We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hanky Panky experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Yacht Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Yacht Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A Hanky Panky experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

We stayed at the Royal Yacht to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We booked one of the Hotel packages "A Hanky Panky Weekend" and stayed for an extra night. We managed to get a Platinum room on the third floor and the room was everything we expected and more. It was very spacious, well laid out, had its own balcony complete with Xmas tree! Bed was very comfortable and bathroom extremely nice.
We ate in the Cafe Zephyr restaurant on the first night and the food was excellent, service very friendly and efficient. Small problem with Zephyr is that it is popular with the locals (It must be good then) who use it as a bar, this meant it was a bit noisey for a romantic meal. Second night we ate in the Scirroco on the first floor and the food was just out of this world. If you ever go here, you must have the Assorted Desserts to share. Once again all the staff were excellent and only added to the feeling that we were in "Somewhere special". It was windy and wet the whole weekend, but nothing was going to stop our enjoyment of this great Hotel on a lovely Island. We will return in a lot less than 25 years!!

  • Liked — Space and layout, food and whole experience
  • Disliked — No remote for TV in bath!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    220
    50
    34
    15
See reviews for
78
552
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

We stayed in a double room in the older wing of the hotel which, for a place we had heard good things about, was a terrible disappointment. The room was too small for the double bed with the result that suitcases could only be emptied on the bed and you could not move round the room without bumping into furniture or each other. It really should have been set up as a single room.

The other problem was the mattress. It was either very cheap or very old. Every time one of us moved the other was woken up.

I did ask to speak to a manager about this, none was available, and I heard nothing further from the hotel.

We would definitely look to stay in a different hotel on our next trip to Jersey.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Room was uncomfortably small.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyndonFarnham, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2008
Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to learn that you felt that your room was too small. We have 108 rooms and 2 suites at the Royal Yacht of varying shapes and sizes, all of which we feel are of generous proportion. Obviously the Gold, Gold de Luxe and Platinum rooms are larger than the silver rooms similair to one you stayed in. The comfort of our guests is paramount to our company and the hotel managment would have been pleased to re locate you to another room given the opportunity. All of our rooms are furnished to the same high standard and the beds and matresses are new and made to the finest specification possible. The same type of furniture is used in every room to ensure continuity and comfort. We are all sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Stayed over 3 nights. Very comfortable, food superb including the breakfasts. Staff very helpful and nothing too much trouble.

Room very nicely layed out aou and more than big enough.

Downside is even though we were on the fourth floor the drunks outside queing at the taxi rank kept us awake for several hours.

Other downside (though it was not a problem) to us was the pay per view movies which were not working because of a technical hitch over the 3 days we stayed.

Overall really enjoyed the stay and it is excellently placed to stroll into St Helier, or across to the pool/cineworld.

Would stay again.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

We had a 3 night weekend stay at the Royal Yacht Hotel, booking through the website and taking advantage of their weekend special rates (£159 for a platinum double).

The hotel is in a great location, overlooking the harbour area and the front-facing rooms and balconies make the most of it. We stayed over the weekend so the area was pretty lively till late, but the room was reasonably soundproofed.

The room was very stylish and comfortable, and the bathroom attractive and well equipped - with the TV above the bath a nice touch. The only problems we had were a warm fridge ( we managed to get an ice bucket eventually after a bit of a palaver) and the very slow TV controls mentioned in other reviews. Oh, and the wifi only worked when sitting out in the corridor.

We used the spa area each day. The although small, the choice of inclusive "activities" available were impressive - I counted at least 9. The gown and slippers in each locker were a nice touch too.

Breakfasts were good, with as much choice as we could have expected . We also ate at the Zephyr cafe - the comfort food (burgers etc) was pricy but portions so large you could happily share, and the Sirocco restaurant - overpriced in our opinion, with meals appearing to be cooked in a central kitchen and sent upstairs. At £25 for 2 slices of veal and some mushrooms, no vegetables you couldn't help thinking about the cost rather than enjoying the quality.

We found the staff all very helpful, particularly the concierge who spent some time going through some trip ideas with us.

  • Liked — The spa
  • Disliked — Drunks queuing for taxis outside at 2am
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Myself, my wife and a couple of friends stayed in the Royal Yacht recently while visiting friends in Jersey.

The hotel has been recently refurbished and its obvious that no expense has been spared. The rooms were very well appointed and turned out and immaculately clean.

The hotel has its own Spa and swimming pool but the treatments are on the pricey side. However the pool and steam rooms etc are excellent.

The hotel has a number of restaurants, cafes and bars and a nightclub (be warned this is very busy at the weekend so be prepared for some noise if you are on the lower floors!)

My only complaint is that my wife and I were put into what was obviously only a single room despite having paid for a double (the other couples room was fine). However as we only stayed two nights I didn't complain but this is the reason I won't be giving the hotel a "5" rating.

Overall i would have no hesitation in recommending the Royal Yacht.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Paid for double room but was clearly assigned a single
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Following my overnight stay in the Stargazer suite I felt compelled to write about the exceptionally high standard of service I encountered. The room was beautiful: spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated. The additional fittings such as the hot tub with it's sweeping views of the Jersey marina made this a truely five star experience.

The hotel also has a very luxurious spa which boasted a lovely pool, sauna and steam room as well as a wide range of reasonably priced beauty treatments.

The staff in spa sirene and through out the hotel were always polite and helpful making this an overall fabulous hotel stay. I would recommend the RY to anyone looking to sample a high end hotel offering great service, beautiful rooms and access to a range of lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Spent a long weekend here for my Husbands 60th Birthday, it was fabulous! We used the Grill and Cafe Zephyr (were we ate a lovely tennerfest 3 course meal for £15) and the food was delicious in both places. The Spa complex was really special and we used it four times during our stay. All the staff we spoke to were very helpful, pleasant and courteous and any requests were dealt with immediately - we asked housekeeping for dry bathrobes after we had used ours in the spa and they arrived within 3 minutes! Breakfast was plentiful with lovely fresh fruit on offer as well as the usual fayre. All in all a perfect stay and a real treat for both of us!

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Lack of Car Park
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Yacht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.