somewhere new and different - within 500 yards of the Pomme. The hotel is very stylish with a swanky new designer wing connected to the old hotel by a glass atrium. It is situated opposite the harbour in the heart of St Helier. All well and good......

We arrived late Saturday afternoon and already the town was buzzing. Check in was fine and the rooms very impressive - cool, clean and stylish. Our large balcony overlooked the Jersey Museum and a little courtyard full of tables. After a quick (and expensive) glass of champagne in the Posh Bar (love the name!) we went to Gorey Harbour for the upmarket Jersey equivalent of a fish supper.

Came back to the hotel at around 11pm and it seemed like a completely different place! The hotel and the whole harbour front were absolutely heaving with hen parties, stag parties and various inebriated "young people" We had difficulty getting a table in the outside part of the Posh Bar but managed it with some shoving. We then spent an hour or so watching the antics in front of us.

It was all made more amusing by the inability of girls in very high heels to walk successfully on the cobbles outside the hotel. The police also seemed very busy during the course of our drinks.

I was less amused when we returned to our room and had to endure loud thumpy music until 2am. This was with the balcony doors firmly shut.

I am not an old fogey, I was young not so long ago but to be honest, I was disappointed that St Helier seemed to have gone down hill and down market in that respect.

Sunday was much quieter with no noise and no stags and hens. We had a lovely dinner in the Scirroco Restaurant that evening as it was raining.

Overall the hotel is great - stylish and good value. The spa is excellent and the breakfasts are tasty and well presented. The staff are very helpful in every respect.

I would definitely return but only to a room that was a little less noisy or not on a Friday/Saturday night

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndonFarnham, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Royal Yacht. We were particularly pleased to receive your very positive comments in relation to the hotel itself but disappointed to learn that you found the area a little too noisy. We are situated in the heart of St Helier in a vibrant part of the town and ourselves have a wide range of bars and restaurants within the hotel which are very popular with locals and residents alike - this makes us also a lively and exciting venue. The hotel itself is acoustically designed and fully double glazed to minimize noise from outside and inside the building. Although we do recognise that it is almost impossible to eliminate all noise we do our very best to minimise sound levels, especially at weekends. We take on board your comments and will continue to do our very best to ensure our guests enjoyment and comfort is not compromised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just been on my second visit to this hotel,and unfortunately it will be my last.
I booked the Stargazer Penthouse and two silver rooms for other people in my party.

The Penthouse as a Jacuzzi on the balcony and myself and two friends decided to use it one evening before our Meal. How i wish we had not bothered on entering the water i put my foot on something jagged which turned out to be one of many beer bottle tops, this was then followed by food particles floating on the top (pieces of Prawn and Chicken) which to say the least was absolutely disgusting.

Needless to say we made a swift exit and reported it to Reception.

The Duty Manager (Michelle was very apologetic and unable to say how it could of happened,well simple really no cleaning of the JACUZZI had been carried out prior to our arrival.

We were given a free evening meal by way of a apolgy, but our break at the Hotel had already been totally spoilt,and to add insult to injury on checking out we were given a bill for Beverages that we had never ordered, for a 4 star rated hotel it fell well short on this visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndonFarnham, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for your review. Obviously we are always disappointed when our guests experience of The Royal Yacht do not live up to expectations - especially when it is due to an oversight by ourselves. The state of our Jacuzzi was totally unacceptable for which we apologise sincerely. We did offer to immediately rectify the situation which was declined due to the timescale required to empty, thoroughly clean and refill (approx 2 hours). However, this incident has highlighted a gap in our procedures on that particular day and we have re doubled our efforts to ensure it does not occur again. Our Jacuzzis are very well maintained and great care is taken to ensure absolute hygiene and cleanliness at all times. Once again we apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope it will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just returned from a fantastic week in jersey staying at The Royal Yacht Hotel and loved every minute of it.... The hotel is very modern, clean and friendly. The staff are very welcoming, and were very helpful throughout our stay.

We stayed in the platinum room which was extremely nice, the towles were changed twice a day. We would highly recommend the lazyjack bar located within the hotel a nice quiet place to relax and unwind, food was brilliant as well, breakfast was fantastic too there was so much varitey thoughout.

Before we stayed at this hotel we read previous reviews on this site and was concerned about the noise levels that people had complained about but we had found this to be rubbish as we had no problems what so ever.

The location was spot on for getting around the island very close to the bus station and town centre two minute's walk for both, Down side to this hotel is there is no car parking because of location, but this for us wasn't an issue as we used other forms of transport i.e buses and walking.

Loved the spa treatments, swimming pool perfect to relax!!! Service was brilliant all the time. I would most definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just returned from 4 nights at the Royal Yacht and was thoroughly impressed. On arrival the staff were extremely helpful and this continued throughout our stay there. We stayed in a "gold standard" which was of a good size. The room was clean and included a bath and shower. An LCD TV was also inside the room. The spa in the basement of the hotel was also superb. Before each day we went down to the pool and used the sauna and steam room. The pool could be a little bigger but is sufficient. On one evening we visited the Sirocco restaurant and I have to say the food was superb and is thoroughly recommended. We stayed during the week so did not experience the noise at the weekend that previous reviews have mentioned. If this is something that you are concerned about then consider asking for a room at the back of the hotel. The only negative point that I have to raise is in relation to the lack of parking. Although the walk to the nearby car park was ok for us, I could see this being a problem for elderly or less mobile guests. It's also a bit of a pain having to walk up to the car to put more tickets on the vehicle but limited trips can be avoided if you work out the time you need correctly. However, I shall not end on a negative as I believe that this does not do the hotel justice. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and if it's a top hotel in a central location that you are looking for, then I doubt that you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We had a wonderful holiday in jersey and this hotel was the making of it. We had a beautiful room with a balcony and furniture for sitting outside. The room was immaculately clean with lovely products and in-room facilities. The staff were really friendly and helpful, recommending local restaurants and places to visit. The service in the hotel restaurant was occasionally a little disorganised especially for diners on the outside balcony at mealtimes but couldn't fault them about anything else.
The spa was one of the best i have been to - especially the relaxation lounge with thermal beds to lie on - total bliss! The beautician that gave me my manicure was excellent and didn't try to do the hard sell of products either.
This is one of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in and i would highly recommend it. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Royal Yacht Hotel. We could not fault our stay. We stayed in a 'gold twin room' as there were no doubles available when we booked (we booked quite late). The room was excellent with plenty of space. The staff at the hotel were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them, the doorman we must add was very helpful. The hotel is within easy access of the town centre for the shops. We hired a car for a day and drove around the island (didnt take too long!!) If you are out and about take a trip to the 'Breakwater cafe' the food is amazing for a cafe!!! I would thoroughly recommend the Royal Yacht Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#3 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#5 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Yacht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.