We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Yacht Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Yacht Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Yacht Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in St. Helier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
guernsey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked last minute on a bit of a whim, so pleased we decided to stay here, the hotel is kept to a very high standard , exceptionally clean, all the staff we came across were very helpful & friendly , it has 3 different restaurants to chose from , Sorroco the posher one, The grill room for amazing cooked to perfection steaks, & The zephira we didn't eat here but it did all look scrumptious, you could also just have drinks in here, there was also another bar which was very popular, its in a central part of town, but because of the horrendous weather we didn't want to be traipsing around every where, so it had every thing we needed & more, we stayed in a gold deluxe which has a balcony(not that we needed it because of the weather , but lovelly in the summer over looking the museum (not the sea front) but still nice enough. Breakfast very nice & plenty of choice. There was a valentines ball going on , so extra people staying over night, we weren't disturbed by noise at all, they also did a turn down service , closed the curtains & leave a chocolate on the pillow very nice touch. the only issue I had was getting the temperature right in the shower , which resulted in me flooding the bathroom twice & having to use all the beautiful fluffy towels to mop up, but by the time we left id managed to suss it out. overall an absolutely fantastic hotel, would highly recommend & will be staying there from now on. Oh & the champagne we had with sunday lunch was worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    222
    50
    34
    15
See reviews for
78
554
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked a one night stay through Travelzoo plus an extra two nights direct with the hotel. Both represented excellent value for money ! We asked for a quiet room on a high floor & were given room 418 on the fourth floor overlooking other rooms. The room was quiet & spacious & had all the facilities you would expect. Nice large modern bathroom with good size shower, although I did have trouble getting the temperature just right, so used the spa facilities to shower on our final night !
We ate in the Sirocco restaurant on our first evening as part of the deal. There were only two other tables taken while we were there - both single business people - so service wasn't a problem. The waiter was very friendly although spoke very quietly & coupled with a strong foreign accent, not easy to hear or understand.
The menu was ok - although predominantly fish based on the table-de-hote set menu. The food was nice but as mentioned previously on reviews, the plates were cold - a cardinal sin for any chef worth their salt.
Dessert was excellent & an added bonus was the chocolate selection afterwards.
Breakfast was very nice with lots of choices & a self-service hot breakfast, although the chef was available to cook omelettes etc on demand. Our preference is to order a cooked breakfast rather than get it from pre-cooked hot plates but it was ok.
My husband used spa facilities which were very good & all the hotel staff were very friendly & helpful, although none of them were locals which was a shame.
All in all, the hotel was in an excellent location - close to the shopping area, bus station & harbour. If arriving by plane, catch the number 15 bus just outside the terminal building & get off at the bus station - Liberation Station & the hotel's literally a 2/3 minute walk. Only £1.80 - much cheaper than a taxi.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed for the quiet night in deal... £99 for double room, 3 course meal at Sirocco, full breakfast and use of the spa. The meal was fantastic and we had excellent service. Well worth a stay. Used the spa the next morning and it was as good as usual. Both restaurants have recently undergone a redesign and are looking fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the RY more times than I care to remember (the most recent being last week) but I have never written a review before. What prompted this little epistle was reading the review complaining about noise. I have stayed in this hotel on all days of the week and at various times of the year and I have never once been discommoded by noise, even when there was a musical event taking place.

The hotel is fabulous in almost every respect and the staff are quite amazing. Not that in my opinion it needed it, but the restaurants have undergone a refurbishment in the past few weeks and the menus have been freshened up. Impeccable. I prefer to stay in Saint Helier when visiting Jersey and I also like the Grand, but it's much further out and not quite as good, so the RY will always be my preference so long as the present standards of excellence are maintained.

With the shopping centre and the bus station (island wide destinations) only a minute or two away, the location is perfect and parking is no problem with two car parks a couple of minutes walk away, and vouchers for daytime parking available from reception.

A truly great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Quite possibly one of the best medium rare sirloin steaks I have tasted !They don't come cheap..around £21 for the one course meal, but the service was excellent and the meal top drawer.Loads of different bars in this fantastic hotel , a great night out in its self !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Being a regular visitor to Jersey, we decided to stay nearer St Helier for a change and booked the Yacht as rooms and spa looked nice. Room was what you would expect in a 4 star nothing special but does the basic job. Only stay in this hotel if you are not looking for a hotel to relax in but a hotel to party in!! We were on the 2nd floor and at 3 pm the music was so loud in our room all you could hear was thump thump thump so went down to reception to complain to be told it was a band rehearsel and they were louder than normal so they then gave us a room on the 5th floor which we moved to. Had a few drinks in the bar in the evening which was very lively and then went up to bed at about 11.15 to which it was like having a night club in our room! Music was so loud I thought it was in a night club. Phoned down to reception to be told it was a lively hotel and that due to no sound checks being down by the hotel staff it was noisier than expected and they had vacated the whole of the second floor! Manager was supposedly going to talk to the band as we were not the only ones to complain but music seemed to get louder not quiter and needless to say no sleep till gone 2pm when it finally stopped! Yes they refunded the nights stay but this is not what you expect in a hotel and we actually checked out and stayed in another hotel for the Sat night as there were more parties taking place. If you want to re-live the holiday in your 20's in Magaluf then this is the place for you, if you want to unwind then stay elsewhere. Buffet breakfast next day was also not the best!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LFarnham, Director at Royal Yacht Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We were disappointed that you found your room noisy even after being re-located to the 5th floor.
We do have confidence in our internal sound proofing which is usually very effective, and performs to the satisfaction of the vast majority of our guests. However, we also recognise that it would be practically impossible to eliminate all noise and for that we apologise.
The Royal Yacht is a busy town centre hotel and whilst we are situated in a vibrant part of St Helier to compare our situation with Magaluf is probably a bit unfair.
The Royal Yacht can be an ideal place to relax and It is worth mentioning that the hotel does have rooms over-looking the neighbouring museum courtyard and our own atrium garden which are more peaceful and possibly more appropriate for guests seeking a more tranquil setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This has to be the best all year round hotel in Jersey. We have other favourites that close for the winter, but this place is fabulous. Very friendly welcome, they offered us a complimentary upgrade, which of course we took. Room beautiful, service perfect. Food was to die for. This place really is the spot to go for a weekend or a romantic stay. Well done The Yacht.

Room Tip: Ask for a complimentary upgrade!!!! This hotel will go the extra mile to make your stay special. Lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Yacht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Yacht Hotel

Address: Weighbridge, St. Helier JE2 3NF
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St. Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helier
#1 On the Beach Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Helier
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Business Hotel in St. Helier
#4 Family Hotel in St. Helier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Yacht Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Yacht opened July 2007 and has since been regarded a 4-star grading by the AA. The Royal Yacht boasts a fantastic, location in the centre of St. Helier adjacent to Liberation Square. Modern and elegant, this hotel overlooks the harbour and is a stone's throw from the main shopping centre, with many restaurants and bars. En-suite rooms decorated in a warm, modern style, with air conditioning, flat screen televisions, telephone, hairdryers, tea & coffee facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Royal Yacht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Yacht
Royal Yacht St Helier
Royal Yacht Hotel Jersey/St. Helier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Yacht Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.